Customer Reviews for

The Last Book in the Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    book review

    The last book in the universe is a very good book. It was written by a man named Rodman Philbrick. I would recommend it to anyone who likes good books. Just the thought of something like the "big shake" is the best thing that could happened in this book. In this story take place about 200 years after the big shake

    What the big shake was, it was a world split to its earth which was an awesome. All the characters are all very well played. Also another reason why i would recommend this book is because its a very futuristic book.The main characters name is Spaz. Spaz is a boy with epilepsy which makes him not be able to mind probe. This book is just all around good i would recommend it to anyone who likes good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Good Summer Readying

    My daughter had to read this book as a summer reading assignment. She flew throught it! She really enjoyed it and it was an easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    Futuristic

    The Last Book in the Universe was really well written. I liked this book because it was very futuristic. I also liked the title and the picture on the cover. It had things like jet bikes and skylarks which are space ships. It also called different parts of the world latches. This book was about a young boy who lives in the future. His name is Spaz. He got his nickname because he has seizures sometimes. He is a nice person but he is mixed up with the wrong crew. Billy Bizmo has him stealing stuff from innocent people. One day while Spaz is going to rob an old gummie, the gummie shows him a book. The old gummie was named Ryter. Ryter shows Spaz the last book in the universe but it is not finished. It still needs one more adventure. When Spaz finds out that his sister is sick, he and Ryter decide to cross the latches to get to Spaz's sister. They come across a young baby and a proove who helps them along their journey. This book is great for any adventure lover or someone who likes to read in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Very good

    In the beginning of this book it may sound a little rude or strange but by the second chapter you'll be addicted to it. It starts off when a boy by the name of Spaz enters a latch also known as a home. Then he rips off a gummy,which is an old guy. He notices that he doesn't even care what he takes or anything all he cares about is a book he hides under his concrete desk. He and spaz boy begin to talk a lot and when he gets a message from his foster sister bean he decides to run away from the latch and go help his sick sister,and return to the latch in peace before she dies. Spaz Boy doesn't know it but big adventures awaits him. I'll recommend this book to a reader of Rodman Philbrick books or someone who likes science fiction and or adventures. This book is one of a kind I in fact would recommend this book to anyone period because its so awesome. Just read it and you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Slow at the beginning but gets better

    The beginning of this book kind of sounds like only a boy will like it because they talk about sticking electrode needles and his name is Spaz. Once you get to about chapter six, it gets exciting. When Ryter and Spaz leave for the pipe it starts to get really interesting. At the beginning of the book Spaz is going to the stackboxs to ripoff an old gummy named Ryter and he has all of his things ready for him to take. After a couple of days he goes back and Ryter wants him to tell him his life story. They end up going to the pipe to help Bean,his sister, who has a blood sickness. I can not tell any more you will have to read the book to find out if she survives or if they make it to her If you like science fiction books this will be the book for you. This book is kind of boring at the beginning,but it get interesting. There is a happy ending, but it is also kind of sad too. So I recommend you read this book to find out how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    The Last Book in the Universe

    Rodman, Philbrick. The Last Book in the Universe. New York: The Blue Sky Press, 2000 The Last Book in the Universe is the story of a boy named Spaz who is out to save his no blood sister from dying. He runs into a Child of Eden named Lanaya, and together Spaz, Lanaya, Rhyter (a close friend), and a few other friends set off to save Bean. They will meet many new people and even experience the thrill of Eden (a magical place where everyone is genetically perfect and everything is perfect. Rodman¿s characters are descripted very well in this book. His characters are very emotional and he expresses their feelings very well. One bad thing about this book is it never tells the reader what kind of clothes they were wearing. For instance, If they were wearing a worn up shirt and torn jeans, anyone could tell they weren¿t very rich or if they were wearing high class clothes, they were rich or they stole it. Many times I couldn¿t put the book down and I kept reading it until I got to a not so interesting part. I liked that the title of each chapter didn¿t tell me exactly what was going on. It kept me wondering whether it really meant that such and such was going to happen or so and so was really going to do this. What I really liked most of all was that at the end, it kept me wondering what was going to happen in the sequel. It doesn¿t end the book by giving it a happy or sad ending, the book just stops. If you read this book, I think you will enjoy it. It¿s full of action and adventure and has a well done plot and climax. You should read this book I think you will like it. Recommendations: Max the Mighty Freak the Mighty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    FAB

    this book was fabulous and I think it wasn't a waste of time. It was an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Good book

    I really liked this book. It is a very interesting plot and has a very suprising ending. It also makes you think about what can happen in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Spaz life

    The story began in the future where there is a lot of destruction. There was a boy name Spaz who is allergic to electrode needles. If you stick a needle in Spaz brain he¿ll have a seizure which can kill him. Spaz is in a gang called the Banger¿s they go around taking people¿s stuff. Spaz meet a gummy named Ryter & Rryter help Spaz ,finds his sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Good but not my favorite

    This book was action packed.I would recommend this book to action people. It also has some drama.It deals with death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Arch's review...6th grade...Hillcrest

    I think this was a really great book. It opened my eyes to what it would be like to live in the future, and that it is pretty good to live in the present.It also showed me how necessary it is to have some order and rules of behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Good Book for Adults too!

    I read this book after my 11 year old son recommended it to me. I read a lot of good books that way! I loved it. It also gave us some really good discussion topics. I think that books for young adults are often overlooked by adults and that's a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    A great read

    I feel that this is a very thought provocking book and that the vocabluary is extremmelly intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    This is a great book!

    The last book in the universe is a very exciting book. I liked it mainly because of its futuristic theme. Rodman Philbrick, the author, uses futuristic words and makes the story great. The book is mainly about Spaz, the protagonist, who is eppileptic. He finds out that his sister is ill. Since he hasn't seen his sister in a long time so the journey through the dark and scary areas is difficult because he also doesn't know exactly how to get there. Overall I think this is a great book. The continuous action makes it one of my favorite books. I recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1