Customer Reviews for

The Language of Flowers

Average Rating 4.5
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(343)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Incredible book! Must read.

The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

To put it simply, this book is brilliant. Any book that can make me cry, yell, gasp in horror, and feel such compassion for its characters is exceptional. Because this story was told, a part of me has been changed forev...
The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

To put it simply, this book is brilliant. Any book that can make me cry, yell, gasp in horror, and feel such compassion for its characters is exceptional. Because this story was told, a part of me has been changed forever.

Young Victoria Jones had no voice. Life had been cruel to her, and she had no say in where, or with whom she would live it. For nine years, she led a distrustful, broken, and neglected existence throughout numerous foster homes. That is, until she was brought to the endless rolling San Francisco vineyards and farmhouse belonging to Elizabeth, her new foster mother. Here she was introduced to a fresh beginning, and inadvertently a voice; the language of flowers.

Troubles and heartache seemed to follow Victoria. Sometimes she battled them, oftentimes they overcame her; but an underlying strength burned in her battered heart, fueling her search for peace, belonging, and love.

I plan on re-reading this book-slower, savoring each delicate, heartrending page. The Language of Flowers is a unique bouquet, compiled of Lavender (Mistrust) Heath (Solitude) Fennel (Strength) and Hawthorne (Hope). The beauty and scent of its blossoms will linger with me for quite some time.

posted by Nicnac63 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I read the reviews and took a chance, there are alot of pros and cons in this book, make your own decision. This book is hauntingly sad and bittersweet. I felt that Victoria was left holding the bag as many unwanted children are, on the other hand she is also frustratin...
I read the reviews and took a chance, there are alot of pros and cons in this book, make your own decision. This book is hauntingly sad and bittersweet. I felt that Victoria was left holding the bag as many unwanted children are, on the other hand she is also frustrating! I feel sad for her and mad at her all at the same time, she is without a doubt one of the most frustrating people. She has no real personality it seems and its impossible for her to have any genuine relationships. While I can understand because of her childhood why she would be angry and mistrustful, she is in a word....feral. I feel like she never truly lets go of her past and is unaccepting of her future even though shes doing well, she seems wholly unappreciative of the oppurtunity she has and chucks it away with both hands. I thought that the ending felt rushed and should have gone further into detail. I think the other characters were great, the use of flowers was great,the book itself was lovely but victoria just pissed me off!Overall a good read......

posted by apacheprincess on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 157 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Interesting

    I enjoyed this book a quick read and a great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Enjoyable, easy read!

    The Language of Flowers is well written with a story line that is interwoven with vast flower knowledge. What I liked was the twists and turns of the main character as she matured and tried to live in a world that she didn't trust. It kept my interest right to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Unique!

    It took me a while to get into this book, but really pulled me in as I read on. It is a very unique story, different from anything I've read in a long while! Would recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    This book is unlike anything i've ever read. Different, but comp

    This book is unlike anything i've ever read. Different, but compelling and captivating. So very well written. It captures the foster system and resulting damages or emotional traumas like no other. WELL DONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Thought provoking

    This book provides insight into the life-long difficulties faced by abandoned children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Great read!

    I haven't l read an "I-can't-put-this-down" book in awhile, and this book was a great one! I've recommended it to several friends & they've all loved it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    WOW! I've never read a book quite like this one. Hopeful, heartb

    WOW! I've never read a book quite like this one. Hopeful, heartbreaking and unforgettable. I couldn't begin to relate to Victoria on any level, yet she draws you in and won't let you go. I love the way Vanessa wraps it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Great Weekend Read

    This poignant story of a damaged girl unfolds like a flower, petal by petal. The characters were well developed without being caricatures. The scenery unfolded in my mind with ease. The dialogue was easy and believable. The subtlety of the writing provided no distractions to a heart wrenching tale. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I don't quite know how to review this book.  I think my emotions

    I don't quite know how to review this book.  I think my emotions from reading are still kind of all over the place.  It was kind of a tough book to read.  It was good, but man, it was emotional.




    Victoria Jones spent her life being shoved from foster home to foster home, until she finally found one that she thought might actually stick.  When she comes to meet Elizabeth, her new foster mom, she does all she can to get kicked out of her house and sent back to a group home.  Victoria has decided she isn't really worthy of  the love of another person.  Elizabeth tries as hard as she can to love Victoria, and in time they come to care for each other.




    I really was rooting for Elizabeth, but she disappoints me.  I think in her heart of hearts she really wanted to be a good mom, and to take the next step in adopting Victoria, but when she falls short, my respect for her dropped dramatically.  




    When Victoria is finally 18 and kicked out of the group home, she ends up living in a park.  She had been taught by her Foster mother Elizabeth the meaning of flowers, and the importance the meaning had when giving them to someone.  She had become quite good at planting and growing her own little garden in her own makeshift home in the park.  When she finds Renata, a flower shop owner and Renata sees Victoria's talent.  They begin to work together.




    I honestly thought that Victoria would finally find some peace and move on with her life.  Then walks in Grant.  She is Elizabeth's nephew and they get to know each other again.  It is such a sweet relationship but Victoria is horrible at relationships.  When life and reality hit that Grant may love her she leaves, and retreats.   As time moves on and Victoria realizes that she actually needs Grant in her life, she finds her way back to him.  I thought it was such a sweet relationship, and I knew that Victoria would screw it up.  When life gets hard she retreats, and that is something I just didn't like about her.  She was obviously a damaged young woman, but I had high hopes for her.




    This book was such a roller coaster.  Just when I think Victoria is going to be a responsible adult and move on and break the cycle of heartbreak she has lived with her whole life, she reverts back to her "flight" behavior.  I don't know how to say much more without giving the ending away, but I really did not like her choices.  I think that she didn't have the tools to accept the good things that were happening in her life, as well as the bad.  She dealt much better with the bad, but I think only because that is all she had her whole life.  




    The ending is touching, and gave me hope.  I didn't like what it took for Victoria to find her way.  I didn't like many of the choices she made.  It showed me how different a persons life could be without the constant feeling of love around them.  This book was hard to read for me.  It was emotionally exhausting.  It was truly a great book of how a person can overcome the worst of circumstances and find their place in the world, and possibly make up for all the wrong choices they have made.  It's a great story of forgiveness, and love.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    The Language of Flowers

    A good, enjoyable book club selection to be included among under the theme of Love, Family and Flowers. Very thoughtfully and gracefully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Recommended

    I very much like this book. It made me think about the difficulties and sadness of orphans, specifically this story of Victoria. I think it will a good book to read and discuss in schools. There is a lot we all can learn here! I love it and recommend !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I read this book for my book club. Upon starting the book, I wa

    I read this book for my book club. Upon starting the book, I was very skeptical, but I couldn't put the book down. This book was a very good read albeit disturbing at times. It gives an first hand example of the foster care system. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book very much. Well written, great story that holds the reader's attention. Parts were a bit far fetched but for the most part was enjoyable and entertaining. If you liked the Secret Life of Bees you will like this too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good story

    Kept me interested till the end. Not a run of the mill story. Fun to learn the language of flowers wile enjoying a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Runningwolf

    [Yup, I can't see headlines so Im totally lost]
    •Runningwolf•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Great read

    A good friend recommended this book, and I'm glad I read it. The characters were warm and real, and the storyline was original. It was a quick read, but not too fluffy. Would recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Great story

    It ws a little hard to read at times, but was overall honest and captivating. I enjoyed learning about the flowers and the story of how the main character develpoed from a hurt child to an adult. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good book!

    Definitely would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Highly recommend- will keep you wanting more

    Great summer read! Now I want to use the language of flowers in my everyday life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS

    LANGUAGE of FLOWERS, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, is a great Summer read! I loved it. Victoria, an unstable foster child all of her life,discovers that she can find love, acceptance, and new beginnings, through her passion for flowers.
    I don't recommend it for girls under 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 157 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8