Customer Reviews for

The Last Anniversary

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was devastated when it ended! The characters are so unique an

I was devastated when it ended! The characters are so unique and heart-warming that you feel as though you just lost close friends when you close the book. Moriarty's writing style can make you both laugh and cry. She knows how to write in a way that all her audience...
I was devastated when it ended! The characters are so unique and heart-warming that you feel as though you just lost close friends when you close the book. Moriarty's writing style can make you both laugh and cry. She knows how to write in a way that all her audience can relate too. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone; one of the best I've ever read.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very strange but intriguing

Kept hoping for more, there were some funny situations and I laughed but mostly it went on about absolutely nothing and in the end was disappointed

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    I was devastated when it ended! The characters are so unique an

    I was devastated when it ended! The characters are so unique and heart-warming that you feel as though you just lost close friends when you close the book. Moriarty's writing style can make you both laugh and cry. She knows how to write in a way that all her audience can relate too. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone; one of the best I've ever read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    A winner

    In 1932 Scribbly Gum Island, Australians Alice and Jack Munro vanish without a trace leaving behind their infant daughter found by Connie and Rose Doughty. The case became internationally known as 'The Baby Munro Mystery' and soon led to the tiny island becoming a tourist spot especially due to the efforts of the sisters.----------------- Over the next seven decades the Doughty family has made a fortune off the Enigma of the Baby Munro Mystery. However, now the matriarch Connie dies ending her iron control of the purse strings. The family members quickly war with one another ending the fragile peace that Connie fostered on everyone. Rose may still be alive, but is too much the romantic dreamer to enforce a code of ethics on the family. Though she only met Aunt Connie a few times, Sophie Honeywell, who ended her relationship with Scribbly Gum native Thomas Gordon, inherits her home. Sophie moves to escape Sydney though she fears that seeing Thomas will remind her that she let go of her probable soulmate, but instead deals with five generations of eccentric acrimonious kin.--------------------- Though Liane Moriarty endows her vast cast with varying personalities and physical traits readers will need a scorecard to keep track of who¿s who, which can become overwhelming. Still this is a rich complex tale containing numerous well written subplots involving aging, financial dictatorship, postpartum depression, hetero and homo sexual relationships, amidst many others as each player has a major issue. The tie that brings everyone and all the subplots together remains the Enigma baby abandonment that will have the audience hooked wondering what happened in 1932 that still impacts everyone today.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    Great story by a great author...I've now read  four of her novel

    Great story by a great author...I've now read  four of her novels and the fifth is on my nightstand...can't wait to get started

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Very strange but intriguing

    Kept hoping for more, there were some funny situations and I laughed but mostly it went on about absolutely nothing and in the end was disappointed





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    This is my second book by this author, and I am starting a third

    This is my second book by this author, and I am starting a third tonight.  Characters were all likeable, and the story could one minute be very drama filled while the next was so clever and funny.  What a great ending.  I could just picture all of the goings on as they were happening!                

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Couldnt put it down

    Not quite asngood as What Alice Forgot but still quite engaging! A great winter read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Book lover

    I loved this book. It is very different from great many books I read. As soon as you get to know who is who in this book, you just read and enjoy. Nicely written, great characters and interesting story. Highly recommend this one. I now got her only other book she has written 'Three Wishes' and can't wait to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    The secrets we keep come back to haunt us

    THE LAST ANNIVERSARY by Liane Moriarty is a superbly sophisticated fairy tale for adults. This Australian author has got her finger on a new and intriguing way to involve the reader in a story of relationships of all sorts. My Goldilocks is Sophie who has been left a house on a beautiful 'dream' island where she has visited on tours since her childhood. But, she is not a member of the family, and has even made herself disliked because she hurtfully rejected her young suitor who belongs to this family. Not only does she have the house now, but the 'fairy Godmother--Aunt Connie' who left her the house, says that she has seen the man of Sophie's dreams amongst the island families. Everyone hopes Connie does not mean the now married Thomas, of Sophie's earlier rejection. Mixed in with all this is the charm/mystery/ money maker island story of the 'abandoned baby' and her missing parents. Now, 73 years old, this child has children and grandchildren of her own on the island. She was 'kindly' raised by two island teen-agers. AND, the anniversary of her foundling is a major event on the island every year, along with guided tours of her ancestral home on a regular basis throughout the seasons. Liane Moriarty has built a story with every imaginable human relationship, within mysteries that keep the reader interested in who , how and why!! The seemingly ordinary events of post podium depression, single female time clocks clicking into gear, dating, surviving poverty and death, and the many ways of meeting sexual desires are intertwined with this amazingly creative fairy tale story line that this wonderful Australian author has created in THE LAST ANNIVERSARY. A winner in so many ways. A typical story that is not like any story that you have ever read before. What a treasure tale!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Cbttr

    fj
    Sgtygjgh wtrsgtw wret .ro xvx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    Very odd storyline.

    The story was very strange to say the least. But I continued to read the book, and became interested in the plot, only to be very disappointed by the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Enjoyed Completely!

    This is one of my favorite books loving each and every complex character. I like the way the author, Liane Moriaty, hops around with the story line and would recommend reading this book as well as another one of her novels, Three Wishes, to anyone from young adult to senior citizen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Hooked on my nook

    Wow this was terrible I couldnt even finish it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Treble

    ?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Loved this book! Great author!

    Loved this book! Great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    So disappointing

    I regret buying and reading this book. It's like a roller coaster ride that just keeps going and going and going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3