Customer Reviews for

The Lantern: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A haunting gothic thriller

In Switzerland, Dom the English musician and Eve the translator meet in a maze; for both it is love at first sight. They move to Les Genévriers in Provence where they plan to renovate a country house constructed in 1887. The abode is loaded with seemingly valuable ant...
In Switzerland, Dom the English musician and Eve the translator meet in a maze; for both it is love at first sight. They move to Les Genévriers in Provence where they plan to renovate a country house constructed in 1887. The abode is loaded with seemingly valuable antiques and hidden rooms. However two things disturb Eve in the midst of her heavenly relationship with Dom. First calling this place Les Genévriers seems inane when there is only one juniper tree; the English translation of the French word. Second her beloved refuses to speak about his former wife Rachel who vanished.

As Eve wants to know the truth about Rachel, they find sad audio recordings made by former resident Bénédicte Lincel over five decades ago. Bénédicte talks about her blind sister Marthe the perfume designer who apparently vanished and about their cruel brother Pierre. Eve wonders about two females living several decades apart simply vanishing.

Rotating perspective between past and present, readers have a haunting gothic thriller using the beautiful French countryside and the creation of perfume as counterpoints to the growing fear of something bad about to occur. Although the cast in both eras are somewhat thin, readers will enjoy this suspenseful tale as Eve's suspicion that she may not next grows.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

I agree

I sgree with that anoynomus chick the people need to stop writing what exactly happens that it what an overview is for!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Geez people!

    The overview sounded awesome for this book. Then I started reading the customer reviews, which unfortunately GAVE AWAY EVERYTHING!

    6 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    The Lantern tells the story of two women, Eve and Benedicte who

    The Lantern tells the story of two women, Eve and Benedicte who are connected by their home, Les GenEvriers.  Eve's story is in the present and Benedicte's story takes place in the past during the productive glory days of Les GenEvriers.  Eve meets and is swept off her feet by the secretive Dom who she begins to distrust when he refuses to answer questions about his ex-wife, Rachel.  Benedicte's story is a little less straight forward as an old mystery is slowly unraveled.




    This story is beautifully written and I found myself continuously impressed by Ms. Lawrenson's descriptions.  She creates a story that introduces relationships that are complex and introduces situations where all is not what it seems.  Though I could recognize Ms. Lawrenson's talents, I really didn't enjoy the actual story.  The pace was entirely too slow for my tastes.  There were two big mystery's.  One mystery surrounds Benedicte's story and the other Eve's.  The reader did not become aware of the Benedicte's "mystery" until the book was almost over and then it was pretty easy to guess the answer.  I know that I should have really wanted to know the answer to Eve's "mystery" but I lost interest half-way through the book.  The build-up of the tension and suspense was just too slow.  Unfortunately, if I didn't have a personal rule requiring me to finish every book that I start, I wouldn't have finished this one.  Even with my rule, I almost gave up.




    Readers who like well-written stories with vivid descriptions and deep meanings really might enjoy this.  However, if you require a plot that moves steadily, this one might not be for you.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Very Disappointing.

    I was extremely disappointed in this book. The book was overly descriptive and slowed down the storytelling so much that I started skimming pages for actual dialogue. I read the first 100 pages and then skimmed the rest. The beginning was so confusing, it took a while to realize that the book was actually jumping between two different characters in different points in time. Besides being at the beginning of a new chapter, there was no other indication which character it was following. Because of this confusion, I thought the second character was actually Eve remembering her childhood instead of it actually being the previous owner of the house. The book didn't seem to have a realistic ending. Would a relationship really survive if one parter thought the other was capable of murder? This isn't something that could be easily swept under the rug and a young fragile relationship wouldn't be able to survive it. The other story line about the missing/murdered women was ridiculously explained away. The truth about the ex wife, Rachel, was so ridiculous that Dom actually murdering her would have been a more believable story. The missing perfume maker? Halfway through that story line you already know what happened and have to painfully wait for the book to slowly describe what you already know happened.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Not worth it

    I was ready for a spooky book or thriller and this was neither! Very predictable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Not for me!

    Did not enjoy going back and forth between chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Again wish honest blurb as to genre combo age group pages in text rating as to language/violence/sex

    reviews suggest this is romance plus a para normal and gothic also first date of publishing. This would save everyone from reading thru spam getting a sample. It is called honest and not those always five star for free copies have you seen a lower one? Have read rebecca and he did shoot her right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Overly descriptive

    Overly descriptive. Found mysef skimming those part of the book to get to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Sorry I Haven't Liked It...

    I'm having such a difficult time with this book. I've wanted to love it after all the hype, but it's difficult. First, I got turned off by the author's trying so hard to be cultured and elegant, or making much of it. Maybe it's our American up-bringing, but isn't understatement preferable? So much seems contrived and overdone. It made the book move very slowly. Also, the scents seem to permeate the story too much-no pun intended, and they often don't make sense; the combinations she expresses are improbable. That's giving lenience for the symbolic, even! I grew so tired of hearing about them in every other paragraph. Fragrances need to be dabbed here and there to have the right impact, don't you think? Just so in literature; they would have a bigger impact sparingly used. It's also a cardinal rule in literature that when an author focuses too much on description and not enough on characterization, the book will not be a good one. Is it me, or is there just too much description here? For instance, we can't possibly know or understand Dom, the primary male protagonist, because there's been very little character development. What may be the biggest issue is that the author spent a great deal of time describing what I believe she sees out the window and inside of her "crumbling hamlet in Provence, France." (From her bio. on the book cover we find that she lives there as much as possible.) In the novel, you can really see that she's inspired by her surroundings, but the story she's telling seems adjunct to that. This makes for a painfully slow and uninteresting story with tension and suspense that is much too drawn out. A true story about her love of Provence, her hamlet, gardens and lower cellar would have been ever so much more exotic and interesting. It's the trying to create a story around those descriptions that makes this novel fail, to me. Provence, her hamlet, it's rennovations and discoveries would make a fascinating non-fiction account. I'm worried that Ms Lawrenson has tried so hard to write a modern version of "Rebecca" that it's fallen flat. I'm sad about it. I struggled to finish this novel because I don't like giving up. It was difficult. It would be great to have a contemporary novel in the vein of "Rebecca," but sometimes one simply can't compete with the classics. Those who hyped a comparison weren't helping Ms Lawrenson. Must give it 2 struggling stars scented by woodland violets in apple wine infusion with a hint of ash from a long-awaited crackling fire, dripping with lasting notes of a salamander's foot crossing the moss that once laid lightly on mist-drenched, mountain wood.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1