Customer Reviews for

The Last Bard

Average Rating 3
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended, a good read.

I read this E-Book on advice from a friend and found it to be easy reading, thought provoking and well written. My only criticism is that it could have been longer, whilst the story was suited to the short format, I would have welcomed more of the same. I liked the mix ...
I read this E-Book on advice from a friend and found it to be easy reading, thought provoking and well written. My only criticism is that it could have been longer, whilst the story was suited to the short format, I would have welcomed more of the same. I liked the mix of first person and fantasy. I would recommend it.

posted by greenreader on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A note from the Author

Thanks folks, it means a great deal to me when people I've never met say nice things about my writing... More on the way soon... T xx

posted by TDavies on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A note from the Author

    Thanks folks, it means a great deal to me when people I've never met say nice things about my writing... More on the way soon... T xx

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Highly recommended, a good read.

    I read this E-Book on advice from a friend and found it to be easy reading, thought provoking and well written. My only criticism is that it could have been longer, whilst the story was suited to the short format, I would have welcomed more of the same. I liked the mix of first person and fantasy. I would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    The Bard

    Well written short story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Definitely recommended

    A very old and often tired story line, retold freshly and very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Very well written

    I easily could have kept reading. Kept me right at attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    OMG! Definitely HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this book! Llywelyn and Gelert made me cry! I felt like my heart was breaking! I was not expecting that outcome, but just goes along with real life, things are almost never what they appear to be at first, and nothing or anyone should ever be taken for granted! And the way Tom Davies so fluidly went from that to the mountains, BEAUTIFUL! Well, I'm not great at this kind of thing, but the book was WONDERFUL and well written, and I wish it had been longer! I WILL DEFINITELY be reading more of his books! ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! IT WILL MAKE YOU LOOK INSIDE YOURSELF THAT'S FOR SURE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Excellent

    A very well written short story. I look forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good short story. Will read other things from him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Interesting

    Before I read the author's post scripts after the story, I surmised I was reading his real life experience climbing a mountain. His scare of nearly falling to his real death through a crevase ( probably due to paying attention to the story line forming in his head rather than to his feet ) and what stopped him was what came through to me. His descriptions of the climb, the cold crisp air, the smells and emotions were very real. This was an excellent telling in itself.

    The tale his experience inspired in him to me was not quite as well-developed, though on its own was interesting. I suspect it didn't come across as well as the author would have liked. The blending of the real and the imaginary seemed awkward also. The formatting to differentiate the the main character's tale from the folklore wasn't consistant - sometimes in italics, other times not.

    The fact that the author put pen to the paper (or nowadays finger to the keyboard) to write and publish this story has to be given credit. It isn't an easy thing to do. All said, I encourage the author to continue to write. I'd like to know more about the old man's life, what's his story. Also, the main character, what is his role now?

    Lastly, what other heart-stopping things have you done in your life? If nearly falling into a crevase to your death is one of them, I am sure there are others. In fact, I'll bet you could write a book. Just don't let your mother read it, she likely worries about you enough as it is. One star given for the fact that I'm not your mother ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Difficult to follow

    This seemed like more of an idea for a book than an actual short story, and it was very hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Man's best friend

    Very well written short story. You could see what the author was writing. Was sad about the dog, some people don't give animals enough credit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Cute and Catchy

    I really liked this quick read. It made me take a moment to re-read it just to make sure I didn't miss anything. Will read more from this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not

    Not fair i cant read it for a sample can u friend requset me plz i really want to read it sorry

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing

    The flow from point of view, to flashbacl, to a piece of the story was simply.... Brilliant. The pacing is consistant, the detail perfect (enough to get the story but not too much to seem stalker-ish), and plot, touching. One might think of this story as a test of character or judgment...... either way, it's a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Compelling

    As many have said, this is a wpnderful by a very talented writer. If he finds a good editor to support him, the skies bthe limit.
    It takes a special talent for rn of phrase,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Beautiful story

    Too short Said as a compliment. Makes you long for more. Easy to read but with a well described atmosphere I recommend it to anyone interested in fantasy or mythology Also loved the authors notes GBPK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Well Crafted

    I liked this story when I read it the first time and I liked it better on the second read. It is well edited and very well crafted flowing smoothly to a slightly unsatisfactory ending. I believe that this short story deserves to be a book. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Good

    This is not a long book but it is very good. It is a tad shallow at first and it is a random sort of story. however it is interesting and kept me reading. give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3