Customer Reviews for

Landscape Graphics

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is detailed and very easy to follow. The exercises after each section are a big help as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Useful Book

    for newbie and professional alike, this text presents a clear and detailed survey of the subject. Highly reccommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A good book on landscape sketch and graphic

    This book covers almost every aspect of landscape sketch and graphic. It is good for you if you want to learn hand sketch, it is also good for you if you want to create nice CAD drawings. Many of the tree /shrub symbols in both plan views and elevation views are nicely done, they can inspire you to create nice computer blocks for trees and shrubs for plans and sections and elevations. It covers graphic language and design process, basic drafting, lettering (nowadays almost everyone can do nice hand lettering fonts with computer, but this book is still good for assisting you to select lettering fonts or create your custom fonts in computer), freehand drawings and conceptual diagrams, presentation plans, section-elevations, graphic symbols files for elevations and perspectives. All the sketches, plans, sections, elevations and perspectives are nicely done. They can be good samples for landscape architecture students, garden design students, architects, landscape architects, urban planners, and seasoned designers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Great reference book

    This book is a great reference tool for LA students. Displays many good diagrams and graphics guidelines. A great buy for the $.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    From the future of our fine profession...

    Hey Boston practitioner, I am recent LA graduate, two time National ASLA Honor recipient, and Landscape Architecture Design Thesis Award winner for my accredited school. I have yet to apply to a job because I keep on getting unsolicited offers. In other words, I AM the future of our fine profession and I own, and continue to use this book and think it is a very good resource (and reasonably priced). I would recommend any LA student or practitioner add this book to their library. The graphic style is quick and easy and reads well and the design process (although too concise to be a complete guide) covers the fundamentals in a simple way that makes it easy for students to understand (and easy for people licensed in 10 states to review).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Outdated and Useless

    The techniques in this book are pathetically outdated and poor examples of how a professional should draw the landscape. I have been in the profession for 20 years and am suprised to see this poor representation of graphics still being marketed and sold to the future of our fine profession. I would hope that if it is required reading for anyone in an accredited school of landscape architecture, it is used as an example of what NOT to do. I know if someone were to use the graphic techniques shown here to get a job as a landscape architect it would be a long time before anyone would hire them. Don't waste your time or the paper. Avoid this book as if it were contaminated meat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Helpful

    I was required to purchase this book for my first Landscape Architecture class. It was very helpful in giving me ideas for graphic symbols and helped me learn to draw cars, perspectives, trees, lettering etc. However it doesn't cover rendering at all and will not help with color drawings. I still look to this book from time to time for ideas for graphics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1