Customer Reviews for

Last Chance Proposal (Entangled Bliss)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Happy release day to Barbara DeLeo! Last Chance Proposal is the

    Happy release day to Barbara DeLeo! Last Chance Proposal is the perfect book for this holiday season and takes place in the beautiful New Zealand. It made me want to hop on a plane and experience a Christmas in the summer time.
    I just loved how family oriented this story was and how touched I was by the father, Cy’s, love for his son, Jonty. The way Cy was described as looking at his son and caring for him touched my heart and plastered a smile on my face.
    I won’t lie though, when the story first started, I was a little put off by the strange request Cy had for his childhood friend, Ellie, but as I read on, I began to appreciate the desperate measures he would take for Jonty. I had admiration for Ellie and her willingness to put her life on hold for the man who broke her heart so many years beforehand.
    There were moments I felt I was frustrated over Cy’s actions just as much as Ellie was. Sometimes I wanted nothing more than to reach into the pages and shake him! Luckily, he finally came to his senses. :)
    The best way I can describe Cy and Ellie’s relationship would be a game of tug of war. While they were both hesitant and cautious, they couldn’t resist the temptation and began to let their guard down. I surely tested my patience, but in the end, it was so worth it. Such a happy ending for all involved. Truly a Christmas to remember for Ellie, Cy, and Jonty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    A Wonderful and heartwarming story.  Couldn't put this book down

    A Wonderful and heartwarming story.  Couldn't put this book down until I finished it.  Loveable characters and great dialogue.  I would 
    recommend this author and story to everyone who enjoys great romance stories.  I'm looking forward to reading more by Barbara Deleo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! From the wonderful setting of New

    I really enjoyed this book! From the wonderful setting of New Zealand and all the different terminology to thinking about how Christmas is spent in summer. The characters were intriguing and the storyline had a bit of everything. Second chance, marriage of convenience, single dad, cute kid and of course tons of hurt feelings and misunderstandings. Really well written and the story moves along at a great pace. I highly recommend this for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cy returns home to New Zealand with his son Jonty, to find a wif

    Cy returns home to New Zealand with his son Jonty, to find a wife, to gain custody of his son. He wants to marry Ellie, a childhood friend, for a marriage of convenience.This stirs up old feeling they need to solve. I really enjoyed the dialogue between these two. The description of New Zealand was wonderful. It was interesting on Christmas celebrations. Highly recommend this book this holiday season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Check out this one!

    This book was captivating and sweet. It was just too short. I wanted it to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Recommend

    It was a short but fun read. Worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    .

    I could not finish the book. The characters were boring and uncompatable. This one was not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So, last night I finished Last Chance Proposal by Barbara DeLeo.

    So, last night I finished Last Chance Proposal by Barbara DeLeo. I had to really think on my feelings about this book. Normally when I read a Bliss book I usually have a warm and fuzzy feeling afterwards, but I didn't get that. Don't get me wrong, it was a good read, but didn't have that heart melting that I was looking for. 

    I know that second chance romances are not always the easiest to present and can be a bit a challenging. However, I didn't really feel that Cy Hathaway or Ellie Jacobs really wanted to work. Usually, you feel that one has a strong pull to be with the other and will do anything to get back together with the other. No, Cy needed to find a wife so he could get custody of his son Jonty and he figure that Ellie would be a good choice, because they once had a connection. I know that's how marriage of convenience works in stories, but I kind wish their was a little more chemistry than what was present.

    I didn't really feel a strong romantic connection between Cy and Ellie. Then you have Jonty who has selective mutism, which adds a little more complication to the story. So, you have a lot of themes going on in the story: custody issues, marriage of convenience, second chance love, and a past issue that both haven't come to terms. That's a lot to take into a story. I might have felt a bit overwhelm with the themes that were in the story. Bottom line: It's not a bad story. I liked it and the ending did give me a happy feeling. However, feeling that Cy and Ellie really had feelings for each other might be a challenge for me to believe. So, if you are looking for something like this, you might give Last Chance Proposal a try.

    Copy provided by publisher

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    (3 1/2 stars, rounding up) Ultimately I enjoyed Last Chance Pro

    (3 1/2 stars, rounding up)

    Ultimately I enjoyed Last Chance Proposal, though at times the main characters drove me crazy. I understand where Cy is coming from--his son is autistic, he's involved in a custody battle with his in-laws--he absolutely needs to keep his priorities straight, and priority number one needs to be Jonty. However, he spent much of the novel being grossly unfair to Ellie. He gave off mixed signals left and right, totally reversing things he had done the day before once he removed himself from temptation and had time to think things over again.




    Frustrating. I'm not sure I would have stuck with him. Though she did a fair bit of waffling herself--she had definite reasons for insisting she'd never have children, but it really felt like she could have faced reality on that point sooner. She eventually got there, though, and with less mental drama than Cy.




    All's well that ends well, however, and there is a satisfyingly good ending here. Before you get to that point, the relationship between autistic Jonty and Ellie's nephew Louis is one of my favorite parts of the book. Louis has got to be one of the sweetest preteens on the planet, and the way Jonty opens up to him really makes the novel.




    This was my first book by Ms. DeLeo, but it won't be my last. This was a sweet, feel-good romance with a slight holiday theme (the "moment of truth" event is on New Year's).




    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Bland

    I found this book disappointing, interesting premise but neurotic characters and a boring romance. Its main attraction was in picturing Chris Hemsworth as Cy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Are you looking for a little romance? Then Last Chance Proposal

    Are you looking for a little romance? Then Last Chance Proposal is the perfect holiday read! Barbara DeLeo brings a nice pleasant twist to the tradition romance story.
    Maybe it was reading about a romance set in the warm Christmas season in New Zealand from the frigid land of Chicago, but I got lost in the story of Cy and Ellie.
    The setting is perfect. The characters are likable. The book is definitely one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! one minute I was crying, the next I was smil

    I loved this book! one minute I was crying, the next I was smiling. This book makes you think about how life troubles can affect the children around us. It also shows us how they can bounce back with love and support. This book has it all. I look forward to reading more books by Barbara DeLeo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Sweet Romantic Tale Set in New Zealand! Cy Hathaway left New

    Sweet Romantic Tale Set in New Zealand!




    Cy Hathaway left New Zealand suddenly and without an explanation many years ago. In so doing, he left his best friend and first love, Ellie Jacobs, bereft. She has since moved on to a successful career. 




    Now Cy is facing a custody battle with his son's grandparents and he desperately needs Ellie's help. Can she put aside her career and her feelings to help him? Does she even want to? 




    I loved the setting in New Zealand and, through Barbara's story-telling, learned about Christmas customs there. 




    This was an enjoyable romantic read.




    3 1/2 stars!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    3.5 Stars Last Chance Proposal by Barbara DeLeo is a sweet and

    3.5 Stars

    Last Chance Proposal by Barbara DeLeo is a sweet and slightly emotional romance about two people who fell in love when they were only eighteen. Ah, young love, so fragile and so mind blowing all at the same time. Due to a tragic event, the couple immediately separated and moved on with their respective lives. Years later, they meet again because a enormous favor is needed.

    Cy Hathaway, a former surfer from New Zealand, owns a chain of successful surf stores across the United States. Due to circumstances beyond his control, he needs a wife immediately, in order to obtain custody of his son Jonty. In his mind, his only choice is Ellie Jacobs, his former best friend and first love. Ellie is an extremely warm and caring woman. In addition, she has successfully carved out a career as a specialized architect. Ellie travels from project to project, sharing her renovation expertise with others.

    Luckily, Cy is able to convince Ellie to marry him and temporarily move to the states. Once the custody battle is over, Ellie will be able to return to her former life. However, Cy and Ellie still have very strong feelings for each other, which seem to get in the way of their individual happiness. In addition, they are both hiding a secret, that will forever bind them together.

    I liked this story. It is nicely paced, the characters are likeable and the setting in New Zealand is interesting.

    ARC received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was the first Barbara DeLeo book I¿ve read and she impresse

    This was the first Barbara DeLeo book I’ve read and she impressed the heck out of me. I finished this book in less than a couple of hours and I swear, when it was done, I was floating on cloud nine. A romantic upside-down Christmas read, it made my heart clench from happiness.
    As a South-African, I love reading about summer about summer Christmases and this one was extraordinary. Reading and experiencing the way both characters go out of their way not to feel anything but friendship for each other, had me going. But the love they so clearly feel, not just the love for each other, but the love for the little boy who managed to capture my heart without uttering a single word, felt completely real.
    Barbara created characters you just can’t help loving. A man who’s trying his best to connect with a son who doesn’t speak, and as an added bonus, he is sizzling hot on top of all that. Well, that hits a girl hard. Add a woman, who is so kind and gentle, that she’d give up to help the man she’s loved for years,  and you have a powerhouse combination.
    This book was light-hearted, fun and a fantastic holiday read. Barbara DeLeo had me falling in love with her writing, with this book, so much, that I’m not thinking twice about purchasing any of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    I love second chance romances and this is a touching, captivatin

    I love second chance romances and this is a touching, captivating journey of friendship, trust, understanding and sacrifice when first loves become reacquainted.

    Cy Hathaway is facing a custody battle with his son's Grandparents in the US. His return home to New Zealand happens to coincide with his childhood sweetheart Ellie's own return and the poor guy is desperate to be the Dad his son deserves. He needs a wife to create the perfect family unit and he turns to the woman who was his best friend and whose heart he broke 10 years previously.

    Both were lovely characters and whilst their chemistry wasn't electric, it simmered realistically. Ellie is a sweet-natured, patient, determined and selfless woman yet not without her own insecurities and barriers. Cy is a kindhearted protective man and it is his own fears that are his downfall; his plight may seem selfish but is actually far from it. And his son Jonty's friendship with Ellie's nephew Louis was quite simply amazing. It is as much their book as the adults and these boys stole my heart.

    I have to admit I am a bit of a seasoned reader of Barbara Deleo's books but, unlike this, her previous offerings haven't kept the romantic interludes behind closed doors. I can honestly say this makes no difference because her writing style pulls you in and I became completely invested in both Cy and Ellie. And whilst I can't deny I would have liked a little more made of the fact that he left her and their shared secret, heartfelt touching moments are balanced with those that will leave you feeling complete joy and with a huge grin on your face making 'Last Chance Proposal' good addition to the Bliss line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1