Customer Reviews for

The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children #6)

Average Rating 3
( 1653 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(438)

4 Star

(269)

3 Star

(330)

2 Star

(257)

1 Star

(359)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Everyone has a different opinion

I read Clan of the cavebear for the first time when I was about 10 years old. In my honest opinion, it is one of the best series I have ever read in my entire life. I understand and see where other readers are coming from when they say that shelters of stone and maybe e...
I read Clan of the cavebear for the first time when I was about 10 years old. In my honest opinion, it is one of the best series I have ever read in my entire life. I understand and see where other readers are coming from when they say that shelters of stone and maybe even some of the others were kind of repetitious. I do not argue the fact that there was a lot of the same stuff from the first few books, but I sincerely enjoyed all of them, and the repetitious stuff wasnt always used in the same context or situation as the last book. For those of you who caught it, you should be proud, not everyone is sharp enough to see that they've already read it. Personally, i enjoy reading about how she did stuff becuz it makes it more real to me. I enjoy finding out what Ayla is up to, who she meets, what challenges she faces and most of all, I want to find out what happens to her in the future. I realize that many people have different opinions, different tastes and their reaction to this series will be different than everyone elses but I think this book should be given a chance. I cant wait for it to come out.

posted by 6261418 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Good but Lacks Focus

I was fortunate enough to luck into an uncorrected proof, and I eagerly started reading. At the time, I didn't realize I could've virtually skimmed the first 300 pages and been none the worse to understand the story. The tale starts with our dear Ayla and Jondalar shari...
I was fortunate enough to luck into an uncorrected proof, and I eagerly started reading. At the time, I didn't realize I could've virtually skimmed the first 300 pages and been none the worse to understand the story. The tale starts with our dear Ayla and Jondalar sharing the lives of the other Zelandonii with their daughter, Jonayla. Since Ayla is in training, the First plans a tour for her. They visit a local painted cave, Ayla and the others admire the artwork. They wonder what the animals, dots and handprints mean. Lather, rinse, repeat. I lost count of the number of caves Ayla and Co. visit during her tour. At many junctures, she asks what the art means. Nobody gives her a coherent answer, not even the artist Jonokol, who stops in one cave to create his own vision on the walls. By this time, I began to skim. The story doesn't really take off again until Part III, by which time Jonayla is six years old. No spoilers -- but had the first 2/3 of the book undergone better editing (maybe a cave or two, but so many? and what was the POINT?), the tale would basically have begun here. Many threads from the prior books would come together, though some did not. I have no issue with this -- it's like life. But the book would have done better at 400 pages than 755. My opinion, and I've loved the previous books. This one would've been really terrific, had it not lost focus on story.

posted by DebKinnard on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Good but Lacks Focus

    I was fortunate enough to luck into an uncorrected proof, and I eagerly started reading. At the time, I didn't realize I could've virtually skimmed the first 300 pages and been none the worse to understand the story. The tale starts with our dear Ayla and Jondalar sharing the lives of the other Zelandonii with their daughter, Jonayla. Since Ayla is in training, the First plans a tour for her. They visit a local painted cave, Ayla and the others admire the artwork. They wonder what the animals, dots and handprints mean. Lather, rinse, repeat. I lost count of the number of caves Ayla and Co. visit during her tour. At many junctures, she asks what the art means. Nobody gives her a coherent answer, not even the artist Jonokol, who stops in one cave to create his own vision on the walls. By this time, I began to skim. The story doesn't really take off again until Part III, by which time Jonayla is six years old. No spoilers -- but had the first 2/3 of the book undergone better editing (maybe a cave or two, but so many? and what was the POINT?), the tale would basically have begun here. Many threads from the prior books would come together, though some did not. I have no issue with this -- it's like life. But the book would have done better at 400 pages than 755. My opinion, and I've loved the previous books. This one would've been really terrific, had it not lost focus on story.

    91 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hope she got her soul back...

    When I read Clan of the Cave Bear in 1985, I thought it was one of the best books I had ever read-loved it and couldn't wait to read the next one. Valley of Horses, if possible was better. I was were ever to be stranded in the wilderness, I felt I could live off the land, pick berries and dig a pit!! It was a great read. Mammoth Hunters-at first I wasn't too crazy about it-became more of a romance novel, and Plains of Passage...well I know more about grass, soil and mammoth mating practices than I need too. But, still, it was a good book, and was still re-reading all of them, everytime a new one was coming out. Then, came the big one, the anticipated Great Book! What a huge disappointment. 750 pages of...soap opera. And only one year?? THe first time I read it, I actually though that Ms. Auel didn't write the book; it was just too childish and the style was wrong. Then, after re-reading it, came to the conclusion that she had, but was just getting bored with Ayla, and was filling pages to fill a contract. She is contracted for only 6 books, so Painted Caves will be the finale. How can she fit the rest of Ayla's life into just one more book? I'm just thankful that she gave us Ayla as she was in the first 4 books-it will leave me with my own image of how she lived the rest of her life.

    38 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Snore, snore, snore...oh FINALLY something happens!

    I was hugely disappointed in this book overall. As a huge "Clan Series" fan, I was thrilled to see this book finally hit the shelves, only to be bored to death by the first 400-500 pages or so. The entire first two-thirds of the book can simply be ignored, because the real "meat" doesn't happen until the last few hundred pages (reading it on a Nook makes it difficult to determine the exact page content). While I generally love Auel's descriptive style, I believe the entire donier cave tour (which was fully 2/3s of the book) was simply a waste of her time and mine. Little of it had relevance to who Ayla is or was to become. While the last third of the book was better, there were no surprises, and old story lines seemed to have been re-hashed. That being said, I still loved the story once things began to "happen" again. The ending was ambiguous at best, and left the field wide open for another sequel. I would love to see another book in the series that holds true to the older titles...with things actually happening throughout the story and, finally, an absolute ending. Characters who have been largely ignored or forgotten need a new voice...especially that of Jonayla, who it seems is the new hope of the Zeladonii, though she is largely ignored for the most part. The future of the Cave and its people need a definitive bridge to our current world. And the voice of Ayla needs to find her true power in her new life and span the bridge between her world and ours. One more and much better, please, Ms. Auel!

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The unfortunate result of wild success

    The problem with the latter volumes of the Earth's Children novels is the same we've seen with other series that start out with a bang and then wander off. Anne Rice's Vampires, Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta mysteries and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander spring to mind. The problem is they may not have started as series. The author, talented as she may be, did not start out to create a multi-volume saga, but one great book. But what happens when the book becomes a phenomenon? Suddenly fans, publishers, booksellers, agents and your mom are pestering you day and night, "WHEN's the next one!!??" The author may wonder, dismayed, "WHAT next one?" Then she goes back to her desk and pulls together those ideas that had to be cut from the first one and writes a second book. A good writer can sustain this for a while, til all the juice has been squeezed from the initial (admittedly great) idea. But by this time the fans are even more numerous, the money even bigger, your mom even prouder, your agent greedier. And they all demand "WHERE'S THE NEXT ONE!!?? The amount of time between books grows longer as the author struggles to meet the expectations of hysterically devoted fans. So cut poor Jean Auel a break. The Land of Painted Caves is probably a book she never intended when she wrote the outstanding Clan of the Cave Bear so many years ago.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    disappointing

    Agter waiting so many years for this book I found it very disappointing. There was very little going on except cave exploration for almost 400 pages. YAWN! A little action started after that but even it was ho hum/ This was supposed to be the final installment in the series. It didn't really tie anything up but it didn't want us looking for more either. It was enjoyable but certainly not the best in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    A little disappointed

    I have read all of the boks in this series, and some were more memorable than others, but I actually bought my ereader just for this book I was so excited about it! However I think maybe anytime you think something is going to be a classic it is a little disappointed. This seemed to me, sad to say, to be a little dated and possibly forced. like she just wasn't sure where to take this one. The other indie-type book I got at the same time was actually better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    So Surprised...

    I had anticipated the release of this book, as so many others, that I pre-ordered it and reread the 1st 5 to refresh my memory of the series. My expectations were too high because I expected much more from this author especially since this was the final book. I guess Ms. Auel didn't refresh her memory to release her creativity for Ayla and Jondalar's story to have been completed with the passion she had with the other books! I had to read it, but was very disappointed!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    the land of the painted caves

    disappointing. very repatative. could not hold my attention like the rest of this series did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Good, but having mixed feelings...

    I have always loved this Earth's Children series and have also waited some 25 years to get to this book #6. I am surprised at the repetition and unfinished ending from Ms. Auel. I expected this last book to be unforgettable, instead it lacked the spirit and adventure
    from her previous books.
    - The relationship between Ayla and Jondular was weakly written, almost like they were some old, married couple that just lived together. Where did their passion and connection go?
    - The paintings of animals in every cave, OMG. Over and over again the same animals, same descriptions, and no one has as inkling as to what any of it means or why it's important. It went nowhere.
    - We all think that Ayla will do at least one thing extraordinary as she becomes zelondondi but, nothing. Then she drinks the strong root,
    goes on a mind trip, comes back and... so what, nothing.
    - An encounter with the Clan never happens so why even teach Clan signals or previously mention trading with them?
    - Jondular's affair ... now that actually made me cry! That was a big deal yet not concluded well. And I was angry that it had been going on but no writing about why, and the feelings involved. We long time readers expected more about Jondular's feelings. But suddenly after Ayla's root episode they're back together - I wanted to read about how they patched things up, how their love grew even more...
    So much left undone, unsaid... The ending was rushed and weak.
    I wish all the loose ends were tied up. There was no real closure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Sigh

    Reading the foreword, I get the message: a critical person in Ms. Auel's support team wasn't with her for this book (her personal assistant, who has retired due to illness), and it shows. Most people don't realize how important such people can be for a writer, but I think if one compares this book to the five previous, it's fairly obvious something has changed, and not for the better. All the substance needed to make Land of Panted Caves the equal of its predecessors is present; it's just not been assembled properly. There's much unnecessary repetition, for one thing, and for another, nothing much is done with whatever Ayla learns on her donier tour Instead, in the last few chapters, we are given what in many ways is a re-write of The Mammoth Hunter. Neither Jondalar nor Ayla seem to have learned much. Worse than that, though, the various new plot elements aren't incorporated very well. It's almost if Ms. Auel *wants* to revisit the ideas of the previous novel and develop them further, but can't quite pull it off. Instead, poor Danug is put in as a plot-saving device, very nearly a Deux Ex Machina. Still, we do get a resolution of sorts, which is far better than leaving us hanging the way Shelters of Stone did. It may be an unsatisfying resolution, but we still have it, and I am glad of that. But oh, what could have been.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Not as good...

    I must say, I was extremely dissapointed. I absolutely love this series, and this was a really big spoiler for me. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if there were less description of all of the caves. Otherwise.... well, let's just say that this book was not at all written in the style of Jean M. Auel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good read

    A little repitious in places and not as good as the orher books in the series but love the charecters and the story




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Not the best

    Im not finished yet but i can tell already its not the best of them all so far. I fell the first was the best

    ~Jackie Wood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Have fun reading this

    Have fun reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not what I expected...

    I loved the first 4 books of this series...they were compelling. I felt that i was able to experience Ayla's world with her. Shelters of stone was dissapointing mostly because of the repetition however, I enjoyed learning about her new people. Land of painted caves took the repetition to a whole new level. I found myself skimming aand skipping whole paragraphs. Like others i was also dissapointed in the story line...i really hoped for "the clan" to be reintroduced and Ayla and Jondaler to evolve. Overall, i would say i am dissapointed but glad i finished the series and have closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Too much filler information not enough of the story!

    Not as good as her previous books :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    So so

    Not in the same spirit of the previous writings. Author tried to "update" the scene which I believe was a huge mistake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    ***

    I love this author but this book of all of them seem very slow and very repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Very disappointing

    After waiting a decade for this book, I expected great things. I was disappointed. It was if Ms Auel got stuck writing descriptions of cave paintings and just couldn't move past it. Very little action and what there was had been done & done again in previous books. I kept expecting something exciting to happen with each cave they entered but it just never happened. It was amusing to note that even Ayla got bored with the caves! I was sad that this book lacked the vibrant writing of the first couple in the series. The books just seem to get more boring with each one. Borrow it from the library before you spend money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Not up tp O Not up to par with Auel's previous books

    This book lacked the depth of the others in the series; too much repetition. I actually looked forward to finishing the book rather than wishing that it didn't have to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17