Customer Reviews for

Last Days of Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Very Touching

    The characters in this book have great relationships that is shown in a very unique way through letters. Though this is a fairly difficult concept, the author pulls it off very well and even adds a little humor. It was sweet--perfect for anyone that wants to read a feel-good story with a twisted ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    The Last Days of Summer

    This is a great book, once you start you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    GREAT BOOK

    I loved This book so much. I had to get it for school but after i read it it was great! It was a very emotional book and touched me alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    Thank you, Mr. Kluger

    Thank you for Joey. Thank you for Charlie. Thank you for Aunt Carrie and all the other characters in this book. I just finished reading it and I can honestly say it's been a very long time since I was so touched by a book. I also loved the format of the book. The characters came alive for me from the letters, the misspelled words and the between the lines stuff from matchbook covers to show programs. No matter where you grew up, whether you are a baseball fan or not, a man or a woman, you have to be made of stone not to love Joey and Charlie. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2001

    A must read

    From the moment I picked up 'Last Days of Summer' I was hooked. I read it twice in one week. I don't believe any other book makes you feel as emotionally connected to it's characters as this does. Witty, heartwarming, and depressing all at the same time, this novel will have you laughing out loud, then wiping away tears of grief. I plan on giving many copies out as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    one of my top three

    this is one of my all-time favorite books. I have never laughed so hard while reading a book. You don't have to love baseball or 1940's to enjoy this book either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    A teriffic and moving book

    I just finished reading this and am going out today to buy a dozen copies to give to my friends for Christmas...I laughed, I cried, I couldn't put this one down. One of the most satisfying books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    10-plus stars!!!!!

    I wish more people knew about this book! I worked in a bookstore, and this was all the employee's summer pick 2 years ago. We sold it to everyone, and told people to bring it back if they didn't like it. NO ONE DID! One lady came back and bought 20 more copies to give as gifts! The book is funny and sad, wacky and heart-warming. You will not put this down until you give it away to all your friends. If you stumble on this book ever in your life, please pick it up. It will not let you down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    a sweet story of a friendship

    This was truly one of the sweetest, yet it started out hard-edged novels, I have ever read. I loved the format of a book done exclusively in letters, telegraphs, and notes. I am re-reading it as I speak (write). It is a rare novel that can make you laugh out loud and cry genuinely for the characters. Way to go, Mr. Kluger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    An Awesome Read!!!

    I could not wait to see what happened next in the evolution of the relationships of the characters, but I didn't want the story to ever end...I wanted it to last forever. The characters were real and the situations both hilarously funny and dreadfully sad. I felt completely satisfied by this novel and will recommend it to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    You won't be disappointed!

    This is the easiest read you'll ever have in hand yet explores so many facets of this young man. Easily in the top 5 books I've ever read. You won't be sorry!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    Enchantingly touching

    a great read...heartwarming and fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3