Customer Reviews for

The Last Days of Dogtown

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unique Story

    This book was very unique in its structure. In the first chapter, we meet all the inhabitants of Dogtown as they come together to look over the dead body of Abraham Wharf. Meeting so many characters at once was a little overwhelming, I worried that I would not remember everyone. However, each subsequent chapter tells a story about one of the characters that we meet in the beginning. Through each of these stories, we learn more and more about the individuals who make Dogtown their home. Around half way through the novel, I realized that I cared what happened to some of these characters, I didn't want Oliver to get into trouble and ruin his future and I wanted Judy to find love. Overall, a beautifully written book about a difficult time in early American history, ripe with interesting and entertaining characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Beautiful

    This book is brlliant. Don't find the first chapter daunting. You will meet all of the town's inhabitants and although it may seem overwhelming, all the characters soon become individuals with their own stories and plot lines. This is a wonderful book. I could not put it down and strongly recommend it to any one who enjoys good literature..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Excellent!

    Just finished this book in hardback. Loved the characters. All rather odd. I held my breath sometimes hoping for the best for all of them, but expecting the worst. I was surprised many times. Well worth your time and money! A+++++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    MY FAVORITE.. A FICTIONAL STORY ABOUT A REAL SETTLEMENT..

    I LIVE NEARBY AND CAN IMMAGINE WHAT LIFE IN THE SETTLEMENT WAS LIKE BACK THEN.. EASY TO READ AND NOT TOO WORDY..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    the last days of dogtown

    i was so disapointented after i read this book, it was so boring i hated reading it. I have read both the red tent and good harbor and enjoyed both of them, this is nothing like the other two and is terrible. it made me want to fall asleep while reading it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    So Disappointed!

    After reading and absolutely loving 'The Red Tent', I couldn't wait to read 'Last Days of Dogtown'. What a disappointment! I was bored and depressed by this book. I never felt involved enough with the characters or the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    A lover of Dogtown

    I nearly didn't buy this book because of a negative review I read. Thank goodness I did purchase it. This is a great book. It presents an accurate picture of life at that time. I loved the characters and cared deeply about them due to the author's ability to fully develop the personality of each. I have recommended this book to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Exceeded my expectations

    A shame this novel did not receive the same acclaim as 'The Red Tent'. It is a wonderful story of women and friendship in the very worst of circumstances. The author's ability to transport us to another era with her gift of language is remarkable. A wonderful read for all and great for discussion at a book club setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Quirky not cohesive.....

    Generally, I keep clear of quirky authors, but since I live in MA, I wanted to read a story about a place (North Shore) that I know well. The author uses the chapters to introduce us to the characters but for most of the book, she never integrates them into one story. This book can be called a character study and although the characters are somewhat strange and unique, it was difficult to remember who they were and how they relate to the ongoing storyline. I read historical fiction books and can say that I've read much better stories. This book would be a good 'beach read' because it wasn't difficult to put it down and pick it up again because of its lack of cohesion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    dysfunctional lives of the 1800's

    Thought provoking and depressing all at once. Have not read anything that brought my mood so down since Sylvia Plath's 'The Bell Jar.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Nothing Special

    I was so excited to read another Diamont book, the Red Tent was one of my all time favorites! However, this book did not come close! I tought it was boring and slow. The characters were simple. In looking back on the book I feel like death and illness was the major component. The only reason I finished it was b/c I have enjoyed Diamont's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Boring...

    Okay - since I didn't particularly like Red Tent, I don't know why I chose this book. What is the point! Very boring story about boring characters. I had hoped for at least some historical character. Not much there either. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    PRIME DIAMENT SUPERBLY READ

    Three-time Tony Award nominee Kate Nelligan gives an intense, mesmerizing performance in this story of an early New England town inhabited by an array of lost souls. It's an unforgiving place where eking out even a hardscrabble existence is difficult. Perched on the shore of Cape Ann, Massachusetts, the town is pejoratively referred to as Dogtown because its residents are wild dogs, the very poor and the disabled, both mentally and physically. At the core of this narrative is Judy Rhimes, a woman in mid life who has know hardship and heartbreak. It is she who provides an example to many. We meet Black Ruth, a sturdy woman who labors as a stone mason and usually dons men's garb. There's overbearing Mrs. Stanley, owner of the local brothel, and Cornelius Finson a freed slave who is Rhimes's lover. Outsiders are prone to believe that witches are the primary residents of Dogtown. Listen to this estimable reading and discover for yourself. It's prime Anita Daiment! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Brilliant, Insightful, Recommended reading!

    One cannot compare this book, 'The Last Days of Dogtown' to any other. This small complex community of people all had their stories to tell yes, even the dogs were synonymous, and they all became 'Dogtown'. Ms. Diamant tells this story brilliantly. I learned from each of these people, in increments, giving forth the whole story of Dogtown. Sometimes we may wish that a character can be more fully developed, so we can get a handle on them to identify with them up front and personal, or put them into spaces that are recognizable and to our liking...But because these people shared their stories as small slices of life, it allowed me to ponder and to reason through their pain, their sorrow, and even their joys. And through this sadness of this dying little town, I was able to reason, why. The land of this area was not fertile, and the inhabitants spoke of every pain and sorrow that can defeat us. If we look deep within the walls of what Ms. Diamant reveals, we see the applications that fit into our lives. There are strong characters, and there are weak characters.....and Ms. Diamant allows us to identify with the ones we choose. This story speaks volumes of the courage it takes to recognize our limitations, and break away from what we know. It shows courage to see our weaknesses and our strengths, and to accept what we cannot change, or find what we can. When I write about this book, I cannot do it justice. The diversity of the human mind grasps thoughts and channels them in a way that only our own hearts can see. To read this book, and to see what it held for me, I found an insight I will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    I loved this book

    As I began reading this book I felt a bit overwhelmed by the intorduction of 17 people (widows, orphans, spinsters, freed Africans, prostitutes) who are all attending the wake of the patariarch of the community of Dogtown on Cape Ann, Ma. But then the author devotes chapter after chapter to the last inhabitants, including the dogs incidently, whose presence has inspired the name of the community. As the individual background stories unfold what becomes of these people is a fascinating intermingling of each life. This is a melancholy story, but there are moments of great joy and love as well as retribution and reward. Not for everyone, this book but so wonderfully told by Ms Diamant. When she describes the cold and the heat of the settings, you feel it. Again, I love, love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Fascinating story of 19th century New England

    Diamant is sure to please fans of The Red Tent with this historical novel as she once again manages to make a distant place and time come alive. Dogtown is a poverty stricken village on Cape Ann, Massachusetts and this is the story of the people who were too poor, too sick or too old to move away. Each chapter is a character study interwoven into a story that brings Dogtown of the early 1800's to life. Judy Rhines is an unmarried woman whose secret lover Cornelius is a freed slave, and she is at the heart of the story. Other townsfolk include the madam, Mrs. Stanley, a female stonemason, Black Ruth, who dresses like a man, Oliver Younger who lives with his very strange aunt, and Easter Carter, whose diminutive size belies a big heart. Their stories will linger long after the last page is turned in this fascinating story of 19th century New England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Another disappointment from Ms. Diamant

    What an incredible disappointment, another miss for this author after writing The Red Tent. In fact, it¿s hard for me to understand how this can be the same author. First of all the story line of this dying town is so depressing with no bright spots or interesting, bright characters, who could care about them. I tried to read this book three times and couldn¿t make it past 50 pages, I passed it to a friend and she lasted about 20 pages. I am an avid reader and The Red Tent is one of my favorite books, I so wanted to like this, but there were no interesting situations and the slow pace of the book was frustrating. This is not a book that I would encourage anyone to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    FABULOUS READ

    Anita Diamant has done it again. You won't be able to put this novel down. If you're into the history of the northshore of the Boston area or not, you'll love the characters she's created. It'll be a story that will last in your heart for quite some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2