Customer Reviews for

Last Argument of Kings (First Law Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    An exhilarating story line

    With war on two fronts, the Union is in jeopardy from the south come the violent Gurkish horde while from the north the even more brutal Northmen continue their invasion. However, the real virus to survival resides inside the capital, Adua where sedition and betrayal are rampant and the king is apparently dying.--------- Loaded down with guilt and doubt berserker Logen Ninefingers knows he must go home to fight his dearest friend but now enemy King Bethod of the Northmen. Drained to the bone from the constant fighting and sending good people to their deaths Union officer Colonel West wants out but prepares for one last battle in the North where he gains allies from questionable sources. Jezal dan Luthar no longer yearns for glory and adventure as he has tasted how bitter that is, but may be too late to settle down with his beloved. Superior Glokta uses his greatest weapon that of torture and its threat to obtain acquiesence from the Union leaders. Finally amazon warrior Ferro seeks revenge and is not concerned about collateral damage to her so-called allies. In this mix, the mage Bayaz has returned to the Union, but as friend or foe iis hard to tell. Together they may be able to repel the enemies, but this team has always at best been dysfunctional when they are not fighting one another.-------------- The aptly titled LAST ARGUMENTS OF KINGS may be the best final book to a fantasy trilogy I have read in years. The exhilarating story line hits on all notes as the major threads from THE BLADE ITSELF and WHEN THEY WERE HANGED are resolved in a reasonable manner with the key ensemble cast remaining true to their respective essences. Joe Abercrombie is at his brilliant best with this excellent powerful climax that entertains throughout yet has readers pondering the implications of how far do you go when the debate turns to using the taboo First law of magic.------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Must read for adult fantasy fiction

    OK, you know the joke: "When Bruce Banner gets mad he turns into the Hulk, when the Hulk gets mad, he turns into Chuck Norris." Well, I can tell you after reading this book from Joe Abercrombie you will say that "when Chuck Norris gets mad, he turns into The Bloody Nine"! While the audience here is definitely for adults only, this series will appeal to anyone attracted to furious action, vivid medieval combat, and political intrigue. Awesome, page turner of a book that is impossible to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic fantasy!

    I absolutely LOVED this series! It will definitely go on my favs shelf. It took me awhile to read this book. It was a bit longer than the first two but I savored every word. What a fantastic talented author. I'll buy every book he ever writes. I always have a book I am reading. What I mean to say is that as soon as I finish one book, I immediately start another. I'm sure I will shortly, but right now, I'm just sitting here thinking about The First Law world & it's characters...just not quite ready to let them go yet. I'll always remember them, but as soon as I start another book, that's the world I'll be in. I'm actually a bit bummed that this series is over. The only thing negative I can say about the series is that it ended quite abruptly. It really didn't seem like the end of a book. There needs to be a fourth book! One could always hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Lots of change, but not always good

    I immensely enjoyed the 1st 2 books in Joe Abercrombie's series, but as I began to read the 3rd book I had an inkling that changes were coming about that I would not be happy with. The book itself is excellently written and is as captivating, if not more so, than the first two in the First Law series, however much like a movie with a bad ending can ruin an otherwise excellent experience I was left feeling disappointed with this series. There seemed to be too much cynicism without any hope for the human spirit to prevail. Free will and choice are shown to be illusions and instead you are left feeling that everyone is merely a puppet on someone else's strings. I still feel the book and series are worth the read, but don't hold your breath for an ending that leaves you wanting a continuation of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Last Argument of Kings, The First Law Trilogy, Book 3

    The First Law trilogy is true of the saying; it's not the destination, but the journey that is the reward. All three books were so equally fantastic, that I found myself not wanting it to end. I read book three in the trilogy slowly, to savor every delicious morsel. I can't wait for what Joe Abercrombie writes next!
    Logen Ninefingers says to himself, "I'm still alive", again and again. Unfortunately for him it is true. He tries to convince himself that he wants to be a better person, but he isn't able to leave the Bloody Nine behind. The Bloody Nine is a part of him. But, his next biggest challenge is not only trying to defeat Bethod, King of the Northmen, but his champion, The Feared!
    Superior Glokta is by far my favorite character in this entire trilogy! There is nothing about him that I did not like. Now Glokta is truly stuck, because his master the bank of Valint and Balk, and his master Arch Lector Sulk, are in direct conflict of each other. He doesn't know quite what he should do, because either choice will find his corpse floating in the water. Although he welcomes death to put him out of his misery, he doesn't want to die. Glokta will find his friends to be traitors, love and companionship, and the mystery behind Valint and Balk!Jezal dan Luthar is a wimpy little weasel of a man. Naturally, he has no clue on how to be king, but demands everyone to treat him as royalty. Not even his new wife Terez can stand him. But, with the help of the First of the Magi, Bayaz, and the Closed Council, he may accidentally be able to not only rule, but become one of the first great kings in the golden age!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Jewel of a Series

    I thoroughly enjoyed this series. All three of the books were very well written, interesting and entertaing. I would have hoped for another but a story must end sometime. I will reread this series sometime in the future and it is a part of my permanent library. Kudos to the author and I will watch for more of his books..(hope there will be more).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Great book to end the series

    Great writing, lots of action, and closure. All things that I want when I'm reading the final book of a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Enjoyed the first two in the series and the third was just as good. Sorry to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Coming on like J.R.R. Martin

    He may be young, but he has the knack for the telling of a great story.
    If he fool you more with the plot, that would be great.
    His characters are great. You feel the pain of Glotka, the fury of Ferro, the split personality of Logan Ninefingers or The Bloody Nine depending on how hot the blood is running.
    There are many other characters that support this trilogy, but peop[le should read it to understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected

    I like this trilogy, and the first two books were great. But this one was off the wall. There were many world tilting changes in character perceptions, as well as how the past is percieved. It is a really good book, and I would recommend it, but it just has too much of a skewed ending to it for me to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Enjoyed the Last Argument and the two preceding books

    Most interesting series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kinda of anti climactic

    One thing is everyone gets their just desserts.............

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The First Law Trilogy

    SOME SPOILERS
    The best one, or just the climax? Mmmm, probably a bit of both. An issue I do have though, is the fact that by the end of this book, he still hasn't answered my question from book two, which was 'What is the point of half of what just happened.' I assume that ignorance was the answer. Ignorance on behalf of the characters, but really...if that was it, than whatever. Not impressed. But a few highlights here are the other answers and the ending. Both go together really. By the time you get to the end of the of the series, you realize that he gave everybody either what they wanted or what they deserved. But never what made them happy! He makes the reader realize that those who ended up as kings, those who got vengeance, those who made the changes they believed they needed to make, or even those who were just fighting for what they felt was right, never really got what they thought they would. Or hoped they would.
    This would seem like a slap in the face if you took it literally. But in the end, this set of characters where such a wreck in the first place that there was no way they could have ended up happy anyway, even though you really hoped they could have. And perhaps they might have had that chance, but they never chose correctly and that was the problem
    As a matter of fact, that was another thing about the novels. He is extremely good at showing the reader human weakness, and that - yes, it sucks, but - we all have more of them than we would like. But maybe he takes it too far. Looking back, I can only count maybe 2 or three characters in the entire trilogy - side characters included - who were genuinely decent people. Everybody else wore their weakness on their sleeves and that got old at some points...but that was he wanted to point out.

    See the links to the two other books for the rest of my review, or visit my blog, Dust of Nations, for the full review and other book reviews and recommendations.
    http://dustofnations.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3