Customer Reviews for

Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

I thought this book was great! Having grown up in such a nature loving family, I find it extremely important that children are exposed to nature as much as possible.

I'm really glad I didn't attend the college that the reviewer below me teaches at. I stopped reading...
I thought this book was great! Having grown up in such a nature loving family, I find it extremely important that children are exposed to nature as much as possible.

I'm really glad I didn't attend the college that the reviewer below me teaches at. I stopped reading the review after "I think Obama is the greatest President of my lifetime thus far."

posted by 10560470 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Rubbish.

First, some background. I am a college professor. I would consider myself a liberal, but I am definitely a moderate. I think Obama is the greatest President of my lifetime thus far. Not many of my friends would even agree with that. Thus, I am not some right-wing, gun-l...
First, some background. I am a college professor. I would consider myself a liberal, but I am definitely a moderate. I think Obama is the greatest President of my lifetime thus far. Not many of my friends would even agree with that. Thus, I am not some right-wing, gun-loving, Tea Party, Fox News watching nut job. And...

I absolutely despised this book. I hated it. Every page I turned I found myself groaning with dismay. My wife kept laughing, because at times I would shout out swear words as I forced myself to wade through the endless pages of ramble.

This is a complete waste of paper. (Luckily, there is an eBook version that wastes less paper. Of course, one would think reading the book on a computer would go against the author's argument!) It is rubbish and has no value other than fuel for burning. Why?

The author fails in the following areas:
-- He is unscientific.
-- He cites non-scientific studies.
-- He bases his entire argument off of interviews done with people that think like he does.
-- He is not critical of his own assumptions.
-- He does not offer a balanced view or counter-arguments.
-- He is a particularly ineffective writer when it comes to persuasion. (By the end of the book, I hated nature! I went into this thinking I loved nature.)
-- He is extremely wordy, and when he is short on words, he cites random no-brainers he interviewed for pages at a time.

The book was one of the most painful reads I have ever endured, and I would not wish this book on my worst enemy. It is over 300 pages long; it could have been written as a 10-page magazine article.

I had to read this book with a group of other professors, because we are attempting to synchronize our classes for a year-long sustainability learning community among Freshmen students at our university. Half of us absolutely hated this book and refused to use it in our classes -- I am a human geography prof, the others who disliked it were sociology and English profs. Others -- including the Rock Climbing prof and the conservation prof -- really liked it.

To me, this book is kind of like Fox News -- if you agree with the author's position already, you may just get riled up by it. If you disagree, you will hate the book by the end. If you are like I was, indifferent toward the position, it will be just an unconvincing and unscientific waste of time -- just like a Fox News Broadcast. I ended up hating it.

Read "Silent Spring" if you want a good book on nature and environment. Read "Garbageland" or "No Impact Man" if you want to know how to save the planet. At least "No Impact Man" didn't have the gall to act scientific.

Don't read this garbage. Please don't even support the publication of such useless stuff. Ugh.

posted by Ian_Mule on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Rubbish.

    First, some background. I am a college professor. I would consider myself a liberal, but I am definitely a moderate. I think Obama is the greatest President of my lifetime thus far. Not many of my friends would even agree with that. Thus, I am not some right-wing, gun-loving, Tea Party, Fox News watching nut job. And...

    I absolutely despised this book. I hated it. Every page I turned I found myself groaning with dismay. My wife kept laughing, because at times I would shout out swear words as I forced myself to wade through the endless pages of ramble.

    This is a complete waste of paper. (Luckily, there is an eBook version that wastes less paper. Of course, one would think reading the book on a computer would go against the author's argument!) It is rubbish and has no value other than fuel for burning. Why?

    The author fails in the following areas:
    -- He is unscientific.
    -- He cites non-scientific studies.
    -- He bases his entire argument off of interviews done with people that think like he does.
    -- He is not critical of his own assumptions.
    -- He does not offer a balanced view or counter-arguments.
    -- He is a particularly ineffective writer when it comes to persuasion. (By the end of the book, I hated nature! I went into this thinking I loved nature.)
    -- He is extremely wordy, and when he is short on words, he cites random no-brainers he interviewed for pages at a time.

    The book was one of the most painful reads I have ever endured, and I would not wish this book on my worst enemy. It is over 300 pages long; it could have been written as a 10-page magazine article.

    I had to read this book with a group of other professors, because we are attempting to synchronize our classes for a year-long sustainability learning community among Freshmen students at our university. Half of us absolutely hated this book and refused to use it in our classes -- I am a human geography prof, the others who disliked it were sociology and English profs. Others -- including the Rock Climbing prof and the conservation prof -- really liked it.

    To me, this book is kind of like Fox News -- if you agree with the author's position already, you may just get riled up by it. If you disagree, you will hate the book by the end. If you are like I was, indifferent toward the position, it will be just an unconvincing and unscientific waste of time -- just like a Fox News Broadcast. I ended up hating it.

    Read "Silent Spring" if you want a good book on nature and environment. Read "Garbageland" or "No Impact Man" if you want to know how to save the planet. At least "No Impact Man" didn't have the gall to act scientific.

    Don't read this garbage. Please don't even support the publication of such useless stuff. Ugh.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great Book!

    I thought this book was great! Having grown up in such a nature loving family, I find it extremely important that children are exposed to nature as much as possible.

    I'm really glad I didn't attend the college that the reviewer below me teaches at. I stopped reading the review after "I think Obama is the greatest President of my lifetime thus far."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    A Book To Change Your Mind

    This book was hugely influential to me in my parenting journey. I loved it. It is dense, but very beautifully written for nonfiction. Everyone with kids needs to read this book for an eye-opening realization of the importance of nature in a child's life and the scary implications of the diminution of nature in American society.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Attention this subject deserves

    I have said to myself, friends and family for years that our children are living a life to distant from the natural world. This book not only discusses the subject but provides research into the consequences to our children who grow up in a man-made world. I recommend this book to all parents and to anyone interested in the environment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    Love the idea, couldn't get through the book

    This topic is fascinating to me, but I simply could not make it through this book. It wasn't very well organized, and was very hard to follow. I got the feeling the same info could have been organized and condensed into a book half the size. I recommend it for the subject matter, but not for style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Thrilled this book was written!

    As a child, I recall fishing, hiking and riding our horses through the woods. It added so much flavor and richness to our lives that I couldn't imagine not passing it on to our own children. Building memories with our children in the outdoors and teaching them the beauty of playing outside has helped shape them into healthier and happier people. I was thrilled that Richard Louv wrote this book! His interview on NPR convinced me even more that he is sincere in wanting to help generations of children and their parents to see how nature can serve to enrich our lives. Chrissy K. McVay - author of 'Souls of the North Wind'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    An absolute God-send!

    Everything that the author informs us about through this brilliant book is true! Just thinking about how rare ADD, depression in children, etc. was when I was a child (whose parents MADE me play outside often!) is amazing compared to today's kids. Very insightful, helpful, and important information. I recommed this book to ALL parents and anyone remotely interested in outdoor activities!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    A great read for any parent, teacher or child-lover

    Louv compellingly explains the trend that many of us have noticed without quite articulating it. It's a fascinating look at how our culture and our children have changed, and what this means to us. He explains what we're losing, why and why it matters. But he has solutions and optimism and a faith that if parents know that they can gain and the research supporting outdoor play, they will get them hiking and roaming and exploring. As an example, he says, let your kid play in the woods, just give him a cell phone. Not a bad solution for our fearful, high-tech times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    To the professor

    As an educator, I would like the above professor to please post the university he/she work at soI can advise students not to attend such a biased narrow minded place. I LOVED the book! Any educated person can see how it relates to modern society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    LONG OVER-DUE!!!

    In this age of over-indulgence, a child's every whim can be commercially satisfied. Meanwhile, our youth's connection to the natural world has become over-structured and minimal at best. This book brings to light the dire situation,as well as, hope- filled alternatives. A must read for parents, teachers, grandparents, and anyone who cares about a child!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Moving Forward by Going Back (to Nature)

    I found this book to be many things - a call to attention, a warning, an explanation, and a prescription for a problem affecting many in today's world. The implications for children are tremendous and any parent, educator, or other person working directly with the public (especially the young) will benefit from the core message of the book: it is time to go back to nature. So, put down that electronic game, turn off that computer, grab the kids and GO OUTSIDE! Play in the mud, hunt for bugs, build fortresses, learn the names of what's growing near your home. Parents and children alike will feel better, think better, and be better for it - all the better for tomorrow's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Best insight yet

    This is SUCH a good book for any parent or even people who love the outdoors. The statistics of America's future generations are apalling. It's definately a wake up call. Every now and then you here this blurb about 'oh, your kid probably watches to much TV, this is why it's not good for them....' or 'oh yep, child obesity, it's a problem...' but Richard Louv hits the nail right on the head with this book. I'm addicted to it. I'm in love with this book. Kids are obese and bored for a reason. They play video games for a reason, its an escape. Escape outside, together, do your kids a world of a favor, give them memories of you, let them know that there is something better out there. Right outside your back door.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A must-read book!

    This is an excellent and highly readable book, a modern classic in the movement toward restoring nature education and experience for our children. The Nook Book copy was easy to read while I was working out at the gym several times a week and gave me lots of ideas about what I might do as an individual and as a grandparent to help get children back in contact with nature. After finishing it I bought three hard copies (one for me, one for my church library, one for my son) plus another book by Richard Louv. I recommend this book to anyone who cares about our future as a nation and as a species.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Great

    Loved it. While things may not be as dire as the author depicts them, it is not far off. My kids are encouraged (forced) to play outside as much as possible with very limited digital interactions. I highly recommend this book for any parent, educator, or just anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great book for parents and all educators. Our children think that the world is big video game. It is time to get them outside where they can learn an grow. This book is a great help to those that want to really educate children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Excellent!!

    The calmness of nature is a key to our human well being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommend. Book in very condition and very fast service.

    I was very pleased with book and service. The book was purchased for a gift and do not have feed back on content but it was highly recommended to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Reunite With the Natural World

    Last Child in the Woods is extremely inspirational, and as a young adult myself, this book motivated me to get out of the house and into the forest. The book covers many different points on the controversy of being out in nature unsupervised and free. It also covers the mental, emotional, and social healing capabilities nature offers, especially learning disabilities like ADHD and ADD. I enjoyed how the author used personal examples to back up scientific researches and statistics. How the book was organized lead me effortlessly into the next chapters with startling and fascinating factoids. Richard Louv wrote this in a captivating and interesting style, and I was unable to put the book down. It made me realize that we as modern day citizens, adults and children alike, have been so dramatically affected by electronics and drawn to their alluring lights, we just don't realize it. As Louv quotes, we have moved from "loving streams to loving screens." Last Child in the Woods points out this may very well not be an evolutionary leap. When you read this book, you will gasp out loud, or nod in agreement, for all the facts stated throughout the text are astonishing. I particularly found the effects a nature free environment had on people very interesting, including stress, depression, and in a sense, claustrophobia. Reading this book awoke the wild thing that's in all of us. This book is not just about children. I recommend this book to parents, book clubs, teenagers, environmentalists, and especially those who feel like they are missing out on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Should be required reading for ALL bookclubs.

    As a 72-year-old practicing forester, I recognize the importance of the subject(s) and their importance to the education of not only children, but all citizens. As a 2nd grade school volunteer, I can see the benefits of getting these kids away from those screens and into the woods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    Go Outside!

    simple read, a little redundant at times, to the point, updated... makes you want to drop everything and go outdoor exploring with the kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3