Customer Reviews for

The Last Chance Texaco

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Good Story

    I enjoyed this book very much. There were several typos and wrong words, editing issues. However, they did not keep me from enjoying the book and cheering for Lucy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Really enjoyed this!

    Very believable characters. Well-written, other than a few typos/editing issues. They aren't distracting, and you'll be rooting for Lucy and Kindle Home in no time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good

    Pretty good. Kinda a mystery, kinda a romance, full of every day problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Must Read!!

    this is a very good book. read it in 2 days. I wish there was a sequel. I feel sorry for kids in group homes. i am a very lucky kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Open the Door of the Kindle Home

    After being transferred from previous guidance homes and other churches for foster care and drug abuse, Lucy Pitt opens the door to yet another foster home, the Kindle Home or in other words "the Last Chance Texaco." Lucy discovers that the Kindle House isn't what it seems to be because the adults and counselors want the best for her. Although most of the adults care about Lucy's existence in the Group Home, she finds that Joy is the instigator of the household and proposes to throw Lucy out. When randomly one night a car sets fire in the middle of the neighborhood's street, Lucy realizes she has far greater problems to face and investigate.

    Daring, affectionate, and intriguing, The Last Chance Texaco carried my imagination to a unique place. Flipping pages delightedly, I learned to not take for granted what I do have, such as a stable family and home. This novel changed my perspective and introduced me to a new one in the eyes of an unfortunate girl my age. The Last Chance Texaco opens the door of suspense to any teenager's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    Take A Chance

    "Last Chance Texaco" written By : Brent Hartinger is an extraordinary book. With many twists and thrilling moments. Lucy Pitt a remarkable independent character with a strong personality is what makes this book unforgettable. As a teenager things are already tough, but for Lucy things haven't ever been simple. Being in the system for more than 8 years, Lucy is no stranger to how things are.Constantly moving from group home to group home she has no expectations that things will ever change. Living with orphans and counselors, the rules that must be followed are different in here eyes. It's either "follow or lead". Being very stubborn & also aggressive is one of the few issues in Lucy's life. Having no parents or friends she is left with no one. Getting sent to a new group home we're it is her chance to correct her problems & live a different way. With a new path at Kindle Home it is her last stop for her to redeem herself. The counselors influencing that Kindle Home is different, Lucy refuses to except that this can possibly be true. A new counselor who shows her that he knows how it is, and gives her trust makes a big impact on her. Already have been in trouble at school, getting caught with drugs, & one more strike and she will be kicked out. When realizing that Kindle Home is her last chance, also a potential family is it too late to change her ways? If sent to "Rabbit Island" (another group home) all hope is gone. She will be with all the other orphans that are still lost & troubled. If this occurs this will leave her with nothing to look foward to or even the slightest chance that anything postive can come out of life when she grows older. Also with many things clear, being able to take her consequences and trying to straighten up. Other situations appear that tare Lucy's world apart. An arsonist who ruins her chances makes things more complicating. The area of which Kindle Home stays the neighbor's blame this incident on the orphans. With this incident Kindle Home maybe shut down & causing the other orphans to move to another group home. It's up to Lucy to discover and catch this arsonist. While trying to figure out who it is, sneaking out & with the chance of getting caught can put her in the position of being blamed. With these risks she can get and be sent away or even worse put in Juvenile Detention Center. "Last Chance Texaco" a must read drama and action. A non-stop emotion rollercoaster. Being happy for that character and realizing that more hardships will appear is over whelming. Everything in this book is well planned out .One of my all time favorites. If you love reading books or stories about a troubled person with many issues. Consider this book, with a well rounded of everything you can want: Action, Love, Drama and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mark Frye, author and reviewer for TeensReadToo.com

    Brent Hartinger has crafted a touching and suspenseful novel sure to capture and hold any teen reader's attention. He knows his craft well, having created an edgy novel about the foster care system with a tasteful, deft touch, ensuring it a wide readership. He has proven that tough issues and hard situations teens face can be portrayed with minimal violence and profanity. <BR/><BR/>Like his earlier novel, GEOGRAPHY CLUB, Hartinger has crafted several sympathetic characters among a microcosm of society's misfits. This novel's group of excluded teens are orphans, kids whose perception of themselves is nearly as negative as their peers at school, who deride them as "groupies" (foster children in group homes). The reader is drawn into their conflicts, both within their own walls, their own psyches, and with society-at-large. <BR/><BR/>The narrator, Lucy, has been a foster child for over half of her life. Kindle Home is the last, "safe" stop for teens like her, for those who have been in trouble. Children who "wash out" of Kindle Home are then sent to Rabbit Island, a place for teens beyond redemption--in the eyes of the system, at least. As a veteran of group homes, she vows to make an effort to fit in at Kindle, which proves to be difficult. Newcomers are viewed as a challenge of the "pecking order" and it isn't long before Lucy is facing serious challenges from others in the home. <BR/><BR/>Her school environment presents another challenge when she is caught in a social caste disagreement with two of her peers. In spite of the odds against them, she makes a friend from one of her earlier antagonists, a person who proves to be a crucial ally when Kindle Home faces community persecution and budget cuts. As the new friends try to find out who has been setting fires in the neighborhood in order to frame the members of Kindle Home, Hartinger provides an unexpected twist when he unveils the perpetrator. <BR/><BR/>With a heart-warming ending, Hartinger proves that edgy young adult fiction can still leave a reader with hope. THE LAST CHANCE TEXACO is suitable even for middle school-aged students. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Brent Hartinger has crafted a touching and suspenseful novel sure to capture and hold any teen reader's attention. He knows his craft well, having created an edgy novel about the foster care system with a tasteful, deft touch, ensuring it a wide readership. He has proven that tough issues and hard situations teens face can be portrayed with minimal violence and profanity. Like his earlier novel, GEOGRAPHY CLUB, Hartinger has crafted several sympathetic characters among a microcosm of society's misfits. This novel's group of excluded teens are orphans, kids whose perception of themselves is nearly as negative as their peers at school, who deride them as ¿groupies¿ (foster children in group homes). The reader is drawn into their conflicts, both within their own walls, their own psyches, and with society-at-large. The narrator, Lucy, has been a foster child for over half of her life. Kindle Home is the last, ¿safe¿ stop for teens like her, for those who have been in trouble. Children who ¿wash out¿ of Kindle Home are then sent to Rabbit Island, a place for teens beyond redemption--in the eyes of the system, at least. As a veteran of group homes, she vows to make an effort to fit in at Kindle, which proves to be difficult. Newcomers are viewed as a challenge of the ¿pecking order¿ and it isn't long before Lucy is facing serious challenges from others in the home. Her school environment presents another challenge when she is caught in a social caste disagreement with two of her peers. In spite of the odds against them, she makes a friend from one of her earlier antagonists, a person who proves to be a crucial ally when Kindle Home faces community persecution and budget cuts. As the new friends try to find out who has been setting fires in the neighborhood in order to frame the members of Kindle Home, Hartinger provides an unexpected twist when he unveils the perpetrator. With a heart-warming ending, Hartinger proves that edgy young adult fiction can still leave a reader with hope. THE LAST CHANCE TEXACO is suitable even for middle school-aged students. Recommended. Five stars. **Reviewed by: Mark Frye, author and reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    LOVED IT!

    I read this book in a day...I loved it...a friend left it at my house & I had nothin better to do. I wld really recommend you to read it. WOW if you like a little mystery & teen 'love' you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    The Last Chance Texaco

    The Last Chance Texaco is a book about this girl named Lucy and she is at a group home because her parents were killed in a car accident when she was 7. Now she is fifteen and she has gone from group home to group home and now she has arrived at Kindle Home. Lucy has to room with this other girl named Yolanda and then she gets told the rules of Kindle Home. The counselors tell her that if she gets three strikes, she will be sent to rabbit island. Later Lucy gets enrolled into a new school where on the first day, she meets two very mean people, Nate and Alicia, that tell herto go back where she came from but later during the same day she takes a punch at Nate and gives him a black eye. They both get detention for fighting and they have to fill up a whole trash bag every day for eight weeeks. Later in the book during detention they become a couple.In the neighborhood of Kindle Home, there has been car fires and if iot keeps up The children of Kindle Home will be sent away and it is up to Lucy to find out who it is to save Kindle Home without getting caught and her relationship with Nate.To me I believe that this is a book that I would recommend to other kids my age because it may relate to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    One of the BEST books ever

    If i could i would let everyone one out there know about this book. i think it along with a few other book have pulled me of that hating reading stage and made me love it. hope you enjoy the great book. the Last Chance Texaco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    An excellent read

    My librarian at my school recomended this book to me, and to be honest I wasn't excited. I really enjoyed this book. It was one of the better books I have ever read!!!! I was very surprised at the very end. The arsonist I had guessed from the beginning, but the end I was pleasantly surprised. It is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    wwhooooooot. britt rockssss.

    i found the last chance texaco in our school library and i am glad that i did. this is now one of my favorite books. i like this book so much because it deals with real life situtations. those kind of books really interest me. i could relate to the main character lucy a little bit by the fact that she was being blamed for doing something that she didnt do. i could also relate to her because she was made fun of for being different. this made the book more enjoyable. i enjoyed this book so much, that i read it in one day. the last chance texaco is by far the best book that i have ever read. it was just plain awesome. and very emotional. i would recommend it to a teen audience because it deals with scenerios that teenagers might have to face. such as relationship problems, teasing, accusations, and even losing your parents. it is just an all around great book. HI MS LASLEY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    The Last Stop

    I recommend this novel to anyone who likes a happy ending, yet one that leaves you hanging. I wanted the story to go on but, unfortunately, it ended but had a great story line. Lucy Pitt, the main character, taught me an important lesson that will be reminding to me at all times when I wish I could be all alone and no one EVER could bother me. She taught me to be thankful for my family and all that I have, because if I lost them I would lose everything and nothing would be the same. I could end up in a 'Last Chance Texaco' and be teased for life. Anyone could, and it wouldn¿t be very fair. Lucy, obviously felt horrible and humiliated whenever she went to a new foster home and school. She was at the last stop, her last chance to do everything right before going to ¿Rabbit Island,¿ a home that is the worst place EVER for fosters to end up. It¿s where you go when you have done too many crimes and been in too many fights. The home that Lucy is in (the setting of the novel) is really, truly her Last Chance Texaco, the last chance to make everything right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    A Knock-Out Book for both Teens & Adults

    15-year-old Lucy Pitt arrives at Kindle Group Home, the last stop on her eight year journey through a foster care system where she has been bounced around since her parents died in a car accident. She¿s had problems everywhere she¿s gone and been basically labeled incorrigible. One more screw-up, and she¿ll be sent to a prison-like facility until she turns 18. Against her better judgment, Lucy connects right away with Leon, one of the counselors who she finds out later has had his own painful foster care past. When he tells her early on that there is ¿hardly anything in Kindle Home that isn¿t broken somehow,¿ it resonates with the reader. Lucy later says that the home is nothing more than ¿a storage shed for broken teenagers,¿ and she isn¿t too far off. Lucy and her fellow residents have major problems, many of which have to do with having been deprived of love early on. ######### Though only in her mid-teens, Lucy is worn out and on the brink of giving up. She is tired of fighting the other kids; tired of uncaring counselors; most of all, tired of being uprooted continually. So she decides to make an effort to stay at Kindle Home, but right away she finds herself facing obstacles, not the least of which is her own temper. And then things get even more complicated when she gets in a fight at school, one of the fellow residents has it out for her, someone¿s setting fires in the neighborhood, and the funding for the home is being threatened. Can Lucy pull things together and face up to all the issues that are coming down upon her? ######### In this second novel, following his critically acclaimed GEOGRAPHY CLUB, Hartinger has done a marvelous job of bringing Lucy, the counselors, and the kids to life. He¿s written the story in first-person point of view, and Lucy¿s voice is clear and refreshing. You can hear and see her grow throughout the events of the story. From Lucy¿s first line, ¿The door was locked, and I sure as hell didn¿t have the key,¿ until the end of the story when Lucy has managed to find and fully possess all the keys she needs to succeed, I was charmed and moved. THE LAST CHANCE TEXACO is a terrific book geared toward the Young Adult market, but also worthwhile for adults to read, if only to see and understand the world that kids like Lucy Pitt are forced to survive in. Highly recommended.~Lori L. Lake, author of Stepping Out, Different Dress, Gun Shy, Under The Gun, and Ricochet In Time, and reviewer for Midwest Book Review, The Independent Gay Writer, The Gay Read, and Just About Write

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Hartinger Stuns Teen Audience

    Hartinger delivers an extremly enjoyable story that has readers thinking that they themselves are Lucy, the main character. Lucy is a child delinquent who has been kicked out of so many group homes that there looks to be no future. Lucy is sent to the 'Last Chance Texaco' a place rumored to be the last stop before the dreaded 'Rabbit Island'. Lucy seems to be destined to be sent there but, a group home counsler seems to care so much about her, she starts to care. Lucy becomes happy at the group home, she has friends and a great boyfriend. Yet all of a sudden, there is a mysterious arsonist who seems to be aiming at getting the group home shutdown. Lucy is determined to find the arsonist to save the group home, but the arsonist seems to always elude her. Will the arsonist reign or will Lucy prevail? The ending may surprise you, i can only say I hope you enjoyed this as much as i have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1