Customer Reviews for

Last Argument of Kings (First Law Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Lots of change, but not always good

    I immensely enjoyed the 1st 2 books in Joe Abercrombie's series, but as I began to read the 3rd book I had an inkling that changes were coming about that I would not be happy with. The book itself is excellently written and is as captivating, if not more so, than the first two in the First Law series, however much like a movie with a bad ending can ruin an otherwise excellent experience I was left feeling disappointed with this series. There seemed to be too much cynicism without any hope for the human spirit to prevail. Free will and choice are shown to be illusions and instead you are left feeling that everyone is merely a puppet on someone else's strings. I still feel the book and series are worth the read, but don't hold your breath for an ending that leaves you wanting a continuation of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Great book to end the series

    Great writing, lots of action, and closure. All things that I want when I'm reading the final book of a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Great conclusiin...

    Fun & fast read, just what you want based off the first two. No true good, pity for most evil, some dark humor...no spoiler but the end somehow fits without drawing too much of a final line in the sand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Enjoyed the first two in the series and the third was just as good. Sorry to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected

    I like this trilogy, and the first two books were great. But this one was off the wall. There were many world tilting changes in character perceptions, as well as how the past is percieved. It is a really good book, and I would recommend it, but it just has too much of a skewed ending to it for me to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Enjoyed the Last Argument and the two preceding books

    Most interesting series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kinda of anti climactic

    One thing is everyone gets their just desserts.............

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The First Law Trilogy

    SOME SPOILERS
    The best one, or just the climax? Mmmm, probably a bit of both. An issue I do have though, is the fact that by the end of this book, he still hasn't answered my question from book two, which was 'What is the point of half of what just happened.' I assume that ignorance was the answer. Ignorance on behalf of the characters, but really...if that was it, than whatever. Not impressed. But a few highlights here are the other answers and the ending. Both go together really. By the time you get to the end of the of the series, you realize that he gave everybody either what they wanted or what they deserved. But never what made them happy! He makes the reader realize that those who ended up as kings, those who got vengeance, those who made the changes they believed they needed to make, or even those who were just fighting for what they felt was right, never really got what they thought they would. Or hoped they would.
    This would seem like a slap in the face if you took it literally. But in the end, this set of characters where such a wreck in the first place that there was no way they could have ended up happy anyway, even though you really hoped they could have. And perhaps they might have had that chance, but they never chose correctly and that was the problem
    As a matter of fact, that was another thing about the novels. He is extremely good at showing the reader human weakness, and that - yes, it sucks, but - we all have more of them than we would like. But maybe he takes it too far. Looking back, I can only count maybe 2 or three characters in the entire trilogy - side characters included - who were genuinely decent people. Everybody else wore their weakness on their sleeves and that got old at some points...but that was he wanted to point out.

    See the links to the two other books for the rest of my review, or visit my blog, Dust of Nations, for the full review and other book reviews and recommendations.
    http://dustofnations.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1