Customer Reviews for

The Land of the Silver Apples (Sea of Trolls Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Recommended

    The Sea of Trolls trilogy is refreshing change from the typical teenage books. The plot is well developed, and the conflicts are interesting and atypical. The main characters are likeable and the relationships between them provide more interesting aspects to the story. All of this being said, at times the book seemed rushed. The build up to a climactic point would be good, but then the actual resolution of the problem would be too short, maybe even a paragraph. Nevertheless, I would recommend this book to young adult readers and adult readers alike. The book is straightforward but not too simple, and does have a very deep theme about life. Jack's inward thoughts may have been my favorite part of this book. I found his ponderings over magic, Christianity, and what is morally correct very thought-provoking. With all of these things added together, this book is very well-written and developed, and despite rushing through some of the climactic action scenes, a highly recommended piece of literature.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Lame

    Not cool as i though it was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great book

    Could read it over and over and never get bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    SUCK MY TENDER!

    This book stinks

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Not that great!

    It was really slow the plot wasn't that great. The people in the story are actually really mean! I didn't like it that much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good story

    You should read this if you <3 fantasy!!!! ;) :) ;D :D ;p :p hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jack, the Bard’s apprentice, sets off on a rescue quest wh

    Jack, the Bard&rsquo;s apprentice, sets off on a rescue quest when his sister Lucy is kidnapped by Elves. His companions are an unreliable slave/rightful-heir-to-the-throne and a recently freed girl-slave who worships the ground Jack walks on. They meet many magical creatures, re-discover some old friends, and have lots of exciting adventures along the way. I thought this was an excellent sequel to Sea of Trolls. It expanded the mythology of the land while developing the characters already introduced in the first book. I really appreciated the way Farmer handled the three religions that were represented by her characters in this 790AD Britain-based world. She showed the power and beauty of the Pagans as well as the Christians and subtly made the point that they all got their believers where they needed to go&mdash;but she did this without forcing the point or lecturing, which is the sign of excellent story-telling! My only quibble about this book is that most of the major plot threads were completed by page 400, leaving 100 pages for the final (and least pressing) plot thread. This is why the book got 4 instead of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Sad

    I miss Olaf! He was so sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Best of the trilogy!

    The Sea of Trolls was such a complete story that I questioned whether Silver Apples was a good idea. I read Silver Apples all in one sitting because of how enjoyable it was. I am of the opinion that Silver Apples should have won the Newberry award like Sea of Trolls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good story that incorporates mythology from many cultures

    I really enjoyed the second book in this series. It was very interesting how she mixed and mingled many cultures myths and legends as well as early Christian practices. It included legends from elves to hobgoblins, trolls and vikings. It covered in an entertaining way how these cultures viewed life after death and how bards and druids and life force worked with Christianity. A very interesting story that was fast passed and very entertaining to read. I loved her two main characters, and it has great lessons about how and why we treat people the way we do. It also expresses the idea that when we know people our differences do not matter. Good entertainment and good lessons as well as fun information about myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Awesome!

    This is a really good book. In this story a kid jack goes to the land of the silver apples on a quest that he has to finish in time in order to save his dad.<BR/>Jack, an apprentice to this guy the Bard who has some awesome whacked out magic powers, sister became infested with a demon and they had to go to a big church so they could get the demon out. Jack's father and Pegga, a former slave that jack had recently freed came along. When they get to the church, jack gets attacked by an elf and gets healed just in time to go to the demon "removal" ceremonies for his sister, Lucy. But when Jack finds out that what the monks really do to remove the demon is beat the crap out of the people, he gets angry and uses his whacked out powers to make an earthquake. When he does that, the same elf that injured him takes his sister down a big crack that the earthquake made. The king of the land, King Yffi takes jack's dad into custody until Jack goes and gets the elf back. So it's up to Jack, Pegga, a slave named Brutus to go and get back the elf and Lucy.<BR/>The setting is in earth, probably England a long, long, time ago. I am basing that assumption on the facts that there are vikings that live nearby and the slave Brutus claims to be the great-great-great-grandchild of Sir Lancelot of King Arthur's Round Table

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Wonderful!!!!!!

    This book is absolutely wonderful! It had every one from the last book, Jack Thorgil and the Bard and many many more. And also some new ones. The more I read the more I got sucked into the wonderful fantasy that Nancy Farmer has created. This book is so good I could hardly put it down! After it ended I searched to see when the next one would come out and I was very sad to hear that it will take so long. Anyways, like I said I would recommend these books for anyone and everyone. So, PLEASE get the books and start reading. This book will have you captivated by the first few pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Outstanding

    A very good book full of action and very intertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Not as good as the first

    This book wasn't anything like the first. It was really sad, but It was shocking as well. I loved the fact that Jack kissed 'Jill'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3