BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Boy: Mickey Mantle and the End of America's Childhood

Average Rating 3.5
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

First, let me say thanks to B&N for the good book, I am enjoying it & having no problems as of yet. I really like this new "enhanced" idea. Technology marches on! Now to the other reviews... I am appalled at what I am seeing here! Are you all so stuck in your entitlemen...
First, let me say thanks to B&N for the good book, I am enjoying it & having no problems as of yet. I really like this new "enhanced" idea. Technology marches on! Now to the other reviews... I am appalled at what I am seeing here! Are you all so stuck in your entitlement mind sets that you whine that your "free gift" isn't good enough? Welcome to the real world! You purchased the e-reader you wanted. B&N generously gives out a free book every Friday. This friday they gave out TWO. One was for the NookColor in a format only available on that device. That is not discrimination folks. It's called Business, giving a taste of the new format available to those that are able to use it. Would you call it discrimination if your auto dealership was giving a free bed liner with the purchase of a pick-up truck, but you bought a car so they wouldn't give you the bed liner?. Gee, I live more than an hour away from the nearest B&N store, it must be discrimination that makes it so I can't get my free cookie with my frappuccino! I think a little more gratitude & a whole lot less attitude is in order! God bless you B&N for being involved in the wonderful free enterprise system that makes this country strong.

posted by Deetsy on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Usless

The item cannot be downloaded or viewed on my Nook which is the regular nook. Thanks for a free book I cannot use way to go Barnes & Noble.

posted by Kelly_Krew_Dad on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 374 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Wow!

    First, let me say thanks to B&N for the good book, I am enjoying it & having no problems as of yet. I really like this new "enhanced" idea. Technology marches on! Now to the other reviews... I am appalled at what I am seeing here! Are you all so stuck in your entitlement mind sets that you whine that your "free gift" isn't good enough? Welcome to the real world! You purchased the e-reader you wanted. B&N generously gives out a free book every Friday. This friday they gave out TWO. One was for the NookColor in a format only available on that device. That is not discrimination folks. It's called Business, giving a taste of the new format available to those that are able to use it. Would you call it discrimination if your auto dealership was giving a free bed liner with the purchase of a pick-up truck, but you bought a car so they wouldn't give you the bed liner?. Gee, I live more than an hour away from the nearest B&N store, it must be discrimination that makes it so I can't get my free cookie with my frappuccino! I think a little more gratitude & a whole lot less attitude is in order! God bless you B&N for being involved in the wonderful free enterprise system that makes this country strong.

    40 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Usless

    The item cannot be downloaded or viewed on my Nook which is the regular nook. Thanks for a free book I cannot use way to go Barnes & Noble.

    18 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    A must read for Mantle fans

    What a great read. It's a complex portrait of a complex man. Jane Leavy was (and still is so far as I can tell) a huge fan of the Mick, and her love for him set her on a quest to understand him and the wreck he became in later life. It's a shame that SI and The Daily News choose to excerpt the negative (more sensationalistic) portions of the book, making it seem unbalanced. Leavy's portrait in no way detracts from Mantle's accomplishments, and and she helps you realized that they were even more amazing given the physical and psychological damage that he suffered.
    It's a terrific follow-up to her Koufax book. Both show deep knowledge of baseball and remarkable literary talent.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Useless on Nook Color

    Thanks for nothing B&N. If your going to offer something to folks, then how about you actually make sure it actually works? All I see is the book icon and when I click on it I get an internal error complaining about the wrong file type. When I try and download using Shop and searching for the author, it wants to charge me $12.99. What a joke.

    9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredibly well-researched!

    Even life-long Mantle fans will find some new insights as well as the familiar lore. A sympathetic yet no-holds-barred biography of the greatest ball player that ever lived, and his struggles on and off the field. A must for all baseball fans... a wonderful gift for any New York Yankees fan. Do get the enhanced version if possible, the extra videos are very nice to have.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    A Very Boring book

    Mantle was one of my childhood heroes. I grew up in New York watching him play. I bought this book with the expectation that it would be truly about Mantle and his life with the Yankees--and that the author would focus on the role of Mantle and of the Yankees of the 1949-64 era. But there is in fact very little about Mantle and his experiences on the Yankees. We are treated to long boring tangents such as the search for the little boy who retrieved Mantle's tape measure home run in DC or scientific observations on his power hitting batting stance. Not much on the home run race with Maris. But excellent writing

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    unable to recommend

    took awhile to download, but won't pull-up to read.

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Try - reading the book.

    I didn't know one could review a book one hasn't read. What's next - reviews of movies - before they're released?

    Once i've finished this, I'll post a review. of what I read.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Greatness?

    This is a biography of New York Yankee Mickey Mantle. I'm not exactly sure how to review it so I will just tell you my feelings. I am an avid baseball fan - mostly the Baltimore Orioles therefore, you do hear about the dreaded Yankees. So I really expected to hear more about baseball, but what I read was basically about injures and inappropriate behavior by Mantle and his teammates. He couldn't seem gather his excellence from the field and continue it in his private life. The first few chapters were interesting, but then it just seemed to be the same over and over - play great, injury, bad behavior, repeat. I guess hearing the life of another pro player who just died, there was a great contrast - maybe Mantle was a great player who was denied his full potential by an early injury, but the injury wasn't what stopped him from being a great man.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Disappointed.....

    I don't have a NC so I cannot get the Free Friday Book. This doesn't make me want to go out and buy a Nook Color, if this is the goal of offering it exclusively on NC. I spend a decent amount of money on Nook Books and look forward to my Free Friday Book. ON top of not being able to play Audible Titles on my Nook 3G/WiFi do I have this kind of discrimination to look forward to in the future? Kindle is looking Good. Sorry Jane, unfortunately you didn't get reviews pertaining to your work due to this blunder.

    5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    worse than free

    Have had nook two yrs and give upon free friday..nothing worth free or buying ---get it together b and n

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No way to download?

    Glitch? Try again B@N

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Thanks for wasting my time!

    I downloaded this, which took a long time, to my color nook. When it was done I clicked the read button and all I get is the spinning loading icon! I never actually got to see the , whuich really sounds awesome, and I really was a big fan back in the day of this particular M&M boy. Any ideas as to what went wrong? Not up to the usual Barnes and Nobles standard!

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Reviews are for readers...

    ....and I haven't read The Last Boy but will. Booknut's one star will be averaged off to three with my 5 star rating. I loved The Mick...one of my most precious possession is a ball he signed and numbered for his 356th homerun he hit in 1961. If sports commentator Keith Olbermann's review praises this work, that's what will encourage me to buy this book...not someone who doesn't want to learn the truth about a flawed human being who nevertheless is an American Hero.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    FREE??????

    Since when does a free book cost $12

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    The Defacing of a Nation

    Our great nation has certainly had its share of heroes and idols who helped to make it into what it is today. George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, John F Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Babe Ruth, Elvis, Mohammad Ali, Marilyn Monroe and Tiger Woods to name just a few. The name of Mickey Mantle definitely belongs in that group.

    America needs heroes. Heroes inspire us and give us hope. Heroes make us feel good about our country and about ourselves. Why then, do authors continue to deface our heroes by looking for and proudly proclaiming their weaknesses for all to see. almost as a form of public shame and humiliation? We're all human. We all have weaknesses. Nobody's perfect. not even our heroes.

    These heroes were all great because they excelled in their respective fields and established an inspiring personal connection with an entire nation. Yet, over the years, we've learned that each of them had their own shortcomings, as we all do in our personal lives. Their personal shortcomings did not diminish their great accomplishments. Learning of those shortcomings has not reversed the course of history that these people set. These great people were, still are, and will always be, true American heroes.

    Jane Leavy's recent book "The Last Boy" attempts to deface one of America's most popular sports icons, Mickey Mantle. The focus of the book is on Mickey's alcoholism and its negative side effects on his life, fans, friends, family and marriage. The stories came from people's memories of events that allegedly happened between 20 and 60+ years ago. Are the memories correct? Are the stories true? Due to the imperfect nature of human memory, I seriously doubt that all the stories are accurate. And, due to the nature of human ego, some stories were probably even exaggerated.

    Despite what Leavy writes, Mickey did not become an alcoholic until some years after he retired from baseball in 1969. Alcoholism controlled his life from then until 1994 when he came to the stark realization that his way of life was unacceptable and needed to change. That's when he voluntarily entered the Betty Ford Clinic. When he stepped out of that clinic in May of 1994, he was a new man. A man who now understood his importance to baseball fans. A man who now understood is place in baseball. A man who now had a new appreciation for life. A man who was finally at peace with himself and his past. He was truly happy for the first time in his life. Somehow, that very important period, from his release from the Betty Ford clinic until he became sick with cancer (maybe the most important period of Mickey's life), was left out of Leavy's book. Such omission makes it clear that her purpose was to exploit the darkness within the man and not the goodness within him.

    In the end, Mickey's life positively influenced a thousand times more lives than it may have negatively influenced. Isn't that the true measure of a person's life? Why then, are there those who continue to seek to diminish, deface and disrespect our American heroes? If it makes those authors feel more important and powerful or gives them financial gain, then so be it. It's a free country and a great country made great by the heroes they so eloquently dismantle with their well spun words. But, in my opinion, defacing these heroes is the same as defacing America.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Take a pass

    Author is more interested in telling her own story... using The Mick as a vehicle for an autobiography... read only if you care at which AC hotel the author's mother lost her viginity!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A deeper glimpse into The Mick

    A great read that delves deeper than just the stats of The Mick. Jane Levy takes monumental moments from Mantle's career and tells how it shaped the man. Not your typical year by year book focusing only on the outstanding statistical achievements of Mantle's career, but a boom that focuses in the flaud activity of Mantle off the field. A book that goes into what could have been if Mantle had taken better care of himself. It is still amazing what Mantle achieved while battling his many demons.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    What a tragic tale

    Good reading! Becoming a baseball fan shortly after he retired, I learned much about Mickey, not all flattering. It helped that I was able to recognize so many names and places in the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read; well researched and well written.

    This is a great biography of the Mick. You want to know what he was really like, what he went through in his life, the real Mick? Then read this book. Too many of the other biographies of this great baseball player make him seem like some kind of god. It turns out, despite the denials in the last days of his life, that he truly was a hero, though a flawed hero at that, but aren't we all? The libraries are full of biographies of baseball gods, but it is much easier to be a god, than a hero, and few books illustrate that better than "The Last Boy."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 374 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19