Customer Reviews for

Last Call

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    The Best Book I've Read This Year

    I've read at least 40 books so far this year and this one was by far the most powerful of them all. The author tells a story of a man who decides to take control of his life upon learning he has terminal cancer. The man searches for a meaning to his remaining days and insight into what comes after death when a chance meeting changes everything. An unlikely romance soon forms between the unlikeliest of characters. The author brings to light how dire circumstances can bring about the most unlikely of situations. I found the story to be thrilling, funny, and most important of all, mesmerizing. I was lucky to have started this book on a weekend so that I had the time necessary to read the book from start to finish. This is a must read for anyone looking for an amusing and thrilling story that will keep you entertained. A+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    You Don't Have To Be A Woman To Love It

    My wife's book group was reading this and she thought I might like it because my father is Scottish and there's some references to that cultural heritage in the story. Anyway, the book was hilarious and charming and well worth the time (though you can easily read it in a couple days). I wanted it to last longer. It will make a wonderful movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Sweet and Funny

    A very humorous romance with terrific characters and great lines that will make a wonderful movie. Easy to read in a weekend. Contains some fun Scottish lore. This book will make you smile (and cry at the end).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    A MUST READ

    I fell in love with Laura Pedersen after reading Beginner's Luck. After reading Last Call, I feel in love with her writing all over again. She's an amazing writer whose stories are fantastically crafted. Her characters are amazing and her quotes will be embedded in your memory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Lovely story with an amazing ending!

    I hate to sound like the old 'Cats' commercial -- I laughed and I cried -- but that's what happened. Sometimes only a page apart. Not being religious, a story starring a nun wouldn't normally interest me, but I soon decided that it didn't matter. Rosamond (the nun) is searching for meaning and struggling to make choices the same way as everyone else, whether it's related to work, love, or family. Another character, Diana, nicely portrays the challenges of being a single mother, especially to a son. The sister worried about inheriting her father's money is unfortunately all too true in many cases. I would have liked to know more about the lives of all the characters before we meet them. There are a few lines here and there explaining how they were raised. Perhaps a prequel is in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Another Casablanca!

    My friend brought an advance copy of this book on our vacation because she is reviewing it for work. I read it when she was finished and WOW! Honestly, I had to lie down for 20 minutes when it ended. The story isn't like Casablanca, but it's funny and deeply moving, and leaves you with that same feeling that you've experienced something wonderful. Sure to be a classic right up there with 'Terms of Endearment' and 'Bridges of Madison County.' And I'm convinced my own mother was the model for the character of Diana, another champion worrier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    My Favorite Book!

    An incredible tale about love, death and miracles that somehow also manages to be hilarious, heartfelt, and upbeat. The ending was earth shattering. Went through so fast to find out what happened that now I'm starting again. (And looking forward to it!) A MUST READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    The Hidden Prophecy-Chapter One┬┐Part Three

    Onekit tiptoed through the tall grass behind his brothers and sisters as they make their way into Sharpblood camp. Blackkit, the one leading the kits, stopped in front of the bush they all had crawled in earlier. "Wait here." Blackkit ordered and crwled in the bush. "I'm scared." Frostkit whined. "Me too." Ravenkit murmured. "I'm not." Cinderkit mewed. "You have to, Cinderkit!" Onekit squealed. "I do?" Cinderkit asked curiously. Onekit opened his mouth, but Blackkit came out from the bushes. "No one in sight." He reported and ran in camp. "Blackkit!" Onekit yelled and ran after him. Frostkit, Cinderkit, and Ravenkit followed him. "Everything's fine!" He called out. Suddenly, something black came out from one of the Sharpblood dens and caught Blackkit from the muzzle. Blackkit shrieked in terror as the black figure looked at the rest of the kits. He was wearing a white collar and he has red claw marks all over him...it's one of the cats from Sharpblood! Onekit flattened his ears in fear. 'We need to go back, now!' He thought. Another black figure came out. "Tooth, what is thi- kits!" He shrieked and ran over to Cinderkit. More figures surrounded Onekit and his littermates. "What is going on?" The largest figure of them all stepped out. He was just like everyone else except of his torn ear and brown underbelly. "Sharp!" Tooth, one of the cats who has Blackkit, exclaimed. "Look what we found!" Sharp looked at the kits but he stared at Onekit. "Take them all in the hole." Sharp ordered them. Tooth carried Blackkit while three figures surrounded Frostkit, Ravenkit, and Cinderkit and carries them. One of the Sharpblood cats was about to carry Onekit, but Sharp stepped in. "Hmm...you look just like a cat...a familiar cat...Tigertail!" He exclaimed. Onekit blinked. 'Sharp killed Tigertail!' Sharp bite down on Onekit's scruff. "I'll take him to my place." He ordered and walks away. Onekit looked at his littermates screaming and squealing in fear and terror as they were being carried away. As Sharp found a good place, far away from Sharpblood, he set the kit down. "Now tell me," he whispered. "Will you join Sharpblood?" Onekit looked at Sharp, eyes wide. If he said yes, he will become evil and his mother will be so mad at him. If he said no, ... Onekit took steps back from Sharp and turned and tried to ran away, but Sharp was as fast as lightning to catch him and pin him to the ground. "Will you join?!" He snarled. Onekit trembled under his claw. "I don't know!" Onekit yelled. "Fine." Sharp grabbed him by the scruff and take him back to Sharpblood camp. Tooth came in front. "What did he said?" He asked. "He has no answer, so we are throwing him in the hole. Take him there." Sharp ordered and passed the kit to Tooth. "Fang, Shatter, Teeth, and Torchure will guard the hole for tonight." Sharp added. Four cats came out and circled a small hole in the corner of the camp. Tooth padded over t the hole and threw Onekit in there. Onekit could feel the cold ground hitting his chest hard. 'Blackkit? Frostkit?' He looked around, but sees no one. 'This is all Blackkit's fault! If he didn't have the idea, we will never be here! I will still be in the den with mommy...mommy! She'll kill me!' Onekit squealed and scraped his paws on the hole ground. 'I want to get out of here!' Author's note: end of Chapter 1. Chapter 2 will begin tomorrow. -Flamepaw, Medicine Cat of Leafclan ((if you want to join, it is at 'perserverance' all results.))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1