Customer Reviews for

The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Packs Several Punches

    Earlier this year I started reading the Bosch series in order. The premise of this one didn't exactly fill me with enthusiasm, and it did start out a little slow. If you like Connelly/Bosch - get it, stick with it and see it all the way through. So much of Harry's inner being is revealed and you gain an ever greater understanding and rooting interest for him. Characters are rich and deep and one can see how Connelly has gradually honed his craft with each new book in the series. The plot is far better than I imagined and it left me rushing right into #5 in the series - Trunk Music. Loved this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am so glad that I discovered this series. Harry has a great p

    I am so glad that I discovered this series. Harry has a great
    personality and analytical mind that keeps the story interesting.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    It is one of the best of Harry....very good read!

    Harry Bosch has a down to earth, regular fellow personality. He has to bear his soul to the shrink to get his old job back, and although he resists at first, he ends this book knowing himself better than even he thought possible. He is like the last coyote he is afraid he may never see again......

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Coyote

    First off, Michael Connelly is my favorite mystery writer (very different from crime writers such as George Pelecanos and Richard Price, whom I advise to check out). Connelly created a great character in Bosch, a detective that is very easy to identify with and learn to greatly admire. This is my fourth Connelly novel (I am reading them in order, which I would advise any new Connelly readers to do, because of the way he connects each novel, despite who the central character is) and so far, it is impossible for me to pick a favorite. His first three are written so well, compelling me to read so much in a short period of time, and The Last Coyote is no different.
    I never give away too much plot in my reviews so all I'll say is that Connelly allows Bosch to solve his most personal case in the Last Coyote, the murder of his mother in 1961. Bosch goes to great lengths and danger to solve the case, and it was a pleasure to follow him on his journey.
    I'm very new to Connelly's work and I intend for that to change as I continue to read his novels. Not that this is difficult to do, because his books are just so great. Connelly is a master of mystery fiction and reader's unaware of his work should read them, just remember, read them in order, you's understand why.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    loved this book!

    I love Harry Bosch books, but this one has been my favorite thus far. I am always on the edge of my seat and absolutely can't put them down. I am looking forward to reading the rest in this series.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Great story!

    Like all other Connelly books, this one grabs you on the first page and doesn't let go until last. A murder mystery at its best, this story is complicated enough to keep you guessing, while at the same time, easy to pick up from your bookmark.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Wow

    My only mistake was reading City of Bones and Lost Light before I read the first 3 Harry Bosch novels (great books, just wish I would have started from the beginning to understand Bosch better) - if you like the Harry Bosch novels, then you have to read this book to know the man. Harry is so complex - he can't seem to help himself, but you really can't help but like him. Michael Connelly really delved deep into Harry's soul in this book and the storyline was wonderful - just when you think you might have it figured out - you don't. Read this book.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I ENJOY HARRY BOSCH SERIES, BUT HAD STARTED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE

    I ENJOY HARRY BOSCH SERIES, BUT HAD STARTED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SERIES. NOW I'M PLAYING "CATCH-UP" WITH THESE BOOKS. STRONGLY RECOMMEND READERS TO START AT #1 AND GET A LISTING OF THE SERIES

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch ser

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series in order, and I LOVE them. I am a big mystery/detective story fan, and I have tried so many different series from different authors, but I finally found the one for me! What can I say? I often find myself not really liking the main characters in novels, but I truly like Harry; he is a good guy - not perfect, but he works hard, isn't a womanizer, and isn't overly macho. All of the stories are well-written, realistic, contain surprises and twists, and keep me hooked until the very end. My favorites have been The Black Echo (#1), The Concrete Blonde (#3), Trunk Music (#5), City of Bones (#8), The Narrows (#10), although again - I enjoyed all of them. If you like detective mystery novels, you won't be disappointed with Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Riveting story

    The book held my interest all the way through. Good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Captivating

    Great look at the inner works of Harry Bosch.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Another excellent Harry Bosch novel

    Once you get hooked on the character of Harry you want to read each of the books in the series. This one does not disappoint and continues to make you want to flip the page to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    recommend

    This is my third Connelly book, and he does not disappoint. I especially liked this book because due to the personal nature of the case for Bosch, you really get to know the character...where he came from and what makes him tick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Michael Connelly is a superior storyteller. A must read author.

    I have enjoyed all of Connelly's books about Harry Bosch. I love getting to know him, finding about his background and upbringing and can't wait for more. I am currently on the last book of the first trilligy and look forward to the Angle coming out Nov.1st.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous

    I'd never read Connelly before I read this book. I have since read every book in the series. Harry Bosch just makes you want to be better and do better. The world tries to knock him down, but he just keeps fighting back. His motto in every one of his books is 'everybody counts or nobody counts' - that motto is personified in this book when he searches for the truth behind his mother's murder. To say anything more would be giving away key details. Just know that this book is a winner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Can't help but LOVE Harry!

    Harry is determined to find out what happened to his mother and will stop at nothing to do so. Ya gotta love a guy who just doesn't give up! I've read all the Harry Bosch novels with the exception of the last three (Angels Flight, City of Bones, Lost Light), up to now, all have been fantastic reads! If you're on the fence about jumping in, make sure to with both feet - you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A dark trip into the past of Harry Bosch

    The beauty of Michael Connelly's protagonist, Harry Bosch, is that he is a deeply flawed hero that you want to root for but he doesn't always make it easy. Here Bosch is dealing with the events of the last novel and decides to look into a cold case that has a truly personal connection to him. Through the twists and turns of the investigation Bosch is haunted by the past and the ramifications his actions are having on those around him. There were multiple unexpected events that make this book almost fantastic. The book is grim and depressing at times but Harry's drive to do what's right while not being preachy is a delight. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    A Perfect Nightmare 11

    (I know some people actually like my story but SOSA, TWPA, & I have been discussing and decided to end our stories when our characters start on the quest. Sorry but please read Twisted Stories by our friend TSA and story parts at philip gould: an unfinished life. Btw, she's TGCSA's older sis!) When we got down Terra and Tina were both chatting to eachother wanting to learn new tecniques. "Terra, I've never been outbeatened by a greek before," Tina exclaimed and Terra just shrugged. "I just practice alot." "Hey," I called out waving to them. "Oh, thats Anna's friend Esmerelda," Tina explained to Terra. "Cool." The two girls walked over smiling. "Um, I saw you two fighting and your both so good and I'm wondering if the both of you are interested on going on a quest with Crystal, Seth, and me," I asked uncertainly while indicating to my two friends. "I've never been on a quest before," Tina exclaimed. "So of course I'll go but hasn't Crystal been on one before?" Crystal flicked the question away with a swift wave of her hand. "I'll go too since I'm pretty sure you need a pro sword fighter," Terra said sarcastically. "Also you need a girl who's afraid uf spiders!" "Your a daughter of Athena," I asked recalling the story of Arachne and Athena. She nodded enthusiastically. "That means your super smart," I cried. "I'm so happy you guys are joining us! We'll leave at ten o' clock so I would reccomend deeply to start packing." Tina eyes opened wide and she raced off to the Zeus Cabin. Terra nodded and strided to her cabin and as she left I heard the soft murmer of,"I'm on a quest with Esmerelda. I'm on a quest with Esmerelda ..." <p> After I had packed I joined my cabin mates who were all addicted to grape flavored drinks to the pavillion to have a quick meal before the quest. I checked my watch that my mom gave me and saw that it was Nine. Good. That meant we would have an hour to eat and then we're off. Chiron- who I still didn't trust no matter how many superheroes he trained -trotted over to me. "Well, Esmerelda Giggle, Terra told me about your leaving but remember you have one more person to choose and Rachel wants to meet with you at 9:30 after your dinner so eat up!" I nodded but stayed silent until he had turned away and headed back to his table. When I was done I dumped my offerings to the gods into the fire then headed to the Big House to meet with Rachel. I knocked on the door and when nobody answered I invited myself in. I followed the stairs to the attic where Rachel was sitting be herself eating a salmon burger. "Hi!" I cried. She looked up and beckoned me over. "I think you should invite Anna Windsley because she has an important discovery on this quest that she needs to go. I saw it in my dreams last night but didn't remember until a couole of hours ago," Rachel told me while pushing her plate away from her. "And I wish you good luck!" "Thanks for everything Rachel," I said smiling. I turned to leave but before going I ran over to her and gave her a nice big hug. "Oh! Thanks," Rachel murmered into my ear. We btoke apart and I left the room while thanking how kind Rachel had been to me during my stay at Camp Half Blood. But now I had to face a highly dangerous quest! I walked out into the cool night air and started searching for Anna Windsley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    To the stroy

    Title could be the kings evil desire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    To the story

    Awesome but I agree it could use a better title

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15