Customer Reviews for

The Last Detective (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Elvis and Joe Together Again

    The Last Detective is one of those books that grabs you from the first few pages and keeps you in the 'I hate to put this down' mode throughout the book. Having a peek into Elvis Cole's past adds another demention to his character in this well written book. Joe Pike continues to be a mysterious personality who will come to the aid of the few he truly cares about. He must have a soft spot somewhere ... the cat likes him!! I felt all the characters in the book were well developed. I knew who I liked, didn't like and why. I had read the earlier Elvis Cole books, but with all the other books out there I had not read him again until The Last Detective. I will most definitely go back and read the few I missed. Page turner, excellent read, well plotted, all of those terms we book lovers use, in my humble opinion of course, apply to this latest Robert Crais book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    I haven't read all of it yet but if you like suspense this is certainly the one for you.

    Well written and hard to put down. Robert Crais is indeed a great writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    If you like Elvis Cole, you'll like this one.

    The usual exciting Cole and partner/best friend Joe Pike. Exciting, interesting and gripping. You never know when some random event will
    turn into a new case for the pair. I love the relationship between these two men and each book is a treat for me. If you like this series, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    The Last Detective

    Crais is a terrific author. He holds your interest from page one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended.

    Great Reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Typical Robert Crais, Great read.

    Robert Crais is one of the best writers for this genre. Elvis Cole and Joe Pike are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Great book!

    I have found a new author of mystery to read. Robert Crais moves quickly and keeps your attention riveted on the characters and the plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Great book

    Enjoy the Elvis Cole series of Robert Crais's books, very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    From Smokeybend

    Awesome read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    An excellent read - just like all the previous Elvis Cole novels!

    Robert Crais does an excellent job of making both Elvis and Joe very real characters. I would definitely want both of them on my side if I were in a situation. Highly recommend every one of the Elvis Cole series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Great read

    Just as good as his previous books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    another good story

    I enjoy the writing and the story. This was a fast paced search for a child. Written to keep you wanting to finish the book. Read it and you will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    better than watching the movie

    Great finish!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly recommend this book

    I recently discovered Robert Crais and really like his 2 characters Joe Pike and Elvis Cole. This book gives a lot of background on Elvis while brining Joe Pike into the picture. I like to rad these types of books in order to get the most enjoyment out of them - actually feel you "know" the characters(i.e. I have read all of the John Sandford "PREY" books in order -all 17 of them!) This book hs a twist to it that you might not expect and uses first person, third person and narrative in a unique way of telling the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gripping read.

    This was a fast paced thriller that is sure to be one of Robert Crais' best books. It grabbed my senses from the very beginning and didn't let up until I finished reading the exciting ending. I think that it is probably one of the darkest books in the series, and it is fascinating how it explores Elvis' past, and Joe Pike's hidden insecurities. I couldn't put the book down and I read it over a two evening period. The only disappointment was the solution of the kidnapping...a little bit contrived and unrealistic in my mind. Still, this is a roller coaster read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Robert Crais has never written a book that is not worth reading. His Elvis Cole series is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Last 30 Pages

    As a big fan of Robert Crais' novels, I enjoyed this one a lot. The wrap-up of the novel was one of the most exciting I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Elvis fan

    I have read the Elvis Cole books up through #11, and have enjoyed them all. He is my favorite World's Greatest Detective. That is, he and Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    1st timer

    this is the first of this series that i have read. it was way better than i thought it would be. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Fast and furious!

    As a long-time Crais fan, this return to the Elvis Cole series is a welcome addition. The added bonus is the return of Carol Starkey (heroine of Demolition Angel--a stand-alone, non Cole title I enjoyed enormously) in a supporting role. The plotting is tight as a tick, the narrative races along with a few nice twists. Cole is more lugubrious this time out (as is long-time sidekick Joe Pike). However, given the seriousness of the plot, Cole's somberness is more than acceptable. This is a book that reads at the speed of light and is highly entertaining, and exceedingly violent. It works, though, because of Crais' great gift of characterization. What doesn't work, and is even mildly embarrassing, is the use of italicized front- and end-pieces that are, essentially, about finding one's 'inner child.' It's a bit too new-agey, a bit too sentimental (even maudlin) for everything Crais has structured in this book. That aside, though, it doesn't seriously detract from a well-wrought book. It's not Crais at his best but it's a long, long way from his worst (that would be Hostage). Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4