Customer Reviews for

The Last Days

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Where will you spend eternity?

This series of 5 books is an exciting, attention getting, thought provoking and fast reading novel of one view of the Bible prophecy in Ezekiel and Revelations. It is tied to the real world situation of today and possible events of tomorrow.

Well written, with refer...
This series of 5 books is an exciting, attention getting, thought provoking and fast reading novel of one view of the Bible prophecy in Ezekiel and Revelations. It is tied to the real world situation of today and possible events of tomorrow.

Well written, with references cited, it will make any thinking person consider current events from a Biblical perspective. Any non-christian can read this and be entertained while examining the assertions in light of their own beleifs and the prophecy mentioned.

posted by Bill-D on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You cannot miss any book by Rosenberg! Ahead of our times but predicting the certain future.

Joel Rosenberg has the pulse of our nation. He is very accurate with details and history. He can blend a fictional story into our present world situation letting the reader see a glimpse of what might be should our country continue down the present road!

posted by rfeiler on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where will you spend eternity?

    This series of 5 books is an exciting, attention getting, thought provoking and fast reading novel of one view of the Bible prophecy in Ezekiel and Revelations. It is tied to the real world situation of today and possible events of tomorrow.

    Well written, with references cited, it will make any thinking person consider current events from a Biblical perspective. Any non-christian can read this and be entertained while examining the assertions in light of their own beleifs and the prophecy mentioned.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Last Days

    The Last Days grabs you by the throat on the first page and doesn't let go. The opening terrorist attack and gun battle/car chase is spell binding, pure and simple. So is the premise of a new hot war in the Middle East driven by the Iranians and Syrians (masterminded by a Russian fascist/ultranationalist). Fascinating are the prospect of natural gas and oil being discovered in the Holy Land, and the idea that all the terrorism and Middle East wars we see today are actually evidence of the biblical last days. But most interesting is Rosenberg's exploration of the nature of evil and how few people really understand what evil is. 'Suicide bombers and the groups and states that funded them -- they weren't misguided or misunderstood. They were controlled by evil. Pure evil. And evil couldn't be negotiated with. It could only be hunted down, captured and destroyed. Like a cancer or ebola. Ignore those possessed by evil and they'd kill you. Fast or slow, it didn't matter. Remove some but not all traces of the virus and it would kill you. Fast or slow, it was just a matter of time. Bennett could see it clearly now. To misunderstand the nature of evil is to risk being blindsided by it. For evil, unchecked, is the prelude to genocide.' (pg. 41) Well said, and much needed in this day and age when so many seem to be getting distracted away from the threat evil still poses to us. Rosenberg somehow manages to combine Clancy's early, better, heart-pounding technothrillers with a generous portion of Vince Flynn's political intrigue and a dash of Lahaye-like end times prophecy, and it works. I'd heard him on Limbaugh and Hannity last year and decided to read his first political thriller, The Last Jihad. It was excellent, and like Rush, I couldn't wait for the sequel. It was worth the wait. I haven't read David Baldacci's Split Second yet, but The Last Days may turn out to be the best political thriller of the year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Last Days

    Was a GREAT book, can not put it down. Makes you think about the times we live in. Recommend the whole series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Last Days

    Wow. A non-stop adrenaline rush into the Evil Empire of radical Islam. Grabs you from the very first sentence and never lets go. 'The Last Days' is a gutsy new breed of political thriller ¿- almost prophetically forecasting what you¿ll read in tomorrow¿s headlines. Joel C. Rosenberg is a rising new star on the American fiction scene.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Part four! NOW DIE! derpity derp derp

    5 moons had passed since that fateful storm. Badgerkit and Rootkit were now 5 moons. Rootkit had turned into a skinny russet kit, so skinny Mistheart often fretted about her health. Her eyes were big pools of green-not that anyone knew. Rootkit was very insecure, and even more shy. She avoided eye contact with everyone at all times, whether it be the leader or her own mother. On top of that, Wavekit and Snowkit, 2 other kits in the nursury, constantly picked on her, which didn't help at all.
    On this particular night, the nursury oozed excitment. The kits were moving out. Tommarrow they'd be apprentices!
    Stormkit, Wavekit and Snowkit's brother, lept around the den, crying, "Tommarrow I'll be Stormpaw! Tommarrow I'll be Stormpaw!" The kits tackled eachother, just as excited as the gray kit.
    Off in a far corner, Rootkit sat. It was her favorite spot. No warrior could scrunitize her here. She had heard the rumors: everyone thought, being related to the two most outgoing cats in the Clan, that something was wrong with her.
    There wasn't. That was just how she was.
    As usual, Wavekit and Snowkit strode cockily over to her semi safehouse. "I bet 5 fish that Squirrelstar rejects Rootkit as an apprentice!" Wavekit taunted. Snowkit scoffed. "No way I'm agreeing to that! It's obviously gonna happen!" She snickered.
    Rootkit had one law when it came to bullies-never react. If she did, it would do her no good. Their mother wouldn't save her. If anything, Rabbittail encouraged their behavior.
    A swish from the entrance distracted the two kits. In came Dustwind, their father. Dustwind was covered head to toe in scars, and the scowl on his gray face confirmed he wasn't to be messed with. And that, if anything, was true.
    "Dad!" The three kits yowled in unison. Dustwind ignored them, instead, heading straight for his mate. He muttered something to Rabbittail, and Rabbittail muttered something back. Then, as quickly as it had began, the moment was gone. Dustwind turned to his kits. "One step closer to being a warrior," was all he said. The kits cheered.
    No acknowlagement was made to the others in the den.
    The big tom padded out of the nursury, his kits still struggling for his attention. Suddenly, out of nowhere, Dustwind's tail whooshed towards her, sending her flying- right into a pile of soiled bedding!
    Getting up, Rootkit spat out moss and shook herself. Some moss slid into her face, and she blew it away. Swiftly she spun around-to see everyone laughing at her!
    Rootkit felt her whiskers tingle in embarrassment. Choking back a sob, she pushed past everyone until she reached her nest.
    On her last night as a kit, Rootkit cried herself to sleep.

    Rootkit bolted awake. Pain shot through her left ear, but she was not surprized. Wavekit had probably snuck a fire ant in it. Not the first time. Shrugging, Rootkit settled down in her nest.
    That's when she heard it.
    A rustle.
    The kind of rustle only a cat in a hurry can make.

    Next part at stalker res. 5. Your next task awaits. I love critism, so keep on commenting!
    Yours mewly,
    Rootflower

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Execellent, thrilling

    When you read this book, have your bible ready and think about the news and you will have a chill down your spine. This is very prophetical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    You cannot miss any book by Rosenberg! Ahead of our times but predicting the certain future.

    Joel Rosenberg has the pulse of our nation. He is very accurate with details and history. He can blend a fictional story into our present world situation letting the reader see a glimpse of what might be should our country continue down the present road!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I enjoyed this book

    I like Joel Rosenberg's books about the situation in the middle east.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Insider Thriller

    The author knows whereof he speaks and it shows! Good fast read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Reading this book was like reading Atlas Shrugged--history happe

    Reading this book was like reading Atlas Shrugged--history happening as I was reading. When the Secretary of State and Yassar Arafat are killed , the headlines proclaimed that 4 people had been killed in Bengahzi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A must read!

    Suspense to the last drop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    A Must Read

    Wow!! is all I can say.
    A thriller of the first magnitude.
    I read to sleep every night....needless to say, I didn't get much sleep with this book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    The+Last+Days

    2nd+in+the+series.+FAST+paced+drama%2C+you+wont+be+able+to+put+this+one+down.++From+glimpses+into+the+Situation+Room+or+operations+of+an+underground+intelligence+location+in+Iraq+this+book+sounds+like+current+events.+Loved+it%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good follow up to "The Last Jihad"

    This is the second book in Rosenberg's 5 part series. I could barely put the first book (The Last Jihad) down, and I gave that book 5 stars. I only gave this book 4 stars. It is a great read, I was interested in the characters and wanted to see what happened to them, but it didn't hold me as much as the Last Jihad did. I still recommend it and I will continue the series for sure, but I missed the tight writing of the first book, but still, I say, get the books and read them, it's a great series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Zionist Propaganda

    I can't figure out why this book would make it to the New York Times best seller list except for the fact that it sold a certain magical number of copies. I enjoyed some of the action scenes and I really tried to get into the plot but that was not possible. First of all I was put off by all the one-sided anti-Palestinian, anti-Muslim propaganda. In this book with few exceptions all the Americans and Israelis were the good guys and only the Muslim world and in particular the Palestinians were the bad guys. Come on, please show a little more respect for some of us Americans, we are not all hoping for the End Days and a return of the Messiah. Some of us just want to enjoy a good fiction story that is credible and is not pregnant with sound bites from fox news or Michael Savage's program. We all know that the Israelis are occupying land that is not theirs and that Israelis have been involved in numerous terrorist events such as the bombing of the King David Hotel and violent, deadly invasion of their neighbors.

    If you want me to get into your story, try to do a little more research and put a bit more of the truth into it, otherwise it comes across as just another disinformation publication and in which case it definitely does not deserve the accolades it has received. My point is that overall the book SUCKS!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Eerily prescient and fascinatingly historic!!

    A very "current" read and one that made me ready for the next in the series. It is extremenly fascinating that Rosenberg seems to be just ahead of current events or events that play out very much like he "forsees". Should be read by everyone!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Don't judge this book by its cover ...

    With an author named Joel C. Rosenberg, a focus on the Middle East, and an author bio citing work for an Israeli prime minister and other mainstream leaders, I thought I knew what I was getting into. But instead of the expected political thriller, this one turns into a a Christian pre-millenial adventure cheered on by an aged, but wise, retired Israeli official who delivers an almost-comic diatribe about having read the New Testament and -- guess what? -- realizing that all along, Jesus has been the Messiah. This wacky interlude, and some of the fore-shadowings in the book, became clear when I researched Joel C. Rosenberg and learned he is a messianic Jew -- or, as his own website puts it, an evangelical Christian who converted from Judaism. Clearly, his publisher or whoever directed production of the book jacket, thought it best not to raise the Christian connection of this seemingly Jewish author. To paraphrase a well-known saying, some of my best friends are evangelical Christians (true) but they're honest,upfront and respectful. They know who they are and don't pretend to be anyone else -- even to sell books. Joel C. Rosenberg and his promoters should learn from them.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Last Days

    The Middle East is a hot spot. The leaders America considers to be enemies are dead and there is a fortune in new oil to be had. Stepping in to calm the brewing storm is Jon Bennett, former Wall Street guru, now key political figure in the President's human arsenal. He and his lovely partner, Erin McCoy go to the Palestinan region hoping to broker a lasting peace. However, a war that has it's beginnings in the rivalry between Abraham's sons will not die easily. To achieve peace, they will have to thwart those to whom war is a cherished possession. ............... *** In this book, you see how war can affect even the smallest aspects of life as minor worries take on major proportions. Tension ripples from every page. While the expected religious focus is absent, it is a fascinating look at how the secular world views what the end might be like. ***

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    fantastic political thriller that is escapist fun

    United States President James MacPherson sends Secretary of State Tucker Paine and White House advisor Jon Bennett to the Middle East to broker a peace between the Israelis and the Palestinians. Accompanying the American envoys is Jon¿s Arabic speaking CIA body guard and lover Erin McCoy. The hope this time is based on a find of a major oil reserve that can make everyone wealthy and thus desiring stability and peace. However, the terrorist group Al-Nakbah assigns Arafat¿s personal bodyguard Khalid al-Rashid to commit suicide by blowing himself along with Arafat and Paine to death in the explosion. <P>Arafat¿s death leads to civil war in the Gaza Strip. Jon and Erin struggle to survive with their mission demolished by the suicide bombing. Al-Nakbah also brings their brand of terrorism to America and challenges Israel, forcing the Zion State to react with an invasion of the West Bank and Gaza. <P>The tale uses recent real world events like the Iraqi War to bring a sense of reality to the tale, with the story line taking place under the direction of the forty-fourth president. The action is fast-paced and never slows down from the moment Arafat is assassinated until the climax. Fans of the author (see THE LAST JIHAD) will enjoy this fantastic political thriller that is escapist fun especially for the Viagra enhanced action crowd. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    Fantastic thriller -- better than the first

    I read Rosenberg's first novel, The Last Jihad, after hearing him talk about it on Sean Hannity and Rush Limbaugh's shows last year. It was amazing how he'd written a fictional book that begins with a kamikaze airplane attack against the United States that leads to a war with Iraq -- all written before 9/11 or the actual war with Iraq. I bought it immediately and read it in one day. It was excellent. When I heard that he had a sequel coming out, I got it immediately and raced through it as well. The Last Days is better than the first in my opinion, and maybe even more timely, and practically prophetic. Reading the fcitional opening sequence about the attack against a U.S. diplomatic convoy heading into Gaza was amazing and bizarre given that something like that just happened last week for real. The attack on the Temple Mount is incredible. Characters are a bit more fully developed, too -- and the ending is unbelievable! Makes you wonder if Yasir Arafat really is facing his 'last days.' Hope there's a third to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4