Customer Reviews for

The Last Bride in Ballymuir

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

interesting look at the controversy that has torn Ireland and Northern Ireland apart

After spending the last fourteen years in prison as a terrorist convicted of killing children and a garda, an amnesty program frees Michael Kilbride from his incarceration. With no place to go as his parents want nothing to do with Michael the convicted terrorist, he mo...
After spending the last fourteen years in prison as a terrorist convicted of killing children and a garda, an amnesty program frees Michael Kilbride from his incarceration. With no place to go as his parents want nothing to do with Michael the convicted terrorist, he moves in with his sister Vi, an artist to Ballymuir, Ireland. Michael takes a walk and sees a woman lifting rocks. He joins her learning that Kylie O¿Shea is a schoolteacher at the local Irish elementary school. Unable to resist, Michael kisses Kylie goodbye. Vi informs him that Kylie is the daughter of a con artist spending time in prison. Michael and Kylie begin seeing each other, but she cannot deal with his pariah status until he is accused of murder. Knowing she loves him, Kylie risks all she has worked to achieve in Ballymuir for the sake of her beloved. Though the subplot focused on a terrorist from Michael¿s past seems weak; the tale provides an interesting look at the controversy that has torn Ireland and Northern Ireland apart. Readers see deeply into the distrusts of everyone towards one another through the efforts of two people simply seeking a place together. Michael and Kylie are a delightful duo and Vi makes a thundering secondary character deserving of her own novel. Readers will not believe that THE LAST BRIDE IN BALLYMUIR is Dorien Kelly¿s debut novel and will be looking forward to more novels from this series of contemporary romances featuring foreign locations. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Could not read

It was a blank nook of just white pages.

posted by 10371068 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting look at the controversy that has torn Ireland and Northern Ireland apart

    After spending the last fourteen years in prison as a terrorist convicted of killing children and a garda, an amnesty program frees Michael Kilbride from his incarceration. With no place to go as his parents want nothing to do with Michael the convicted terrorist, he moves in with his sister Vi, an artist to Ballymuir, Ireland. Michael takes a walk and sees a woman lifting rocks. He joins her learning that Kylie O¿Shea is a schoolteacher at the local Irish elementary school. Unable to resist, Michael kisses Kylie goodbye. Vi informs him that Kylie is the daughter of a con artist spending time in prison. Michael and Kylie begin seeing each other, but she cannot deal with his pariah status until he is accused of murder. Knowing she loves him, Kylie risks all she has worked to achieve in Ballymuir for the sake of her beloved. Though the subplot focused on a terrorist from Michael¿s past seems weak; the tale provides an interesting look at the controversy that has torn Ireland and Northern Ireland apart. Readers see deeply into the distrusts of everyone towards one another through the efforts of two people simply seeking a place together. Michael and Kylie are a delightful duo and Vi makes a thundering secondary character deserving of her own novel. Readers will not believe that THE LAST BRIDE IN BALLYMUIR is Dorien Kelly¿s debut novel and will be looking forward to more novels from this series of contemporary romances featuring foreign locations. Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Sweet and hot Irish love

    Michael and Kylie's story is sweet and sexy. Both have had a rough upbringing but work things through together as they fall in love. Definitely recommend this Irish love story.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Awesome..................

    The imperfections of love---family --- romance and justice. Great characters. Great story. Well written. Kudos to Dorien Kelly.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Liked it

    Good read

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    A richly textured romance

    I loved this book. I read it in 3 days, then turned back to page one and read it again. The characters are so alive, with such deep scars, and the way Michael and Kylie reach for each other is so poignant, I didn't want to leave them behind. Michael is one of the best heroes I've ever read, with flaws and no excuses for past mistakes, and Kylie is the perfect match for him. The Irish setting only adds to the appeal. This is a perfect, get away from it all romance.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Could not read

    It was a blank nook of just white pages.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I loved this book. The relationship between Michael and Kylie w

    I loved this book. The relationship between Michael and Kylie was realistic with no beating around the bush. However, I do wish Kylie would have told the town what happened to her when she was 18 and that Gerry had not helped her. I would have liked to see Gerry and Evie put in their place. how did Evie know about Rourke's murder; that was never mentioned. My only disappointment was the ending. That's what it did, just end. There was no closure with Michael and his mother, you don't know how they were received in Ballymuir, and did the police realize he was imprisoned falsely for the past 14 years.

    With that said, I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series and hoping Michael and Kylie will be mentioned throughout.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Loved it

    What a book...Read it in a couple of days. Loved the characters and how they developed and grew to come together through it all.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Last Bride in Ballymuir

    I rarely read romance novels, but in the case of Dorien Kelly's 'The Last Bride of Ballymuir,' I made an exception. To my great joy I found a tale of haunting truth told honestly, a message of hope forged into being, where none should exist, and a new writer of whom I shall expect much. The lion's share of the action in this tale is internal: that of the struggle of its two main characters. Both seek to overcome reputations earned, rightly or wrongly, find the courage to stand for themselves, one another, and the right to eek out a bit of happiness in a small town which holds staunchly to its quirky ways. Michael Kilbride's evolution throughout this novel is nothing short of heartwrenching. He is a 'throw away' child who must learn not to give up on himself. Kylie O'Shea, in classic Irish form, is fighting the ghost of a past not of her making. She is a true heroine, willing the carry the cross of her shame, rather than run from her home. One could compare this work the the epic Irish classic 'Deirdre of the Sorrows,' wherein two lovers must run the risk of tearing apart the very fabric of thier lives for the hope of a love that will stand for all time. Dorien Kelly's Ireland is the one I remember, the one I ache for, and through her writing, the one I can find myself standing upon once more. Only twice have I read a novel in which I have missed the characters for days afterwards. The Last Bride in Ballymuir is one of those two. I sense, the next two in Kelly's triolgy will do likewise. Sean OTuathal Writer, Poet, Literature Teacher

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Excellent romance story

    This book was easy-to-read, filled with adventure and romance. There were many well-developed characters. I enjoyed this book very much and am sure other readers will too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down, and read it

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down, and read it in just a couple of days (738 pages). The character development of Michael, Kylie and Vi was very well done and really kept my interest. I felt their hopelessness, hopefulness, anger, love - just so many emotions. I felt like I was right there with them in that little Irish town, and wanted more than once to give some of those towns people a good shake. I'm looking forward to the next 2 books in this series. I can definitely recommend this story. You should give it a try.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    really liked it

    Good story line, in-depth , well thought out characters. I will definately read more of this authors work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Last Bride in Ballymuir

    I never read romance novels, but in the case of Dorien Kelly's 'The Last Bride of Ballymuir,' I made an exception. To my great joy I found a tale of haunting truth told honestly, a message of hope forged into being, where none should exist, and a new writer of whom I shall expect much. The lion's share of the action in this tale is internal: that of the struggle of its two main characters. Both seek to overcome reputations earned, rightly or wrongly, find the courage to stand for themselves, one another, and the right to eek out a bit of happiness in a small town which holds staunchly to its quirky ways. Michael Kilbride's evolution throughout this novel is nothing short of heartwrenching. He is a 'throw away' child who must learn not to give up on himself. Kylie O'Shea, in classic Irish form, is fighting the ghost of a past not of her making. She is a true heroine, willing the carry the cross of her shame, rather than run from her home. One could compare this work the the epic Irish classic 'Deirdre of the Sorrows,' wherein two lovers must run the risk of tearing apart the very fabric of thier lives for the hope of a love that will stand for all time. Dorien Kelly's Ireland is the one I remember, the one I ache for, and through her writing, the one I can find myself standing upon once more. Only twice have I read a novel in which I have missed the characters for days afterwards. The Last Bride in Ballymuir is one of those two. I sense, the next two in Kelly's triolgy will do likewise. Sean OTuathal Writer, Poet, Literature Teacher

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good story great characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Good

    741 pages. A good read with very well developed characters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Fantastic story

    Totally fell in love with this story like the main characters fell in love with each other...must read book 2 & 3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    really good Irish story!

    I loved this story! I thought the characters developed really well. I wanted to be friends with all of them! The Irish setting was wonderful with the descriptions of the village, and the accents were on point. Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    An Irish tale

    I really enjoyed this story. A good modern Irish tale of love. conflict, trouble, and family. Makes me want to take a trip to Ireland. The next two books in this series are on my wish list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    READ!!! READ!!! READ!!!

    Oh my God!!! One of the best books I've ever read!! Nice, Long Love Story I think the length of the book was like 7 hundred something(: A must read. Completely recommended(;

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Book

    Unable to read for some reason when the book was dowloaded it was just a lot of plain white blocks??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8