Customer Reviews for

The Last Colony

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great finish to a wonderful, imaginative series!

    I picked up "Old Man's War" after seeing it displayed in a bookstore and was intrigued. I couldn't put it down. It was very imaginative, well-written and interesting. I went out right away and got "Ghost Brigades" and "The Last Colony". They were all great and moved the story along. "The Last Colony" was a great book and the perfect finish to the "Old Man's War" saga. I have recommended the series to all my friends. I'm not a big sci-fi reader, but this is great and really opens the mind.

    I look forward to reading more of John Scalzi's works.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Funny but political so it drags a bit

    Scalzi's sharp thought and good humor make this a fun read, but fans of the series will notice a propitious drop in the frequency of action scenes and tactical puzzles. As the overarching problems of the series' universe climax and resolve in this volume, it is necessarilh dominated by strategic maneuvering an dialogue-- with one pretty cool combat scene. Give it a shot, finish the series if you started it, enjoy and establih your foundation for The Human division and Zoe's tale. Don't start the series with this volume though!!
    Very well concluded and lots of fun, this series is one of the greats of scifi.
    Review composed on my NOOK Simple Touch; please excuse any errors, typographical or otherwise.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must read for Heinlein fans

    Starship Troopers updated. Space Opera, military sci-fi fans will love this book and the prequels(Old Man's War and Ghost Brigades). Also, check out the author's totally cool blog.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    One of the Greatest Books i've ever read

    I originally found the book old mans war in an airport, i loved it and so i went looking for a sequel. Then i found The Ghosh Brigades, by that point i was hooked on the books, i loved the detail and how i related to the characters. I found The Last Colony 'book' and i remained mesmerized. Eventually i finish the Trilogy and felt that these books were some of the best books i've every read. I encourage anyone who like Scifi action books to read these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    A Great Finish

    This was a fitting finish to the trilogy. Exceptionally done in all respects. A thrilling and very enjoyable combination of three stories. Excellent science fiction writing and telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    ¿The Last Colony¿ is another great sci-fi book in the Old Man¿s

    “The Last Colony” is another great sci-fi book in the Old Man’s War series. This book takes us out of space and follows the John and Jane as they move from their settled life now that they are both out of the CFD to a new colony (at the title suggests). Due to the story line some of the crazy tech and ideas that are more up front in the other books are missing in this one which is a little disappointing but the story line and new situations popping up in the universe still make it a fun read. The quips by John Perry in this book are as good as any, making him a fun character to follow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Excellent follow up to Ghost Brigades

    Find out what happens to the young Zoe and her new ex-special forces stepmother as we return to the aged protagonist from Old Man's War. The Conclave has forbidden non-member species from starting any new colonies, but the Colonial Union decides to defy the ban - Scalzi twists and turns follow with an excellent ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Forest

    Great for a facehugger to get a easy kill.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great ending

    Great ending to this part of the story, looking forward to more stories in this universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Excellent trilogy!

    A great conclusion to the trilogy. Loved all three books and look forward to rereading them in a year or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great SciFi find.

    John Scalzi's "The Last Colony" takes Earth into a frightening new future in which we are constantly fighting for our survival in a harsh, cruel universe. With an interesting new take on "colonial marines" this book was fun and exciting. The characters are unique and easily related with. The story is long but sets up a new universe for other stories. You will enjoy this title if future space exploration fascinates you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Satisfying conclusion.

    Not as good as the first two novels, but wraps up the tale nicely if maybe a little too neatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Prob gonna be god

    *Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Excellent work - looking for more of the same.

    Excellent work - looking for more of the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Good - But leaves some plots hanging

    I have really enjoyed the Old Man's War series by John Scalzi. In this latest (and apparently last) installment, he includes all the political intrigue of earlier novels.

    But some of the plots were really left hanging... the colony found a new race, the werewolves. You had high drama about them, and then they suddenly vanished from the plot... There is no mention of them in the last half of the book.

    It felt to me like Mr. Scalzi set out to write one book, and suddenly changed his mind half way through and decided to write an entirely different book. Either book would have been a good read... but I feel I only got half of two separate stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Excellent ending to a story line

    This book also had good miss direction and was able to keep my interest thru the entirety of the story. It was a good read. I hope the author comes up with another story line in the near future. I quick thought, let the daughter¿s story book go, it will take the edge off the prior books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7