Customer Reviews for

The Language of Flowers

Average Rating 4.5
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(343)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Incredible book! Must read.

The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

To put it simply, this book is brilliant. Any book that can make me cry, yell, gasp in horror, and feel such compassion for its characters is exceptional. Because this story was told, a part of me has been changed forev...
The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

To put it simply, this book is brilliant. Any book that can make me cry, yell, gasp in horror, and feel such compassion for its characters is exceptional. Because this story was told, a part of me has been changed forever.

Young Victoria Jones had no voice. Life had been cruel to her, and she had no say in where, or with whom she would live it. For nine years, she led a distrustful, broken, and neglected existence throughout numerous foster homes. That is, until she was brought to the endless rolling San Francisco vineyards and farmhouse belonging to Elizabeth, her new foster mother. Here she was introduced to a fresh beginning, and inadvertently a voice; the language of flowers.

Troubles and heartache seemed to follow Victoria. Sometimes she battled them, oftentimes they overcame her; but an underlying strength burned in her battered heart, fueling her search for peace, belonging, and love.

I plan on re-reading this book-slower, savoring each delicate, heartrending page. The Language of Flowers is a unique bouquet, compiled of Lavender (Mistrust) Heath (Solitude) Fennel (Strength) and Hawthorne (Hope). The beauty and scent of its blossoms will linger with me for quite some time.

posted by Nicnac63 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I read the reviews and took a chance, there are alot of pros and cons in this book, make your own decision. This book is hauntingly sad and bittersweet. I felt that Victoria was left holding the bag as many unwanted children are, on the other hand she is also frustratin...
I read the reviews and took a chance, there are alot of pros and cons in this book, make your own decision. This book is hauntingly sad and bittersweet. I felt that Victoria was left holding the bag as many unwanted children are, on the other hand she is also frustrating! I feel sad for her and mad at her all at the same time, she is without a doubt one of the most frustrating people. She has no real personality it seems and its impossible for her to have any genuine relationships. While I can understand because of her childhood why she would be angry and mistrustful, she is in a word....feral. I feel like she never truly lets go of her past and is unaccepting of her future even though shes doing well, she seems wholly unappreciative of the oppurtunity she has and chucks it away with both hands. I thought that the ending felt rushed and should have gone further into detail. I think the other characters were great, the use of flowers was great,the book itself was lovely but victoria just pissed me off!Overall a good read......

posted by apacheprincess on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Good Read

    I read the reviews and took a chance, there are alot of pros and cons in this book, make your own decision. This book is hauntingly sad and bittersweet. I felt that Victoria was left holding the bag as many unwanted children are, on the other hand she is also frustrating! I feel sad for her and mad at her all at the same time, she is without a doubt one of the most frustrating people. She has no real personality it seems and its impossible for her to have any genuine relationships. While I can understand because of her childhood why she would be angry and mistrustful, she is in a word....feral. I feel like she never truly lets go of her past and is unaccepting of her future even though shes doing well, she seems wholly unappreciative of the oppurtunity she has and chucks it away with both hands. I thought that the ending felt rushed and should have gone further into detail. I think the other characters were great, the use of flowers was great,the book itself was lovely but victoria just pissed me off!Overall a good read......

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Still thinking about the book.....it did leave an uneasy impression in my mind.....

    A good read but be ready to accept humam frailities of the main charater. Those parts were uneasy to read.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Well written, but.......

    This book is beautifully crafted, but I just wasn't that crazy about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Realistic clan poll

    Jj here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    This book was incredibly sad and  when I was done, to tell you t

    This book was incredibly sad and  when I was done, to tell you the truth, I didn't like it. I thought how she made the flower arrangements by what they meant is amazing and incredibly interesting.  I think it is a fascinating topic, however, the rest of the story is just gut wrenchingly sad. I wouldn't read it if you're looking for an enjoyable light right because the story is far too sad fr that.  I wish I'd liked it as much as the rest of the readers here.  Like I said, if you're interested in flowers, it is amazing to read those parts of the story, however, it is just so sad. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Well written but subject matter hard to read...

    This book was assigned in our book club. I probably would not have read it otherwise as I was in foster home before 18 yrs old. It was very hard for me to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Deffenbaugh

    A well-thought out story of a damaged foster child (aren't they all) growing up in the system and trying to find a place in the world. This study accurately portrays the life in foster care for many of the children in our country. It is sad and it is shameful.

    It was a good book for me to read at this time. Perhaps there is still hope for my daughter. Hope that one day she will be able to give, and receive, love in equal measure..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Heavier than I anticipated...

    Well written, but heavy. A good eye opener as to "the sins of our mothers" and that legacy...yikes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    A quick, good read in general.  I skimmed over parts, which I ra

    A quick, good read in general.  I skimmed over parts, which I rarely do, because some situations were pretty implausible.  Loved the stuff about the meanings of various flowers.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Recommended.

    A little difficult at first, however, the book grows on you and is truly fascinating. Flowers are a very powerful emotional expression. A good discussion novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Easy read

    Loved te story and the descriptions of relationships. One point that would not be accurate was that Victoria was approximately 3 weeks old when abandoned and then lived in 32 foster homes. This would not be accurate. Babies that are abandoned and they can't find the parents after a due diligence would never end up in foster care. They would go directly to a permanent home for adoption. If she had possibly been 2 years old with bonding issues then the story would have been more believable.

    This book was good for our book club. The book is good for 8th grade and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Recommended

    An interesting book once you get into it. Although she was dealt a really bad start in life, she was able to make something of herself. And that is amazing considering how many bad decisions she made for herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good rea Easy beach read

    Easy beach read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    nice story, recommended with reservation

    This is a nice, simple story about a young girl that has never bonded with anyone.
    An easy read, but you must feel sorry for the young girl that has never been able to understand that the natural emotions that she's feeling are the same that everyone encounters at one point or another. Makes you feel sorry for all the children that are
    left behind by parents for whatever reason, death, separation, loss or whatever the reason. Make you want to go cuddle a child and tell them everything will be all right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    Enjoyed this book. Loved how the main character blossomed just like her flowers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Good book - not great, but good

    I was able to get through this entire book, but it really wasn't the best book I ever read. I thought the references to flowers was over done. I enjoyed the flashbacks more than the parts of the story that covered present day. There were good likeable characters. I know this book has rave reviews, but I could not give it a 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3