Customer Reviews for

The Last Don

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Puzo Masterpiece!

The book is long, but you will forget the length when you are sucked into the story. From West Coast to East Coast, this book is enthralling.

posted by Anonymous on July 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the best, Not the worst

Initially I choose this book because I am big fan of Mario Puzo. After I started to dig into this novel I was more intrigued page after page. With the twists and turns of a Romance novel combined with the even a more dramatic Mafia atmosphere. From the captivating love ...
Initially I choose this book because I am big fan of Mario Puzo. After I started to dig into this novel I was more intrigued page after page. With the twists and turns of a Romance novel combined with the even a more dramatic Mafia atmosphere. From the captivating love scenes of Athena and her troubles, to the fierce killing scenes of Cross and Dante.
I gave this book three stars because at times it was very slow moving and stagnate. Although it had a lot of action and excitement, it was difficult to get through the long stretches where little was happening.
Still a good story and a great read but it can never top Mario Puzo's number 1 The Godfather.

posted by Italianstallion89 on October 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    The Last Don is a prime example of a novel written by someone wh

    The Last Don is a prime example of a novel written by someone who knew his stuff.  Mario Puzo was well acquainted with organized crime, Las Vegas gaming and show business. He wove a story of the old don attempting to legitimize his family so they and their children would be captains of legal industries.  In addition to the family dynamics built on murder and old grudges, these Mafia members meet their equals in the men who run the casinos and Hollywood. A story well told. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I could not put it down. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    The Last Don

    The Last Don written by Mario Puzo ¿ review by Brandon McKay<BR/><BR/><BR/> Domencio Clericuzio is the Last Don, a wise and ruthless old man who is determined to see his heirs established in a legitimate society but whose vision is threatened when secrets from the family¿s past spark a feud between two blood cousins. The Don is the most powerful man of his time and if the Clericuzio Family was the holy church for the many Mafia families scattered over the U.S. then the head of the family, Don Domencio, was the Pope admired not only for his intelligence, but also for his strength. He was a devout catholic: payment for sins in this world, forgiveness in the next. Every debt had to paid, and he was strict in his judgment in this world. He controlled an empire so large and has enough money to the point were he hopes his dream of legitimacy will be brought to reality. But that¿s what dreams are for, to be torn apart. Croccifixo and Dante, the two cousins, both grow up hidden from the life of crime but inevitably, they uncover the secrets of the past.<BR/> The Last Don is a great story that takes readers inside the equally corrupt worlds of the Mafia, the movie industry, and casinos, where beautiful actresses and ruthless hitmen are ruled by lust, and violence. Where sleazy producers, and greedy studio heads are drunk with power, where crooked cops and desperate gamblers play dangerous games of betrayal, and where one man controls them all¿ <BR/> Murder, extortion, jealousy, and romance, this book is full of it. I love the way Mario Puzo writes his stories; it¿s almost as if he lived the life of the Mob himself. If you read and like this book then you should also read the Godfather series, also by the same author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    BUY THIS BOOK!

    THIS BOOK IS KILLER. I LOVED EVERY PAGE. I CANT RECOMMEND YOU BUY THIS ENOUGH. EVEN IF YOU DONT LIKE THIS TYPE OF BOOK YOU WILL LOVE THIS IT IS A MUST OWN FOR ANY BOOK LOVER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    The best Mafia gangster tale since his Godfather novel.

    A Splendid piece of Crime Fiction by one the world's best loved authors who ever lived in the USA! A Seriously Guilty Pleasure AS with the GODFATHER, The reader gets sucked into the plot immediately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    THE BEST THING I'VE EVER READ

    I LOVE IT AND HAVE READ IT 4 TIMES. WORDS CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT I THINK ABOUT THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1