Customer Reviews for

Last Exit to Brooklyn

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Outstanding Book

The outer fringes of society await you in this powerful story. It is as pertinent today as it must have been 50 years ago. And it will be so in another 50 years. We do not evolve much. Highly recommended.

posted by Mission on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bad for Nook

So many typos and punctuation issues, I feel like I should get my money back. Its hard to focus on the book's content. Please fix and I will update my review!!!

posted by j_roseNY on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Outstanding Book

    The outer fringes of society await you in this powerful story. It is as pertinent today as it must have been 50 years ago. And it will be so in another 50 years. We do not evolve much. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    .

    Nook didn't make all those typos. That's how the author wrote the book. This book is utterly magnificent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT a ride!

    This book sucks you in from the very first page and holds you tightly in its grasp until he very end. It covers topics from all sides of despair and is shockingly graphic. The descriptions are meant to curl your toes as ALL details are unvelied without shame. This is the first book of Hubert Selby Jr. and I will be adding to my collection of his stories. I cannot believe this was written so long ago, as the situations addressed are still prevelant in today's society. A page turner from start to finish, this book is DEFINITELY worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    Shocking!

    This book takes you, grabs you and pummels you with images that are hard to forget. Read this book and it will change you forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Graphic but Good

    Last Exit To Brooklyn was something that I discovered by accident. It was an interesting read but it should come with a disclaimer. One that details that the text is not for the faint at heart. My friends, read this novel it will offer you insight into a world that you only thought existed today on our mean streets, not those of Brooklyn just after the war.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    the book need's no headline it is to great

    While reading this novel i had to stop, set the book down and think about the characters. They were with me all day long. He captures the essence and pure desperation of these lonely souls that he has created. Even with his vulgarity and shocking scenes, you still feel. Hands down one of the best books i've read in a really long time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    brilliant!

    to capture life in a bottle... the work of any great writer is to lock up a piece of life in a glass cage and throw it into the ocean that is the world. selby does this. there is not one point in the book that does not make you feel like you could step into its pages and interact with the characters he portrays. it is life, and selby's last exit is a masterpiece. it reads like the spoken language and feels like everday. i would suggest it to anyone who loves great literature.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1