Customer Reviews for

Last Days of Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    My Favorite Book

    I have read alot of the B&N Classics series and I believe this book belongs up with them. This was recommened to me by my 6th grade science teacher and I have loved the book ever since. It is hilarious and dark, and I cry everytime at the end. Everytime you read it you really get into the characters minds with the creative style Kluger wrote this book with. With his use of checklists, letters, telegrams, and reports he makes this book jump out at you, and makes it stay there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read--probably my favorite. I love the way it's written through letters, notes, etc. It's clever, funny, and touching--there haven't been many books that have made me cry, but this one becomes personal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    One of my all-time FAVORITES!!!

    A wonderfully written book. The use of telegrams, handwritten letters, and notes from the teacher and principal to the parent to tell the story is so great! It will make you laugh out loud one page and break your heart the next. I love the intertwining of baseball, World War II, intolerance, heros, movie and broadway stars, and unconditional love to tell the story. Perfectly wonderful from the first word to the last!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    My all time favorite book!

    I received this book from a friend not long after it came out. It remained on my bookshelf for the longest time until I picked it up and entered the quirky world of Joey. It is a roller coaster ride of childhood exhuberance tempered with the vulnerabilty of real life. I laughed so hard at Joey's antics and cried with him when his heart broke. I have read this book about ten times and yes it IS that GOOD of a book. Steve Kluger is an insightful story teller and is able to get you in touch with your inner Joey. I recommend this book often and it will remain my all time favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    It was an easy double,but then something happened...

    This book brings to life childlike arrogance and the power of persuasion. I am always drawn to stories told from the point of view of a child, and this extraordinary boy, Joey Margolis, weaseled his way into my heart with his perserverance and sheer desire to meet his childhood legend Charlie Banks. If you enjoy the boyish qualities of boys and men alike, toss in some baseball nostalgia and a dash of oldtime broadway, you'll cherish this delightful story and remarkable protagonist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Wow.

    Amazing book. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    My+favorite+book.+Ever.+

    I+got+this+book+for+my+son+who+loves+to+read+about+baseball.+He+said+it+was+%22awesome%22+so+i+read+it+and+fell+in+love+with+the+characters%2C+the+historical+references+and+the+storytelling.+I+wish+steve+kluger+would+write+more+like+this%2C+it+is+really+the+best+story+i+have+ever+read%2C+and+i+have+read+thousands+of+books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Oh my god, I loved this book.

    I bought it in hardcover when it first came out, devoured it, gave it to my daughter to read, and lost track of it. I laughed out loud, great belly laughs, and I wept ... what a poignant story of a kid and a baseball player. And so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Last Days of Summer by Steve Kluger is a great book and touches on more topics than just baseball. It is set in the era of World War II. The novel is told with letters between the main character, Joey Margolis some victimized professional baseball players, workers at the Bureau of Vital Statistics, and even the president ¿ Although I have indeed considered lowering the voting age as you suggest, I am afraid I would have to draw the line at eighteen. Nine is out of the question'. It is also told throughout notes between Joey and his best friend Craig Nakamura aka The Green Hornet who spy on their neighbor because they think that she is a Nazi, and notes sent home from Joey's teacher to his mother. Joey sends multiple letters to his favorite baseball player, Charlie Banks, which say things such as: Please hit a homerun for me. I am dying of malaria. This book also teaches that family is not only blood and that anyone close to you could be considered family. This book had lots of humor and could be read by all, but I think it was meant for teens because the involvement of sports and the humor in the book is directed and would most likely be appreciated more by teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    so funny, so touching, so start readin' already

    I read this book today and have not been touched like this, by a book, in ages. It was wonderful to get caught up in each of the characters. The format was an ingenious way of fleshing out the characters through words rather than actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    an amazing book!

    This book was fantastic and amazing! it was so much fun to read. it made me laugh so hard and there are a lot of other emotions in this book. an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Wow, great read.

    You could easily read it in one day. I never laughed out loud so much reading a book. It is funny and poignant. A must read and a great Father's Day (grandfather) gift. I highly recommend it and have already passed it on and praised it to others. Don't hesitate, buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Great Entertainment!

    This book reminded me of the similarities of a Neil Simon story. I loved every moment of this book and could almost 'picture' the setting and characters depicted. Can't wait to see this produced as a play someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    I LAUGHED & I CRIED

    I loved the format and the story. This book brought laughter and, at the end, tears. I couldn't put it down...and you won't be able to, either. You don't have to love baseball,you just have to love a good story to enjoy this one. Read this book, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Gem of a book

    last days of the summer is absolutely great. I loved it. You'll practically laugh-out-loud, but in the end it'll almost brek your heart. A MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    AWESOME

    I PICKED IT UP after my classmate did a report on it. I really liked the humor alot of places to laugh. '...Then stuke gave the pitcher the 4 finger sign which in case you don't know means one more time and the bat goes up ur a$$. Then Massi the catcher said Aww pipe down and act ur age. Stuke said Hows ur wife & my kid, 'Fu*% u $hithead'says massi. THen stuke pulled out massi's mask and let it snap back on to his head. tHEN THE BENCHES CLEARED and I got into the fight' I was also sad at the end. I recommend thiss book to everyone who likes baseball or just plain humor. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Above all other books I have read.

    I read this book in about 4 hours. To say I couldn't put it down doesn't describe the emotional flow and experience to come from the pages of Mr. Kluger's book. I broke down and cried for both Joey and Charlie at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Fantastic!

    I loved everything about this book...it's witty, clever, hilarious, touching...etc. Story of a smart, young boy (Joey) in search of a role model (Charlie). He's not afraid to voice his opinions and is clever enough to get people to listen. I laughed out loud on many instances because this book is just that funny. Well written. Mr. Kluger covers every detail and little jokes are found everywhere...This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    A Yankee's Fan: But I love any kind of baseball at heart!

    I just adored and loved this book. I laughed through the two an half days it took me too read....I did not ever want to put it down. And at the end I was in depserate tears as my heart broke with Joey's. If it weren't for the Rabbi's condolence letter....'even though Charlie was Protestant---we've borken all the rules for him already...' In a poignant touchful ending the letter from Charlie to Joey, it signaled the unfortunant end but meaningful end to a wonderfully short lived friendship which in the future would have only flourished more. I hate sad endings, but I adored this one, for no other ending would have worked as well. I applaud the author and would hope to see more fictional baseball storie's from him, or perhaps even a real life one. For a quick emotionally wonderful read pick up 'Last Days of Summer' ASAP! This is my newest favourite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    not a typical baseball story

    it's funny, it's touching, it has an irresistable charm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3