Customer Reviews for

The Last Great Dance on Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great book--lousy conversion

    The writing of thecthird book will not disappoint. Howvee, the conversion to ebook is really bad. The font won't change; periods wind up away frim there sentences on thed next line. It's very distracting and unpleasant way to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    GOOD READ ladylawyer

    If this book were fiction Josephine and Napoleon would have spent their last days together. Real life is not so kind. Josephine seemed to weather well her changing stations in life, so she is a true heroine. Napoleon's inability to "keep it in his pocket" makes him less of a hero for me, but I have never been an emperor with so many admirers. I only wish the author had shown more of the depth of his love for Josephine, for then his "carryings on" ( a southern expression) might not have been so grievious to me. I wonder if Eugene was unfaithful to the woman he loved?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In which I am loathed to finish

    One of the best books I've read. These three books have been my constant companions since last fall and I will miss Josephine and Napoleon very much. The last few chapters were so gut wrenchingly poignant that I had to put my nook down for I could no longer see the words through my tears. Josephine's courage in the face of despair was inspiring. Although her heart and dreams broken she continued on for the love of her family and the hope of being a small part of Napoleons world. She loved and cared for him from a distance, such devotion! These books opened my eyes to much of french history that I did not know about. The descriptions of the events were so bright and colorful I fell as though I were a part of that time. These books are indeed magical in the way they enchant the reader. Truly delightful in every way. I'm so glad I stumbled upon these books and will definitely recommend them to my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    You will not be disappointed!

    This book, the last in the Trilogy broke my heart. I loved each and every book and couldn't wait to read the next. Sandra Gulland did a beautiful job on these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    The last book was my least favorite of the trilogy, but as with all of them, I found myself like a silly child hiding under the blankets with a flashlight reading until late into the night. (I really need to finally get that book light.) The writing style in diary form is great, because it breaks the story up. This allows you to walk away and go on about your life easily and pick it back up, should you be able to tear yourself away form the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    so good!

    amazing story and account of napoleon and josephine's life and times in france. very interestng and very good! i was sad when i was done reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    The Last Great Dance on Earth

    Great Book couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was amazing. The passion and heroism is breathtaking. As I read this book I could feel Josephine's pain. I got lost in this world, in her life, in her sorrow. The trilogy is captivating from the beginning. I couldn't put the books down, unless to grab another tissue. I loved these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    The perfect end to the trilogy of Josephine Bonaparte.

    I have just finished reading the third book of the trilogy on Josephine Bonaparte. This series is very captivating as it traces the life of the strong woman who stood behind one of history's most beloved idols. This in-depth look at her life was fascinating; not only due to the fact that it was well written, but also because the author described her life in such a profound way. As a student of french history at Indiana Univ. of Pa, I found the three books very interesting because of how the author integrated many historical events into each story and described them in a way that was to the benefit of the reader, had they not had any previous knowledge of french history. This last book summed up the empress' life very well. I highly recommend this trilogy to anyone who enjoys reading romances, history, and/or biographies of strong-willed women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    best of the series

    I loved all three of the Sandra Gulland series,they had me deeply engrossed I cried,laughed and fumed. I feel so close to Josephine. Fabulous series, you may as well buy all three because you won't be satisfied with just one! Very easy to read, you won't put it down except to go buy the second and the third books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1