BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children #6)

Average Rating 3
( 1655 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(438)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(330)

2 Star

(258)

1 Star

(359)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A beautiful series!! With only one flaw...

I first picked up The Clan of the Cave Bear 23 years ago at 12 years old. I fell in love with the strength of the characters, escpecially Ayla, and the beautiful, meticulous setting of prehistoric time. I've read the books several times during the many intervening yea...
I first picked up The Clan of the Cave Bear 23 years ago at 12 years old. I fell in love with the strength of the characters, escpecially Ayla, and the beautiful, meticulous setting of prehistoric time. I've read the books several times during the many intervening years with only the dreadful The Shelters of Stone being the new novel in the 20 years since The Plains of Passage. The first 4 novels are truly works of art that any dedicated reader should have in their library and I sincerely hope that this final novel recaptures that magic. I can't help but wonder if the span of so many years left the author adrift on who her characters were and where their story was heading in The Shelters of Stone. The quick bio of this novel is headed exactly in the obvious direction that the last 100 pages hinted at in the previous novel and that does cause me some concern. I love this series so I'm willing to lay faith in Ms. Auel's capable hands that The Shelters of Stone was an abberation of story-telling that was buried under the astounding and impressive research of the prehistoric world. I will purchase this novel immediately and not wait several months to see how the reviews pan out. I owe this author that much for the beauty and majesty of her first 4 novels of Earth's Children.

posted by ramalama on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

93 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

Good but Lacks Focus

I was fortunate enough to luck into an uncorrected proof, and I eagerly started reading. At the time, I didn't realize I could've virtually skimmed the first 300 pages and been none the worse to understand the story. The tale starts with our dear Ayla and Jondalar shari...
I was fortunate enough to luck into an uncorrected proof, and I eagerly started reading. At the time, I didn't realize I could've virtually skimmed the first 300 pages and been none the worse to understand the story. The tale starts with our dear Ayla and Jondalar sharing the lives of the other Zelandonii with their daughter, Jonayla. Since Ayla is in training, the First plans a tour for her. They visit a local painted cave, Ayla and the others admire the artwork. They wonder what the animals, dots and handprints mean. Lather, rinse, repeat. I lost count of the number of caves Ayla and Co. visit during her tour. At many junctures, she asks what the art means. Nobody gives her a coherent answer, not even the artist Jonokol, who stops in one cave to create his own vision on the walls. By this time, I began to skim. The story doesn't really take off again until Part III, by which time Jonayla is six years old. No spoilers -- but had the first 2/3 of the book undergone better editing (maybe a cave or two, but so many? and what was the POINT?), the tale would basically have begun here. Many threads from the prior books would come together, though some did not. I have no issue with this -- it's like life. But the book would have done better at 400 pages than 755. My opinion, and I've loved the previous books. This one would've been really terrific, had it not lost focus on story.

posted by DebKinnard on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 438 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone has a different opinion

    I read Clan of the cavebear for the first time when I was about 10 years old. In my honest opinion, it is one of the best series I have ever read in my entire life. I understand and see where other readers are coming from when they say that shelters of stone and maybe even some of the others were kind of repetitious. I do not argue the fact that there was a lot of the same stuff from the first few books, but I sincerely enjoyed all of them, and the repetitious stuff wasnt always used in the same context or situation as the last book. For those of you who caught it, you should be proud, not everyone is sharp enough to see that they've already read it. Personally, i enjoy reading about how she did stuff becuz it makes it more real to me. I enjoy finding out what Ayla is up to, who she meets, what challenges she faces and most of all, I want to find out what happens to her in the future. I realize that many people have different opinions, different tastes and their reaction to this series will be different than everyone elses but I think this book should be given a chance. I cant wait for it to come out.

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    It's been too long a wait!

    I don't care if the descriptions are time consuming to read through i LOVE the story.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    BEATS the BEST OF THE BEST!!

    I have been waiting patiently for book six and now I can mark on my calendar for the release date. Time to re-read all five books again!! I can never get tired of them!!

    7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I gotta wait till march??

    Its ok that I have to wait until March, but I want that book now yaddamean! The cover and title make me want to go paint a cave. I been on my nature tip for about two or three years so I relate to this for real for real. My home boy is into botanicals and all that, so I feel what these books be talking about on a different level. Shouts out to the homie Jean doing it real b.i.g. One love...RichardWellner #DAT #slidin #whatitizboi

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Captivating

    I love this series. Mrs. Auel's depiction of prehistoric life is mesmerizing. At times the flora and fauna descriptions can be lengthy but it never hurts one when the author wants to educate the reader. In 2003 it took me almost two months to finish the first five books (I work full time) and since then I have been waiting in earnest for the next installment. I found her depiction of the Neanderthals enthralling and felt as if I could have read another 5,000 pages about Iza, Creb, Brun and the rest of the Clan. They will always occupy a special place in my heart. I would anxiously await another ten volumes. Thank you Mrs. Auel for sharing Ayla and her world with us.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Highly Anticipated

    I have waited a long time for this, and even though the last book was a let down I can't wait until the new book comes out.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Iv

    I have read the whole series four times and l am always learning new things, I started reading this series back in 1996. You Miss Auel are an awsume writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The first one to write was in

    2010

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    So long to wait.

    My sister was so excited, many years ago, that there would possibly be another book by Jean Auel coming out. She just couldn't wait to read it. Unfortunately, my sister died in December 2003 and never got that chance. I will read it for both of us.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful series

    This was my favorite series of all time, and I have anticipated each new one long before it came out. Hopefully this one will bring back a lot of the romance an imagery that was so creative and compelling about the first two (and that was perhaps a little lacking in her last two).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Cannot Wait to Read This!

    Oh my! I gasped when I read that the next book is coming out very soon. I had to rush right over to my co-worker's office to tell her, as she and I have discussed this series. I was first introduced to these books in the mid-90s. It was the detail described in these books that got me interested in herbal, botanical remedies, and alternative, holistic medicine --- an organic, back-to-nature lifestyle which I have now fully embraced. Yes, in the previous books, some of the dialogue and descriptions of things and events are repetitious, but I believe that is what sets Ms. Auel's books apart from others. I can live with the repetition, because the stories are so compelling.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    I just finished book 5.It was good but the ending............I was like..........Are you kidding me???? So I googled it and found the new book 6. I am so excited and am so hoping that she has started number 7, :)

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    It's a great series...but definitely for an older audience.

    I am an avid reader and a friend of mine just happened to be in the library with me. She was determined to find a book that would take me more than a day or two to read it. The librarian recommended clan of the cave bears. Personally I thought it looked boring, but I was willing to give it a try. And boy did it pay off! I'll admit I was probably a little too young for some of the more explicit scenes but I loved it anyway. I read the whole series in two weeks and have been waiting for this book since! I hope it is as good as the previous books!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Reading these books have made my life as a child and as an adult livable.

    I can remember the first time I picked up The Clan Of The Cave Bear, I was 10 years old, (35 years old to date). I was in my library which was very small for our one horse town. I took the book home, knowing full well that the book was way to big and would take me forever to read not to mention the big words I did not understand or know how to say correctly until I was much older.
    After the first book read which took me a month, I got the rest which I believe at that time was Valley Of Horses, and Mammoth Hunters, the others had not come out yet. I read those books in a month as well. I could not put them down once I started. It was the reason I love to read. I never liked reading before until then. I only had one favorite series from 10 on until 34 which Stephine Myers came out with Twilight series and now I have two favorite series to read. I read both series once a year, starting the first book ending with the last, all year around to keep myself updated until Jean's next book comes out.
    When I heard that Jean Auel had another book coming out just recently I had to check it out. I dang near fainted when I saw the release date. I ll be 36 years old on the day of its release.. Yes the date is my Birthday... Thank You Jean Auel... if all goes well and it is released on that day then you have just givin me the best and only gift I have ever wanted....
    Now if this is her last book of this series.... I wonder will she start on the movies as she promised at one time.. I can only hope... Love you Jean Auel and once again Thank You....

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    SUCH A SWEET AND WONDERFUL SIGHT TO SEE

    that she is finally going to release the 6th book. I have been a fan since the 8th grade. Now that I am grown and have reread and reread each and every book I truly appreciate what an artist Ms. Auel is and I look forward to enjoying more of her work.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    can't wait

    I am so looking forward to this new book. Although I had read all 5 of the others this summer I went to the library and got all of them again and read them again just in anticipation of the new one comming out. Cant wait. This is an awsome series.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Ya

    Lets go everybody

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Better than the last!

    This was better than the last book. I think there could be one more book..the next does not have to be as long, but there are too many loose ends...like Ayla should meet her son from when she was a "cave woman"...What happens to those who ran away? I think there needs to be some closure...too much is still going on when this one ends...hope it does not take Ms Auel so many years to put out one last book...does she not feel the story is incomplete?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Wind Dorm

    -Raven

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Decepticons info here

    Base is the result after this one. Place your description and the meet me at the nexet result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 438 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22