Customer Reviews for

Last Christmas: The Private Prequel (Private Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Unable to Put down

    Last Christmas is one of those books that can not be put down unless forced to. A book that makes you want to read more and one of those books that makes someone love to read. Last Christmas is the Prequel of the Private Series, but it came out last so I thought I would have a feeling of what the book was going to tell. When I read the first chapter I knew that I could not have suspected the main character, Ariana, was going to do. This book leaves the reader in suspense because it is a book and no one can see what comes ahead. If you like to read books about High School students and scandals; this is the book for you because it has it all. These students at Easton Academy are not normal though, because they are among the smartest, richest and competitive people in the world. There are the popular girls, jocks, dorks and outcasts, but they are still different from a regular school. Characters such as Kiran, Thomas, and Ariana are not normal high school students. Kiran is among the most popular models in the world, Thomas was a drug dealer and Ariana is a murderer. This book is a mix of suspense, peace, confusion and love. Last Christmas is a book I could read over and over again because the story line just fits so perfectly with everything and all of the series books connect with one another. In my eyes, this book was written perfectly and every detail made sense from the end to the beginning in this case. I would recommend this book for people who like reading the same series because once a person reads the first book they would want to read the next one and then the next. Read it until it ends because it is worth your time. This book is probably more for women and girls because it is romantic, dramatic and a "chick book". This is a book I would recommend my friends and anyone else to read because it is one of the most well written books I have ever laid my eyes on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Last Christmas

    Last Christmas is the first Private book i have ever read and i think it left a fairly good impression on me,Reading about Ariana's disturbing way of thinking and panic attacks was an eye-opener that even though she looks perfect and it not just her,the billings girls are all beautiful but inside they are definitely messed up.Trying to figure who was after Ariana and Thomas when they were snowed in on campus was suspenseful,extremely so and heart pounding,i literally flipped the pages as i couldn't wait to get to the ending which was such a cliff hanger and that definitely pushes me to read Private,i am sold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    "Awesome Series" - from my 15yr old

    My 15 year old step-daughter LOVES these books! My mom had gotten her one last year for the holidays and she keeps getting more and more books to read and re-read over and over again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good companion to the Private series

    Before Reed Brennan started dating Thomas Pearson, Ariana had a relationship with him. Last Christmas is the story about their relationship and the aftermath that followed.

    Easton Academy is preparing for winter break. Ariana is spending the holidays with her boyfriend's family in Vermont. She's fortunate to do so, however it just doesn't feel quite right. As she struggles with these feelings, her attraction towards bad boy, Thomas, grows. When she's forced to stay later on campus to finish an English paper, she learns Thomas has stayed as well. He taunts her about her "good girl" image and soon Ariana starts to behave in ways that both shock and excite her.

    Last Christmas provides more insight about Ariana and the events that led to Thomas's death. It's also a good companion to the Privilege series. I especially like Thomas and now wish Ms. Brian didn't kill his character so early in the Private series.

    Ariana Osgood is a character readers will love to hate. She fears becoming like her mother and has to be in control at all times. It's shocking to read how extreme she becomes when her perfect world is threatened. She's delusional, mentally unstable, but so put together it's quite scary. She knows what she wants, how to get it and won't allow anything or anyone to stand in her way.

    What I liked best about Last Christmas was the focus was primarily on Ariana and Noelle wasn't as powerful as she is in later books. Last Christmas allows readers an up close and personal look into Ariana's history and current thoughts. If you're a fan of the Private and Privilege series, you will not be disappointed with Last Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ONE OF THE BEST YET,SUPER SUSPENSEFUL

    I think this is a very good book if you have read the first 4 books,, it really gives the back story of the first 4 books. it is defintily worth your time to read. THRILLING. A BOOK YOU JUST CANT PUT DOWN.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    ~~AMAZING!!!!!~~

    Last Christmas was amazing, it really did change everything... Wow, I cant wait for Paradise Lost to come out!! Who is gonna read Privilege? I'm not sure if I want to yet cuz it might kinda muddle things up in my head a bit, you know?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Liked it

    I did feel bad for Arianna and i finally got to see her side of the story. Thomas is really screwd up but she should never have killed him. She's still a psycho so O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Love it

    I love it, i read it before and it was amazing book ever!!! You should read it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    I felt bad

    Anyone else feel bad for ariana cuz thomas really did play her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    uhjn

    jxjs

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    WONDERFUL BOOK!

    I love this book! We finally get to see what went down between Ariana and Thomas and see what makes her "snap". There were some parts that were kind of scary but I still couldn't put it down. If you haven't read the rest of the series there are A LOT of spoillers and the end will leave you hanging but overall it was one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    IDK

    I read this book before all the other books. At first this book was thrilling, cute, and fun. Then, once I got towards the end,this book creeped me out. I normally wouldn't read this type of book. Anything with death, I don't normally read. Once I finished the book, I thought to myself that I don't think I want to keep reading the series. It wasn't a bad book it was actually captivating, but it wasn't a book i would normally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL READER

    this one of the private novel's was wonderful. it defiently needs to be in the order they were made, becasue otherwise none of the others would have any meaning to read becasue you would know what happened. it fills in all the little cracks of wonder left in the first couple of books ( i dont remember exactly how many were before this one). and dont skip this one either.. you know you wanna know what happened BEFORE reed came to easton.. you know you do.. =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome BOOK!!!

    This book is really good! but you should probably read the rest of the series first so then you don't read any spoilers...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    great book

    man, i really did.not.like.ariana

    and i really didnt want to change my dislike for her, but this book makes you better understand her and her side to the story, no matter how physcopathic she was.

    altho i still say i liked thomas&reed.

    *oh PS! if you actually do read this before the private series, skip the prologue because if you read the prologue it kinda ruins the intrigue of the first four books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read :)

    I fell in love with the Private series, and this book made me look at it in a different perspective. Before, I HATED Ariana. Now though, after reading Last Christmas, I look at her differently. This really made me understand the book a lot better. I reccomend this to anyone who loves the Private series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    When Ariana is pushed over the edge

    Ariana Osgood is the resident Good Girl of Billings House. In this prequel before the famous Private series, we find out the real reason Ariana lost it in the first book. She realizes she's dating a player, and finds what could be a wonderful relationship with Thomas Pearson. It shows her slow fall from Good Girl to Naughty Girl in a suspenseful, thrilling story of getting stuck at school on Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Can't Get Enough!

    I love this book! It is so thrilling and it makes your hair stand up! I first rented this book from my local library but I love this book and the following series that I now own every book in the private series! All my friends bollow them and they always ask to buy from me. I have never heard of Kate Brian until a teacher of mine asked me to do a report on it. It was really easy to get 'into' it. Once you start reading, you'll never be able to put the book down. I was babysitting one after noon while reading this book,the kids were upset because I never looked up when they asked me a question. I felt bad for not paying attention but I just couldnt put the book down. It only took me 5 hours total to read this book, which is over 200 pages. This book is so real that you feel like your their in front of the characters! This book is only for girls because it has some moments but my boyfriend wanted to know about it,he said that if it didnt have 'moments' in it then he would read it! My boyfriend is the football jock and he never ever reads! Kate Brian did an amazing job on this series! Keep up the good work! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Wow

    This book is absolutly amazing! A definite page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This boook was great

    I personally loved this book, it is so interesting and makes you want to read more.... I love kate brian and the private series. This is a book I would definitely reccomend. Kate Brian is my favorite author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7