BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Detective (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    I haven't read all of it yet but if you like suspense this is certainly the one for you.

    Well written and hard to put down. Robert Crais is indeed a great writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Typical Robert Crais, Great read.

    Robert Crais is one of the best writers for this genre. Elvis Cole and Joe Pike are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    another good story

    I enjoy the writing and the story. This was a fast paced search for a child. Written to keep you wanting to finish the book. Read it and you will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly recommend this book

    I recently discovered Robert Crais and really like his 2 characters Joe Pike and Elvis Cole. This book gives a lot of background on Elvis while brining Joe Pike into the picture. I like to rad these types of books in order to get the most enjoyment out of them - actually feel you "know" the characters(i.e. I have read all of the John Sandford "PREY" books in order -all 17 of them!) This book hs a twist to it that you might not expect and uses first person, third person and narrative in a unique way of telling the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gripping read.

    This was a fast paced thriller that is sure to be one of Robert Crais' best books. It grabbed my senses from the very beginning and didn't let up until I finished reading the exciting ending. I think that it is probably one of the darkest books in the series, and it is fascinating how it explores Elvis' past, and Joe Pike's hidden insecurities. I couldn't put the book down and I read it over a two evening period. The only disappointment was the solution of the kidnapping...a little bit contrived and unrealistic in my mind. Still, this is a roller coaster read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Fast and furious!

    As a long-time Crais fan, this return to the Elvis Cole series is a welcome addition. The added bonus is the return of Carol Starkey (heroine of Demolition Angel--a stand-alone, non Cole title I enjoyed enormously) in a supporting role. The plotting is tight as a tick, the narrative races along with a few nice twists. Cole is more lugubrious this time out (as is long-time sidekick Joe Pike). However, given the seriousness of the plot, Cole's somberness is more than acceptable. This is a book that reads at the speed of light and is highly entertaining, and exceedingly violent. It works, though, because of Crais' great gift of characterization. What doesn't work, and is even mildly embarrassing, is the use of italicized front- and end-pieces that are, essentially, about finding one's 'inner child.' It's a bit too new-agey, a bit too sentimental (even maudlin) for everything Crais has structured in this book. That aside, though, it doesn't seriously detract from a well-wrought book. It's not Crais at his best but it's a long, long way from his worst (that would be Hostage). Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    A Great Read

    Loved it. Elvis Cole is a warm, yet tough character. He garners lots of compassion for himself, as does his sidekick, Pike. Gotta love a big bear like him who always gets the job done. Had been looking forward to more of Starky after reading Demolition Angel but her presence in this book didn't satisfy me. She doesn't seem as real as she did in Demolition Angel. I hope her character gets fleshed out more in the next book. I feel a coming love affair with Elvis??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Elvis leaves you wanting more!

    I was just a little disappointed that the book did not deliver exactly as promised. I would have really liked to have learned more about Elvis' background. I think Crais did a great job with Joe Pike, too bad he didn't continue with Elvis. Going back for the bear would have been like "gilding the lilly" but wouldn't it have been great? Not as good as LA Requiem, but I still liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2