Customer Reviews for

Larkspur Cove (Moses Lake Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Leaves you wanting more!

    Slow start for me. Took awhile to warm up to the characters. The mystery about the girl is known early on in the book. It picked up steam about midway through. After that it was hard to put down. The end seamed unfinished and leaves you wanting more. Gave four stars because I liked the overall story.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great Read!

    This is the first Lisa Wingate book I have read but will NOT be my last!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Another Great Book from Lisa Wingate

    I just discovered Lisa Wingate last week! She is such a great writer that I have read 4 of her books within the week. Larkspur Cove is another great read ... full of characters you view as friends and you want to keep in touch with! This book is written in the same style as the Daily, Texas series ... first person narrative switching between the heroine and hero and though it does work I am a little tired of it. I do get tired of ALL of the detail and I wonder it all of those words are necessary or it just to make the book a certain number of pages. I skimmed through a lot because I was eager to get to the important stuff. The important stuff is good! Because I want to keep in touch with these characters I have preordered Blue Moon Bay. I am so grateful to have discovered this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Excellent storytelling makes this Christian romance top notch

    Larkspur Cove by Lisa Wingate is a compelling and heartfelt novel of finding yourself and healing the past. Andrea Henderson has moved with her fourteen-year-old son Dustin to her parents' cottage on Moses Lake to recuperate from a terrible divorce that has left her trying to support them on her own and picking up the broken pieces of her dreams. When she took the job as a counselor for Child Protective Services, she had no idea just what that would entail in this remote area where GPS is useless and directions are given using bullet hole ridden stop signs and trees struck by lightning. Mart McClendon has returned to Moses Lake to heal some wounds of his own. Working as the game warden, he ends up running into teens in trouble, so he assumes after catching Dustin with some other kids, that Andrea is just another parent too busy to worry about what's really going on with her child. But Mart and Andrea are forced to work together when it's discovered that a strange man living up in the hills has a young girl living with him, and no one seems to know where she came from. Their investigation will force them to re-evaluate their opinions of each other, as well as start to deal with the tragedies in their pasts. Wingate is a terrific writer. While this is technically a romance, there is unexpected death and heart to the story. Readers will want to pack up and move to Moses Lake, a small town populated by people who genuinely care for each other (even as they gossip and tease), and when a neighbor is in need, the whole community turns out to help. Wingate paces the tenuous relationship between Mart and Andrea perfectly, not rushing, and allowing it to build at a natural and beautiful pace. She populates the book with many interesting sub-characters, and I hope that she will revisit Moses Lake soon to tell their tales as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Don't miss this one!

    Great! Need I say more?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Unbelievably good!

    Excellent read--the kind that makes you feel like you're right there living it with the characters. Exciting ending, but well written and a page turner all the way through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Great story

    This isn't a romance so much as an adult "coming of age story". The main characters have both come back to Moses Lake, Texas to rebuild their lives after tragedy strikes in different ways for both. There are many references to God and what He can do if you just take the opportunities offered. Very inspriational, even if you aren't religious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book started out a little slow for me. I was about a quarte

    This book started out a little slow for me. I was about a quarter of the way through before I really got interested, but after that I didn't want to put it down. The story flows smoothly enough. The author's description of the Moses Lake and Larkspur Cove communities really drew me in. I love small towns!

    The characters were well written, but I didn't feel a real connection with Bart or Andrea. I can relate to their feelings of loss, but that's really where my connection ended. I did enjoy watching Andrea begin to heal from her divorce and watching her grow as a person. However, I didn't feel like Bart grew or changed at all. Sure, he made some decisions regarding how he was handling his life, but I felt they were kind of abrupt. The secondary characters, the regulars at the Waterbird Bait and Grocery and Len and Birdie made the story far more interesting.

    The reason I'm giving this book four stars is because of the message. My new favorite thing to do while reading a book is to mark passages that really speak to me. While I didn't mark up the whole book with sticky notes, I did mark several pages that I thought made excellent points. The message of the book is two-fold. Andrea realizes that having joy, real joy, in your life was a choice each of us has to make. She also has to learn that God is there, even when you can't see Him, hear Him, or when you deny He is. He is in all places and you only have to be still and listen to hear Him. Mart learns that when times get tough, it's easy to blame God instead of realizing that while we don't know why things happen, God does and you don't do any good by turning your back on your faith.

    Overall, this was an enjoyable story. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Jaggedstorm

    Throws one back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Foxclan leaders den

    Foxclan only

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Gale

    Our love was made in minecraft. Yep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Ember

    Lays in the bed with one of your shirts on....she misses u. (Ill bevon sunday)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Moses Lake draws those who are in need of healing/redemption/car

    Moses Lake draws those who are in need of healing/redemption/caring/self-worth/love/God.

    Andrea has come back to Moses Lake to live with her son after her divorce. Mart has moved to Moses Lake to start over, to leave pain behind. 
    Birdie, a little girl who is need of everything Moses Lake can offer, is she the answer to Andrea's recovery and the help Mart needs to move on? And, can Birdie bring the two together? 

    Heartwarming...a lovely story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Took awhile to get used to Andrea, the counselor.

    She was a bit stubborn, unstable, defiant and a pain in the neck at the beginning of the book. Later, she rattles off what the "State" needs are but eventually she settles down and starts thinking of others and less of herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    I am a fan of Lisa Wingate's books and this was one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book.A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Good story

    Good story with interesting characters from different t walks of life who worked together to make a difference in e lives of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Larkspur Cove

    Book was great. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Loved the characters, Loved the story. I especially liked that i

    Loved the characters, Loved the story. I especially liked that it had no cursing. Had never read this author before. She has a wonderful

    talent for describing scenery
    and thoughts. I will read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3