BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Battle (Chronicles of Narnia Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

All the books of the Chronicles of Narnia are very inspirational. I recommend then to people of all ages.

posted by 10026721 on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Narnia great book to read

narnia has a great begining none of the characters die well not any of the main characters its pretty much a awesome book i'm half done with the book so i'm acuttly almost done with the book it does have action i could not stop reading the book it is great book to read...
narnia has a great begining none of the characters die well not any of the main characters its pretty much a awesome book i'm half done with the book so i'm acuttly almost done with the book it does have action i could not stop reading the book it is great book to read

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Highly recommended

    All the books of the Chronicles of Narnia are very inspirational. I recommend then to people of all ages.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Wonderful

    This was a wonderful ending to one of the best childrens series ever. Though I am 28 and I am still reading them! I loved this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    C.S. Lewis' The Last Battle

    C.S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia is a classic read for anyone young and old and should take high priority on anyone's "to read" list. Concluding this series for the first time I've read The Last Battle. This story is a simple allegory of religious themes including the final battle, the antichrist, and the final judgment. The story begins with an ape named Shift and his friend, a donkey, named Puzzle. Shift who is devious by nature finds the skin of a lion and tricks his less intelligent friend Puzzle to wear the suit in order to pass him off as the lion Aslan, a mysterious Christ like figure in all of C. S. Lewis's books.
    The ape Shift asserts himself as the speaker on behalf of the donkey dressed as Aslan, who is only allowed to come out at night and must stay further away from the crowds in order to convince them that he is the real Aslan. Shift uses his newfound power to manipulate the masses into giving him what he wants, which leads to the destruction of Narnia in a final battle where it is destroyed.
    Some familiar characters from previous books make cameo appearances as the book progresses. Unfortunately Susan is not included among them because she is "no longer a friend of Narnia" and interested "in nothing nowadays except nylons and lipstick and invitations". This idea of course highlighting the theme of lost faith.
    This book is an exciting read and I would recommend it to anyone. Lewis asserts a lot of religious themes and ideas that most anyone can appreciate such as love, tolerance, compassion, and righteous living. For those who have not read his other books or are not familiar with his writing style this book may appear a bit slow or confusing at times. There are a lot of times that ideas and thought are emphasized more so than battle or action sequences, but since a good fight scene is not the primary goal of this book that is okay by me.
    Again, I strongly recommend this book. Besides being a classic it is also an enjoyable climax to the life and story of that magical place called Narnia.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    A++++++++++

    This is such a great book.I don't want this seris to end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deadly deception.

    Favorable: Informative, with fun, education & entertainment.
    A quote from the book: "They will not let us help them. They have chosen cunning instead of belief. Their prison is only in their own minds, yet they are in that prison; and so afraid of being taken in that they cannot be taken out."
    This battle is for all souls to be spiritually free. During the last days of Narnia, a good king Tirian must fight a fierce battle; does he win? Do the souls get freed? Read the book and find out. Great excitement, adventure, and action are within the covers of this wonderful voyage, enjoy!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Loved it

    Great series overall. Loved the voyage of the dawn treader, the silver chair, and this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    A Great Book to End a Great Series

    Its Hard to believe that a Donkey and an Ape are the ones responsible for bringing on the Last Days of Narnia. But thats exactly what happens. The Ape 'Shift' Tricks the Donkey 'Puzzle' in to Wearing a Lion's Skin and Pose as Aslan. Shift then has all of Narnia in his Greedy Little Paws. He Sells the Talking Beasts To the Calormenes and Has the Trees in Lantern Waste Cut Down. The King of Narnia goes to Check Things out, and Ends up Captured. He Then calls upon the Help of Jill and Eustace, The Humans From the Other World. Then, They Discover Something Awful: Shift told Narnia That Aslan And Tash 'The God of Calormen' are the Same person. This Ends up Bringing the REAL Tash to Narnia To Terrorize Everyone. Personally, This is not my Favorite Book in the Series, But its still Nice. I Love How C.S. Lewis Ended the Book, Because its Kind Of How i Wanted The Series to End. Do Yourself a Favor and Pick Up The Entire Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    The Last Battle

    When I leave the Shadowlands I will walk along the ridge upward and inward untill I reach Narnia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Anumymous

    About the book I think it sounds realy good and aparently I shold buy it.But I dont know wether or not susen,peter,lucy,and edwerd ever come back and if so do thay come back in this book or what? Becouse I just want to know when thay come back or if they ever come back nobody will tell me and I cant buy the book untill apsolutly shore

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    The Last Battle

    Good book and grabbed my attention

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I DON'T WANT THE SERIES TO END!!!!!!!!!!:^(

    Do you ever have the feeling when your reading a series you really like but then it comes to an end!? Well,that's how I felt when I was on the last book of the chronicals of Narnia. When I finished the last page of the book, I felt sad because I didn't want to say good-by when the series ended!? If you ever read this book, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DON'T START CRYING!!!!!!!!! I cried for a while. Well, I'm done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    Narnia great book to read

    narnia has a great begining none of the characters die well not any of the main characters its pretty much a awesome book i'm half done with the book so i'm acuttly almost done with the book it does have action i could not stop reading the book it is great book to read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    A millon stars are not enough to rate this book

    I read all the books in the Chronicles as a child but then I did not appreciate the value of taking care of my books though I loved reading. But now I am trying to collect them all so my 4 year old son will enjoy them too. They make such a great gift idea for children, young people and grown ups alike - anyone who never had the chance to visit Narnia should do so at any age!! You become one of the children feeling their awe, their distress, and all their triumps. Read to your kids and grand kids and see their faces light up...just breath taking!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis

    This book¿s genre, The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis is fantasy and adventure. Like other fantasy books, this book has suspense and dream like adventures take place. Eustace and Jill, the main characters, come back from the real world to save King Tirian and Narnia after King¿s warn. To save the old Narnia from destruction false Aslan must vanish and real Aslan has to come to save Narnians who is getting attacked and murdered by Men. Eustace and Jill develops as a true Narnians and with King Tirian¿s help, they take a step to rescue Narnia from chaos. Unicorn says, ¿I believe it all. If I seem not to, it is only that my joy is too great to let my belief settle itself. It is almost too beautiful to believe.¿ This quote states that all the joy is so great that it is almost too hard to believe. Foretells about Aslan coming and little clue about what will happen later on. Is it really a too great of joy that is almost hard to believe or is it false? This book¿s point of view is in 3rd person limited. Narrator is in every place but don¿t get through characters minds. Narrator is very reliable comparing to 1st person or 2nd person point of view. I think 3rd person limited makes story more interesting because it gives enough true, reliable information to readers and doesn¿t get too deep into the characters so it makes story more interesting. Lewis¿ uses foreshadowing and lots of figurative languages in the book. No flashbacks, most of the time it is straight forward and pretty easy to understand. Major conflict in this story is when the stars foretold the future that some great evil is hanging over on Narnia. This marks the beginning of the crisis. King Tirian gets captured by intruder and Eustace and Jill comes to save him and Narnia. When the kids and King Tirian finds out the truth and when they try to tell the facts to Dwarfs, they don¿t believe it. Things that author didn¿t do very well is that author didn¿t create enough suspense to keep the reader¿s eyes hooked into the book. It was interesting plot but if the writer included more suspense and realism in it, it would have been a better book. My final recommendation of The Last Battle is thumbs up for the readers that are really interested in fantasy genre and in younger age like elementary or middle school. I don¿t recommend to the high school students nor adults.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Worst Chronicles of Narnia

    I love the Chronicles of Narnia and all of C.S. Lewis' work, however, The Last battle took me a long time to get into. the first half is mostly about an ape and a donkey plotting to deceive everyone by dressing the donkey in a lion skin to look like aslan. The familiar characters, (other than aslan) aren't in the book much until the second half. The second half of the book is very good and it wraps of the series very well, it just isn't my favorite Lewis book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Great Adventure Story

    This book was action packed and showed how lying can get you in trouble.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    Great book for all ages!!!!

    The Last Battle is a great book for everyone to read. But before you read this book you should read the rest of the Narnia books that come before it. This book is a great end to the Narnia books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Hi

    Hi last battle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Finale

    I liked the way Lewis ends the chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Awesomest book in the world!

    Poor susan! If only she believed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12