Customer Reviews for

The Last Full Measure

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    'The Last Full Measure' MEASURES UP!

    What a throughly enjoyable experience this book is! I turned to The Last Full Measure to complete the cycle of Civil War reading I began with The Killer Angels, by Jeff's father, and to fill in my knowledge of what, to me, was a lesser known part of the Civil War...the last part. Not only did I fill in that knowledge, I got to know ( and know more about ) Ulysses S. Grant, Joshua Chamberlain and Robert E. Lee with some degree of intimacy, and a fair-sized cast of other notable characters who were colorful and interesting, to say the least. Shaara's writing can be surprisingly emotional, yet is still economical and clear. The use of a few key maps ( so disappointingly left out of some works that would greatly benefit them )really help to describe the battle action more clearly and vividly. But the book is not merely a collection of battles, and, in fact, leaves out a number of major and important battles in some theatres that do not take anything away from the greatness of this book. I am absolutely going to get Shaara's Mexican War book, Gone for Soldiers, soon. I want to stay close to these characters and this writer and enjoy the considerable skill that has been passed on to him.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jeff Shaara's best Civil War novel, so far.

    One of the best novels of the Civil War I have read, Better than G&G. Should have made a movie of this one instead. Even better is Shaara's Rise to Rebellion.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Heart-wrenching Continuation...and End

    By the time you reach this last book in the The Killer Angels trilogy, it is difficult to not feel like you know the commanders personally. We are privy to conversations between Gen. Grant and President Lincoln. We are once again privileged to charge into battle with the soldiers of blue and gray...and to follow them to the end of the war. While artistic license may have been taken in a few places to help the flow of the story in the books, it nevertheless remains an incredible introduction to the Civil War for anyone. In fact, it propels a true learner to find out more, to discover the facts for themselves. Don't miss this last book. Again, it is a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Excellent

    I love history, and the civil war is my favorite time. It's unbelievable the scale of destruction we can inflict on each other. This is a recommended book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Highly Recommended!

    A great read, and a fitting conclusion to this thrilling and touching civil war trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning, moving, inspiring

    "The Last Full Measure" is one of my all time favorite books. I finished it and said, "Wow". It is a lot deeper than "Gods and Generals" or "The Killer Angels", but is a great conclusion to the Trilogy. It is a moving and heartbreaking finale, a great conclusion for both sides to the war that has destroyed them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Definitely read this

    Phenomanal end to the series. Truly a great read for people that enjoy the civil war

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    Another Home Run for Jeff Shaara

    This book is the crowning jewel in the trilogy of the American Civil War first begun by his father with 'Killer Angels'. Jeff brings humanity to his characters, making them come alive as real people we can all understand. History comes alive with his characters, and gives us some idea of the enormity of this event of the mid 19th century.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Amazing

    The Last Full Measure is an amazing accomplishment. I enjoyed both Gods and Generals and the Killer Angels, and The Last Full Measure is certainly on par with them, if it does not exceed them. The feelings are more raw and real, now that the war is coming to a close. I am fascinated by Chamberlain and this book reinforced that. Before reading these books I had almost no understanding of the Civil War, or the people in it. Now it was all brought alive to me by two men: Michael and Jeff Shaara.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    CONTINUING A GREAT TRADITION

    IN THIS NOVEL SHAARA CONTINUES THE RICH VEIN OF HISTORY, BIOGRAPHY AND NARATIVE BEGUN IN THE KILLER ANGELS (THE SEQUENCE IS INCLUDING THE PREQUEL). A TRUELY WONDERFUL READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    Like father, like son

    You can tell a lot of research went into this book. Two weeks after I read this book I visited Gettysburg for the second time and I understood the battle more. This is one book that should be referred to in schools when teaching of the battle of Gettysburg. Both father and son wrote classics!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    I read this book for an outside reading assignment for my Honors

    I read this book for an outside reading assignment for my Honors English class. I personally enjoyed "The Last Full Measure" and would have enjoyed it even more had I not had a time constraint. The book was especially interesting to me and would be to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. The author does a great job of writing in a way that made me feel as if I were actually seeing the story first hand. The descriptions he used engaged my senses, I could smell and almost taste the coffee. The book was emotional and gripping until the end. I greatly enjoyed reading "The Last Full Measure". - EJC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    defanitly better than god and generals

    while not as good as the killer angels this book is ten times better than god and generals

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Reading this book put me on the road to Petersburg!

    Just as father Michael Shaara's 'Killer Angels' made a trip to Gettysburg absolutley necessary, son Jeff's 'Last Full Measure' provided the incentive for me to hop in my car VERY early one morning and make what Tony Horwitz refers to as a Civil Wargasm . . . a day trip from home in Raleigh to Petersburg and then a trek that followed Lee's line of retreat through Five Forks, to Saylors Creek, to Farmville and finally to Appomatox. Most good historical novels make me more interested in the places they portray. Shaara books make me get up and go there!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Absolutely Gripping

    This book is simply outstanding. It is mesmerizing, and I could not put it down. It does a fine job of bringing to life Mr. Grant and making one appreciate the complexities of his personality. Those who fell under the spell of Colonel Chamberlain will be well rewarded by this final chapter in the trilogy. A Great Civil War book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Last Full Measure

    He is a great author just like his father. I have read all his books about the civil and mexican war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2