Customer Reviews for

The Last Book in the Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Very good job and content. congrats goes to Rodman Philbrook.

    This is my second time reading “The Last Book In The Universe” by Rodman Philbrick and I am somewhat pleased with the content and structure of the book. The story consist of a character by the name of Spaz , who lives in a corrupt version of the world we know today ran by drug lords. Although the book starts out slow, as you read on, it develops a plot sequence, that is interesting. Many characters, like Lanayy, and Ryter, are easy to relate to. Spaz as a character is very realistic and believable , meaning his character is not all mystical and make believe . A good example would be just like the books of Harry Potter , his life is all make believe none of his life is realistic. If you like books you can relate to in your everyday life as a teen ,that contains action, this is the book for you. Rodman Phil brick’s ,whom is the author, style of writing is very suspenseful and creative. He uses literary devices such as symbolism and flashbacks. He uses symbolism when referring to Eden(the good part of the distraught world), which can be symbolized to heaven. Rodman Philbrick also presents many different morals in his book. The main moral is to not judge people by their appearances. This means that if someone looks perfect, that doesn’t mean they are perfect. Which to me and many others create a very addictiveness to the book to keep you reading, and trust me its worth reading to the end for a very explosive surprise. Mostly the events of the story doesn’t match up to the expectations of being as realistic as the characters. Even though the realizations of the events make be lacking in this story, the story is still overall pleasing. As I mentioned before the level of suspense in the book is very high . Which also contributes to how the authors writing style is compared to a book by William Shakespeare, you can obviously point out the differences. The setting of the story really has an dramatic effect on the elements and characters that are in it. Such as how the character Spaz lives in the poor part of town , were he could easily be subdued to dugs and other things in that area. Which also can determine if the story goes on or not. Overall , “The Last Book In The Universe” by Rodman Philbrick is a very action packed and suspenseful story. This was a job well done by Rodman Philbrick the story was a very exciting adventure for me . If you read this book you will be just as pleased with the contents and structure of the book as I am.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    The book that changed the way I see books.

    This book is amazing, I read it in the seventh grade. This book has imagery out of this world, from dragging people on bikes to the pipe structure of a city. The symbols of a perfect place such as an Eden. I now can't read a book that doesn't implant an image, picture, or own movie into my head. Even the title, "The Last Book in the Universe" puts an image into your head of how the setting of this novel is, a place where reading and writing is a thing of the far past. The first paragraph of the book explains how life is and how people are different. The pros and cons of this new world. This book is great for teenagers and great to use in school as an example of great imagery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Lol

    The name Spaz i kniw wat that means lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Boom

    This book is a good one for anyon who likes dystopien novals or fusterrical novals

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    This is a good book

    I love this book it has alot to say about the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Book review: The Last Book in the Universe by Rodman Philbrick

    Imagine a world without books. In this book, a boy named Spaz tells a story through a voicewriter. Why isn't there any books? Well, there is no need to. Everybody else usesca mindprobe. The mindprobes have a needlethat sticks in your brain to compute information for you. In this case, Spaz can't use a minprobe because of a medical condition. Spaz lives in the future in which mostly everybody settles in Urb. Urb consists of clusters of cubes called stackboxes. Spaz does live in one. At the stackboxes, Spaz goes out to sreal loot from people. He doesn't choose to, but if he chooses not to steal, he will die. One day, Spaz goes to an elderly person named Ryter. When Spaz tries to steal goods, Ryter starts telling him about backtimes. One conversation ends up as the start of a suspenseful journey. Ryter has always wanted to write a book. Mind you, all books were destroyed becauae of the mindprobes. This journey wouldn't have started if Spaz's sister, Bean didn't get sick. The bad news spread around which caused Spaz and Ryter to start on their journey. The only way to get to Spaz's family was to follow the old pipe which crossed into his town. Eventually, both of them came to a town where proovs existed. If you're wondering what a proov is, they are genectically improved human beings that come out perfect. Out of the town come Spaz, Ryter, and a proov named Layaya who contines on rheir journey. Finally, after a long time, they reach Bean's house to help. A very good book with a good plot. I noticed that the book evolved around Spaz's journey. The book continues as the book moves on. This book would be geared to someone who likes a good book and someone that is wondering what the fututr might be. If you have trouble getting over hard words, this book is for you. The words have good flow and it is built with commonly used words. Any adults who like some sort of mystery/drama in a book, then this book is for you. The spaces in betwen the wordscare relatively easy to manage. Readind this book made me wonder about a book that I have borrowed from the Lockport Public Library called Rootless. A comparson of both books is, coincendentally, they are both about the future. The funny part is, the future is after boojs are destroyed. Rootless, the book from the library, also had a good plot too. Like in The Last Book in the Universe, Rootless has a good connection to history inside. The facts that are added are accurate in both books. For example, in The Last Book in the Universe, there is medical information that is true in the real world. While making this book, the author researched evidence to support his conclusions. I would give this book 5 stars because it has such an amazing story written in it. One thing that I like is, that this book has many interestkng facrs in it. On page 36, it says, "Many great humans have been epileptic." Also, the introduces new vocabulary. The reason is, since Ryter has been alive fir a long time, he remembers old words used in our time. On page 34, it says, " 'Foundling?' 'An old word' he says, 'but useful.' " Another word that you might be familiar with is in this quote. On page 141, it says, " 'The disease used to be called leukenia,' he tells us, ..." This book shows how it is going vto bw in the future, so this book is my most favorite book about the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Beautiful

    This is a fantastic read. Original and charismatic. This book is a breath of fresh air. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    I love this book go team spaz

    I never love a book soooo much since i red this book <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    This is a great book!

    This book is good. At first I thought it was a little strange but the further I got into it the more I liked it. A MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Amazing

    Hello reader,
    I was told i would be reading this book for my la class and when i finished it i just wanted to read more and more. If u dont read this book it will be a major lose one ur part.
    Thank you for reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    This is my second time reading “The Last Book In The Unive

    This is my second time reading &ldquo;The Last Book In The Universe&rdquo; by Rodman Philbrick and I am somewhat pleased with the content and structure of the book. The story consist of a character by the name of Spaz , who lives in a corrupt version of the world we know today ran by drug lords. Although the book starts out slow, as you read on, it develops a plot sequence, that is interesting. Many characters, like Lanayy, and Ryter, are easy to relate to. Spaz as a character is very realistic and believable , meaning his character is not all mystical and make believe . A good example would be just like the books of Harry Potter , his life is all make believe none of his life is realistic. If you like books you can relate to in your everyday life as a teen ,that contains action, this is the book for you. Rodman Phil brick&rsquo;s ,whom is the author, style of writing is very suspenseful and creative. He uses literary devices such as symbolism and flashbacks. He uses symbolism when referring to Eden(the good part of the distraught world), which can be symbolized to heaven. Rodman Philbrick also presents many different morals in his book. The main moral is to not judge people by their appearances. This means that if someone looks perfect, that doesn&rsquo;t mean they are perfect. Which to me and many others create a very addictiveness to the book to keep you reading, and trust me its worth reading to the end for a very explosive surprise. Mostly the events of the story doesn&rsquo;t match up to the expectations of being as realistic as the characters. Even though the realizations of the events make be lacking in this story, the story is still overall pleasing. As I mentioned before the level of suspense in the book is very high . Which also contributes to how the authors writing style is compared to a book by William Shakespeare, you can obviously point out the differences. The setting of the story really has an dramatic effect on the elements and characters that are in it. Such as how the character Spaz lives in the poor part of town , were he could easily be subdued to dugs and other things in that area. Which also can determine if the story goes on or not. Overall , &ldquo;The Last Book In The Universe&rdquo; by Rodman Philbrick is a very action packed and suspenseful story. This was a job well done by Rodman Philbrick the story was a very exciting adventure for me . If you read this book you will be just as pleased with the contents and structure of the book as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    THIS BOOK IS WHAT GOT ME TO READ!

    I had never really enjoyed novels until I read this book. It completely changed my perspective on novels!! I loved this book so much that i recommended it to all my friends, who loved it as well!!!

    Not only was this book amazing...but it takes you OUTTA THIS WORLD!! Hypothetically speaking of course. lol

    A MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    My Favorite Book!!!

    I got this book at a school book fair almost 8 years ago....it changed my favorite genre of books to sci-fi. To this day this book is STILL my favorite book to read!!! IT'S DEFINITELY A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    BEST BOOK!

    The Last Book In The Universe

    For English and Literature I read the book "The Last Book In The Universe" by Rodman Philbrick. This book was pretty amazing; it looked and felt so real even though it was fictional.
    In this book it told about what happened in the future after a really big earthquake that destroyed buildings, landmarks, and killed lots of humans. It tells how this kid name "Spaz Boy" who is a gang member from the Bully Bangers and one of the survivor from the "Big Shake." He gets a message that his stepsister is sick and she wants to meet him. So he sets on a journey to meet his sister who lives in another gangs land and tries to find her and his step parents, in the journey he meets extordinary people like ryter, little face, lanaya, etc. He goes through a land filled with hungry people who tried to eat him and some of his friends, gets attacked by speeder bikes, and many other adventures.
    This book is filled with exciting adventures which makes you want to read more and more. It gets fun and sad, but sometimes it gets violent. I suggest this book to other people like future things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    Finally!!!

    OK so like two years ago last summer i read this book in Jamaica. i left it down there and forgot it. And now im looking for some interesting books to read. So im sitting here on this site and the names spaz writer and bean keep pushing into my thoughts. Then i remeber everything except the title. So ive been at this search for almost a month now and ive finally found it....anyway if youre a big reader reader im sure this book wiil catch youre eye...and youll never put it down enjoy...Its great for book clubs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    FANTASTIC BOOK!

    When I finish reading the book Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett, I wanted to get more into mystery. I went to the library, to find more books, I was thinking about how would the other books look like, and all of the sudden I read The Last Book in the Universe...strange'I thought'. After words, the book got all of my attention. I read it more than once, is interesting how the last book in the universe is not really a book. Find out why...take a try and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic BOOK!!!!!!!

    This book is FANTASTIC! It's awesome.OK this is my story..<BR/>~ When I was walking in the library, I see the name, and I try some pages and it cough my whole attention. The book is about a boy that does all what it takes to save or go see his sister. To me, the the "Last book in the universe" is not really a book. Why do I say that? Well, to find out why I say that, why don't you take a look and read it?<BR/>Here's a tip when you finish reading the book:<BR/>~When you finish, please read the 1 chapter...*Smile*...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    WIERD BUT COOL

    I liked The Last Book in the Universe,because a kid named Spaz does all he can to save his little sister. He first is sent to rob a guy named writer, he decides not to rob him and they become good friends. They travel through many cities the forbiden kingdom of Eden and also run into many different gangs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Good Book

    this is one of few books i have read and it is my favorite so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    okay the weekend before i bought this book, i had saw the freak and the mighty for the very first time, 'it was on cable'. and i seriously cried at the end. it was just such a moving story that had such wisdom in it, in a strange way i was proud of the movie even though i didnt make it, obviously. but the fact that we have people who understand things that explain in movies or books of this value made me so happy....anyways there was this book drive at my school and i found this book on a selve and the first thing i noticed was the title, it intrigued me. i read a few lines in the first chapter and i knew i had to get the book '!!!!' It only took me one afternoon to finish it and i literaly was gonna cry. i mean i could fel teh water works. i was so happy about how it ened, the way things 'morphed'...i loved how author showed you, or rather let you feel and imagine the transition Spaz, the main character, went through. I JUST LOVE THIS BOOK...and the funny part is i didnt realize the author of this book was ALSO the auother of the freak and the mighty. I WAS OVERLY PLEASED. All i know for certain is YOU MUST GET THIS BOOK. YOU HAVE TO, you wont be dissapointed, i promise. if you enjoy books that allow you to use your imagination to the fullest and let you ponder about wise words within them, THEN LIKE I SAID, GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *smiles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3