Customer Reviews for

The Last Days of Krypton: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Another great book by Kevin J Anderson. I love how he takes all that Krypton lore that DC has seeped out over the last 100 years and compiles it all into a thrilling story. Great job! 5 stars.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    A Much-Need Addition to Superman Canon

    Anderson's "The Last Days of Krypton" adds astonishing depth to an oft-overlooked portion of the vast Superman mythos.

    A life-long fan of Superman, learning more about Kal-El's birthplace and the thrilling exploits of his biological family as Krypton hovered on the precipice of doom was a great treat. The rise and fall of Zod, the love between Jor-El and Lara, the bond of brotherhood between Jor-El and Zor-El.all fantastic adventures that had never been told with such detail.

    I highly recommend this book to other Superman fans and only wish that there were more eBooks featuring DC Comics characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So pleasantly surprised!! Great book!!

    I'm not sure how in this world, or any other, Anderson wrote a story I already knew but still surprised and thrilled me. To say I loved this book would be a huge understatement. I'm not a big Superman but I loved this story and the best thing about it, it that you don't need to know anything about Superman to enjoy the tale. However, if you do know some of the history, it'll be even more enjoyable. Krypton's history was fantastic and immense and I could go on forever. Seriously, a great piece of fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Last Days!!!

    This novel allows the reader to delve into many characters that have been mere sketches and pieces of a world described but never explored.
    I note Anderson among my favorite authors. And as a Superman fan since I could walk, I couldn't resist picking up this book. Though the story is only indirectly about Superman, the book isn't any less interesting.
    This book is easy to read, occasionally whimsical, and always compelling.
    This book is for both Superman and non-Superman fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Scifi Tale

    Mr. Anderson has wound together a wonderful "science fiction" tale that stands on its own away from the comic book universe. You would not need to be familiar with the Superman story to enjoy this book which addresses politics, greed, human tragedy and many other intriguing themes. The book answers all the questions that many Superman readers have always asked such as:

    * With all of Krypton's great science, why was only Ka-el spared the destruction of the planet?
    * How was Krypton actually destroyed?
    * Who was Zod and what evil deeds did he do?
    * What really happened to Kandor?
    * What is actually the story behind the use of The Phantom Zone?

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone that likes a good science fiction story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just as he did with 'Captain Nemo', Anderson manages to weave a coherent story out of many loose plot lines. Drawing on elements from both the comic book and movie series, the doomed world of Krypton comes alive, if only to meet its fate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good book!

    If you are a Superman fan and love to read, you will love this book! Best vision of Krypton i have ever seen! I could not put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Excellent Science Fiction Tale!

    Mr. Anderson has wound together a wonderful ¿science fiction¿ tale that stands on its own away from the comic book universe. You would not need to be familiar with the Superman story to enjoy this book which addresses politics, greed, human tragedy and many other intriguing themes. The book answers all the questions that many Superman readers have always asked such as: ¿ With all of Krypton¿s great science, why was only Ka-el spared the destruction of the planet? ¿ How was Krypton actually destroyed? ¿ Who was Zod and what evil deeds did he do? ¿ What really happened to Kandor? ¿ What is actually the story behind the use of The Phantom Zone? I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone that likes a good science fiction story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    Great novel. Tells the story of Kal'El's (Superman) parents in a

    Great novel. Tells the story of Kal'El's (Superman) parents in an entertaining and absorbing story that is riveting enough to be a canon origin story in the DC Universe. I heard Mr. Anderson read the first chapter in this book before its publishing and was addicted from that moment. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Superman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    THIS PREQUIL IS WELL WORTH THE READ IF YOU ARE A SUPERMAN FAN

    Since nineteen forty eight I have been a fan of Superman, starting with the comic book series when I was three years of age. Even though I had not been taught to read at that age, schooling was not as advanced as it is today, I was able to glean the basic idea from the fantastic artwork upon those pages. Whenever a new copy came to the corner drugstore I would purchase a ten cent copy and be lost in another epic adventure. This continued through the seventh grade when I was forced by my stepfather to truly read a novel from cover to cover instead of scanning it for a school book report. Trying only to show me the magic of the written word where I hated reading in itself, my stepfather did not know that he would turn me into a novel a day fanatic. Unfortunately this lead to my leaving the comic books behind and the only stories of Superman I would see were on television or at the movies. Needless to say when novels abut Superman started to come out, I was overjoyed. However with the few books that were on the market none of them covered what Krypton or its people was actually like. "THE LAST DAYS OF KRYPTON" painted that word picture for me and I could image what I had long awaited to hear and see. I believe the Kevin J. Anderson tried to keep his story line close to what one would find in a comic book, to give it the feel one would get for scanning the pages in that format. In that, he did very well and I commend him for that accomplishment. If you wish to acquire a more precise picture that fills in a lot of the unanswered questions, then this is the book for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kevin J. Anderson in his new book, "The Last Days Of Krypto

    Kevin J. Anderson in his new book, "The Last Days Of Krypton" published by It Books gives us an adventure on Superman's home planet, Krypton, with his father, Jor-El, before Krypton explodes.




    From the back cover: Before the cataclysm that sent the infant Kal-El rocketing toward a remarkable future as Earth's indestructible protector, his home planet Krypton flourished. Before treachery, technology, and nature conspired to doom an unparalleled civilization, the brilliant scientist Jor-El and the beautiful artist and historian Lara met, fell in love, and married. There were great heroes in those halcyon days. And there were just as many villains: the evil android Brainiac, who planned to capture the capital city of Kandor; the diabolical General Zod, who used lies and chaos to seize power and usher in an era of cruelty, repression, and terror.




    And through it all, an inescapable violence loomed ever closer--a catastrophic destiny foretold by Jor-El that would reshape humankind forever....




    When I was a kid I was like a lot of other Superman fans I just could not get enough Krypton stories that mostly featured Jor-El, Superman's father. The writers back then made Krypton such a wonderful place full of great places to visit, advanced science and villains. Now Mr. Anderson has taken all the history of Krypton before it exploded pieced it all together and has given us an epic adventure. He who will become the villainous General Zod is just a Commissioner in this story but he takes over control of Krypton. Opposing him are the El brothers, Jor-El and Zor-El. Immense evil versus incredible good and the fate of Krypton rests on the outcome. We can clearly see that Superman's heroism is genetic as Jor-El fights for his planet and his people. Mr. Anderson has written a thriller as Jor-El's life is in great danger as he takes a stand against Zod. He has also written one of the absolute best stories that I have read this year! There is so much going on that you really will not want to do anything else until you finish this book. Mr. Anderson has given us a highly entertaining story that is very imaginative. I would like more stories from Mr. Anderson please.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from It Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Just amazing

    I loved this book! It was an amazing/different story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Gggggggggvvv

    Tgstachcy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Last days of kryton

    It took me about 6 days to read it was hard to put down the first time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Mars

    I can not believe that the martian manhunter is in this book, even if the appearance is for about page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pre Superman

    This is one great book! So rich in details with the superman lore. If you are a fan and want to visit the doomed planet of krypton this is the book for you! It is entertaining, gives you more knowledge to many questions! Dont miss out !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Good Read for Comic Fans

    Give it a two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2