Customer Reviews for

The Last Cowboy

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    perfect western romance

    The Last Cowboy had all of the elements necessary to create the perfect feel good western romance. The backdrop for the story was Jackson Hole, Wyoming near the Teton Mountains. McKenna had me longing to see this picturesque country side. Next, she stirred in sexy, heart weary rancher, Slade McPherson. She introduced Dr. Jordana Lawton, a woman who could see through his stubborn exterior. Then, she sprinkled on a villainous neighbor, an estranged brother, disaster and a couple of beautiful horses. The Last Cowboy grabbed me at page one and held me till the final page. The characters had depth and the plot moved quickly. The storyline was believable and the romance felt fresh. The sub-plot to the novel dealt with horse training and McKenna's knowledge of the subject was apparent. I found it to be interesting and it made ranch life burst to life. This was the perfect read for a rainy day and I enjoyed it immensely. McKenna left the door wide open for follow up stories to this tale, and I'd be happy to go back again. I want to thank netGalley and Harlequin Publishing for the ARC, in exchange for my unbiased review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    a good read - she always writes a good story

    Easy reading and a nice change of pace. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    cowboy & romance

    Slade McPherson is a rancher on his family ranch. The ranch has been in his family for over 100 years. Slade & Griff inherited when their parents died at 6 years old. Slade stayed on the ranch and is Aunt & Uncle raised him and ran the ranch till they died at 17.
    Griff went with a different uncle to New York who was a stockbroker. Griff had lived the high life in New York. He made millions before he lost it all on the stock market collasp.
    Slade has been riding endurance rides and is either #1 or #2 in most races. He trains other riders for endurance races. He had a bad divorce 4 years ago to a New York City girl. His new student he does not want to train because she is a woman and her horse is a mare. Slade tells her double the amount for training and boarding her horse 2000. a month.
    Jordana Lawton is an emergency doctor & has sport clinic. She had lost most of her money in the stock market and knows the 2,000 a month will hurt but it is her dream to compete at the top level. So she puts up with Slade attitude when she see's how gentle he is with her horse.
    Griff comes back to the ranch after he lost everything. Their is hard times for both twins. Slade does not want him their, since a few years Griff denied loaning him money to help the ranch and he has never put time or money into the ranch.
    Slade gets injured and can't ride in upcomming race and he needs the prize money to save the ranch.
    It is a modern story dealing with people losing their home's & savings with the down fall of stock market and banks closing. I liked the story and wanted more hopefully Griff will get his own story. I like Lindseys writings and will read more of her work in the future. I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    This book revolves around two characters and their involvement i

    This book revolves around two characters and their involvement in endurance riding. Jordana was a doctor who enjoyed endurance riding as a hobby and dreamed of entering a race but knew she needed training first.  She asked Slade, who is a champion endurance rider, if he would accept her as a student at his endurance school in Jackson Hold, Wyoming. He didn't want to accept her but finally did.

    Most of the story describes horses, their movement and endurance riding which the reader needs to know in order to understand endurance eventing which is the main focus in this book.  This information is very detailed and accurate however a bit boring for the average reader - whether you are interested in horses or not.

    I found the equine descriptions interesting since I have owned many horses over the years. My absolute favourite horse was an Arabian mare. I never competed, just rode for fun but my all time high was when we were galloping across the fields. 

    This story did remind me of those adventures so I enjoyed that part of this book.  Again, I will say that this book is not for everyone.

    This book was hard to read and rate but I finally decided on this.

    Description of horses and events - 4 stars

    Story line - 2 stars

    So I decided to go with an overall rate of 3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great!

    Thisis one of my favorites. I have continued to read the series and have enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    If when you read you pick up on the details and fully follow the

    If when you read you pick up on the details and fully follow the story line at all times, do not read this book. I could not finish it due to all the repeating facts and inconsistencies. Examples - Jordana talks to Slade about speaking and getting gossip from Gwen. However, in the next chapter when Jordana walks into Gwen's store Gwen comments that it's nice to finally meet her. Also, you learn of the same information over and over again, definitely not needed. Example: You are told that Curt Downing's dad killed Slade's parents in a drunk driving accident from Slade as he tells Jordana. Then later when Jordana meets Curt for the first time it mentions it again. If something like this happens once or twice, no big deal. But it is rampant in this book. At least the first half which is all I could read. Although I feel I could really like these characters and the story lines seems to be a shoe in for a great read, the actual writing is lacking a TON. Instead of learning about the characters through the characters I felt McKenna simply used direct characterization often. Shoving character information at us rather then learn it through their behaviors and interactions. Also, many events seemed to jump out of nowhere and seemed unrealistic - Griff's arrival and his and Slade's conversation's following it. I could go on and on about what I felt was lacking in the writing. So, just save yourself some time and find another book to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    If you want a how-to-manual on horses...

    Seriously, I struggled through the first 60 pages and then gave up. The narrative is literally a how to guide on horses. The dialogue is painful. Questions asked in dialogue are rhetorical and it seems as if the same piece of information is repeated three times before the characters move on to something different. I have read a few books by this author and enjoyed them very much. I get the feeling that she knew nothing about horses before writing this book and did extensive research to give the book some validity. However, all her research notes strung together is better suited to a research paper, not a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    riviting

    the last cowboy is a very interesting story. the ranch is about to go under but a horse race might win enough to save it. slad the owner gets gored by a bull, and so jordana says she can to it on her horse. slade thinks , "yeah, right". then jordana's horse comes up lame. so does jordana run the race on her horse? does slade change his mind about jordana and decide she is ok? if she races, does she win? there is an unscrupulous man in the race that couold do real damage to her or the horse if she races. loved this story and will be looking for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I thought is was a really good read..great Lady loves the cowboy

    I thought is was a really good read..great Lady loves the cowboy romance...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1