Customer Reviews for

Last Chance Beauty Queen (Last Chance Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Love South Carolina and the any time an author uses it as a back drop and some of the characteristcis of the south in their book it is bound to be good. The series of Last Chance meets that criteria. The adventures of the heroines and heros are fun to follow, you laugh, cry, and get frustrtated with them as they wind their way through Last Chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forward seeking job security is the number one priority for Caro

    Forward seeking job security is the number one priority for Caroline “Rocky” Rhodes not back pedaling to her fifteen minutes of beauty queen fame. She is moving up the ladder in her office with sights set on a big move coming soon but there is one huge hurdle to overcome. Rocky has to convince her daddy to give up his miniature golf course to Lord Hugh deBracy to have his factory built and everything will be coming up roses.

    Problem is Rocky’s father is not interested in giving up Golfing for God to anyone especially a foreigner. Hugh needs that land to build a factory that will help the small town but no one will budge and Hugh is as determined to have it as Rocky is to not let him get it. Rocky is fascinated by Hugh’s ability to charm and woo all the people in this small, quirky town and she is even more driven to control the urge she has to find out if his lips are as sweet to kiss, as they are when he talks. Being manipulated by everyone in town to push their agenda Rocky knows what she is willing to accomplish and what she will give up for the sake of a career. Hugh must do the honorable thing for his family and at times, the burden is more than he can bear. Should he go with his heart or listen to his pocketbook?

    With the town involved in her life, too many women gossiping, and predictions of fate looming, Rocky is about to show everyone that this beauty queen is tougher than the rest. There may be some angels hovering over looking and Rocky knows her prayers always are answered some way or another.

    Hope Ramsay provides the calm of a small town mixed in with the whimsy of love all rolled into one fabulous read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Read

    Hugh Debracy, an English Baron, comes to Last Chance, South Carolina to try to complete a deal that his partner started before he disappeared. He needs to try to convince the owner of Golfing For God to sell him his property so that he can build his textile plant. Seems the land has perfect road and rail access, but the owner is not selling. Enter Caroline “Rocky” Rhodes, former Last Chance Watermelon Queen, aide to U.S. Senator Rupert Warren and daughter of the owner of Golfing For God. The Senator needs this factory built and expects Rocky to make it happen.

    Rocky doesn’t come home to Last Chance often and coming home while the Watermelon Festival is going on turns this trip into quite a crazy return. She is supposed to be working for the Senator, but her friends and family expect her take part in the festival as a former Watermelon Queen, wearing the green and pink dress, riding on a float in the parade and even taking part in a kissing booth. She really wants to be promoted to the Senator’s Washington Office and none of these shenanigans are going to help her land the job.

    Dollycas’s Thoughts
    I broke my own rule, this is the third book in this series and I read it without reading the previous two installments and you know what, it didn’t matter. This book can definitely read as a stand alone. This is Rocky’s story. Home At Last Chance is her brother Tulane’s story and Welcome to Last Chance starts off the series with their brother Clay’s story.

    This is a wild crazy story full of wild and crazy characters and it was a splendid, fun and a very entertaining read. The Sorrowful Angel added a unique element to the story that at first I was confused by, but in the end it all came together.

    Ruby Rhodes, Rocky’s mom runs the local beauty parlor, and you know how hairdresser’s know everyone secrets, that is definitely the case here. She is also the typical mother than can get her kids do anything she asks, even her oldest son, Stone, the local sheriff.

    There is also a fourth book in the works, Last Chance Christmas. I plan to read the first two books before that one is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    good series

    really funny and cute , enjoyed the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I thought the lead couple was a good pairing. The townspeople we

    I thought the lead couple was a good pairing. The townspeople were eccentric folks. Hugh was such a sweet guy and the description of his smile was well described. Over the book had a cute plot.

    Caroline was definitely a determined women. Ithought the author did a wonderful job in making Caroline appear insecure. I liked that the author also offered some southern dialect. I never get tired to read books that provide some form of dialect. The dialect helps provide some backgroup infornation of the setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I think Hope Ramsay is a wonderful writer and I loved all of her

    I think Hope Ramsay is a wonderful writer and I loved all of her books so far and am looking forward for her new one coming September, which seems so far away. Once you start reading you don't want to put the book down. Thanks so much for the enjoyment and I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Last Chance Beauty Queen by Hope Ramsay

    Siroco Caroline "Rocky" Rhodes has left her former beauty queen days as a Watermelon Queen of Last Chance behind her. She's an administrative assistant for the Senator from South Carolina and she has aspirations to make it Washington D.C. All of her hopes and dreams rest on this one deal involving Last Chance and her family's land, that has the infamous mini-golf course Golfing for God on it. Rocky's problem is two-fold. No matter how embarrassed she is about her daddy being able to talk to angels or the golfing course, the Rhodes stick together when it comes to keeping the land and the golf course. On the other hand, Lord Woolham, or Hugh DeBracy is as stubborn as Rocky on getting the land to construct a factory that would save his fortunes and his need to have to marry a wealthy woman, and the Senator has told Rocky to help Hugh get what he needs and to smooth his way. The attraction that just happens between them is just icing on the cake. Especially since they receive differing fortunes/advice from the matchmaker and their attraction is hard for them to resist, even knowing the other is the enemy.


    This is the third book in the Last Chance installment in the Christian/Inspirational romance series and it's a really good book. We get more back history about what really happened between Bubba and Rocky and we also learned more about the sorrowful angel. I loved the chemistry between Rocky and Hugh. It was hot and you can see how even though they fought it, they were fighting a losing battle. The pairing of Rocky and the Baron was great. It took them a while to figure things out, but they managed in the end. There are also lots of laugh out loud moments in this book, which I really liked. The only thing I think that was left unresolved was about Rocky going to Washington D.C. and how she and Hugh would work it out. That left me a little confused. But I'm really looking forward to Stone's book and maybe a book about Dash and Hettie. I'm not a Christian romance reader at all, but I'm hooked to this series. That's got to tell you how good it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc

    Last Chance Beauty Queen by Hope Ramsay
    caroline has decided to accompany the english man to her hometown of Last Chance so he
    can see for himself that her father will never sell the land that he wants to
    build a factory on. It also has the mini putt golf course, Golfing for God, although
    not open as the storms closed it down last year. When she calls her mom to enlist her help
    she is informed there will be an anniversary float of the watermelon queens from
    previous years and that she will be on it.
    She meets with her girl friend who informs her that the chicken plant is taking short
    cuts and safety issues are not being followed properly.
    caroline does some investigating on her own about who is buying up all the land in town.
    Cissy tells her he's going to marry a woman back home as he has no money and is highly
    mortgaged. She's not sure she can believe Cissy.
    As she tries to solve everybody's problems it's very hilarious in what happens next and
    just when you think nothing else could possibly go wrong, it does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    jice

    i liked the book. a little slow at first then it got better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Love it!

    I love the book. I love th series. And I love the author. Great work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1