Customer Reviews for

Last Guardian

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Suspensfully gripping!

    A fantastic story that will take you on a journey you will find hard to forget!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great!

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Great read to the last page!

    I use this book to give out to friends who don't like to read anything but fantasy or sci-fi, but have faith questions about GOD, Jesus, and religion.
    Mr. Johnson has created a story that will keep you locked in and ready to turn the next page. I was sold on the story line and was over half way through the book before I was startled to realize, I was actually learning about GOD's love, grace, and power from a totally new point of view. The story line of the book will also give you a personal view into the life and death of Jesus, a following of several books of the Bible, and a very unique version of Revelations.
    I highly recommend this book as a great read, a great re-read, and a great give away book to those in need of uplifting in their faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    AWESOME!!!

    The critics indicate that this is a "gory fantasy that is loosely based on the New Testament Book of Revelation." This book is actually an incredible picture of GENESIS, and what our planet may have looked like prior to the flood of Noah. For anyone who has studied or is remotely interested in the pre-flood times will find this book simply amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    A Must-Read!

    The Last Guardian was my first venture into the Christian fiction genre, so I didn't know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised by what I read. Shane Johnson is an amazing writer. His imagery is vivid; I could very easily visualize the characters, settings, and situations in the book. Some of the scenes were literally chilling! If movies weren't so often made by committee, I would love to see a filmed version of this novel. I couldn't help but try to read The Last Guardian in one sitting. Johnson does a remarkable job weaving scripture, spirituality, and discovery into a compelling story whose every paragraph compels you to dive into the next. At the same time, the story makes you think. The main character, T. G. Shass, undergoes a spiritual rebirth, and along the way he asks questions that we face ourselves: Who am I? Why am I? What is my purpose? As Shass finds his answers through faith, we come to feel that, if we haven't already found our own answers, we can. I highly recommend The Last Guardian, and I thank Shane Johnson for sharing his talent and inspiration with his readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    Excellent book! I hope he writes another!

    When I read the summary on the back of this book, it didn't really grab me. But I went ahead and started reading anyway. Wow! Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. That said, this book is sure to be controversial. Some scenes are somewhat graphic (strong PG), but certainly not gratuitous. One thing I have always regretted about Christian fiction was that it is usually either poorly written, overly preachy, or both. The 'Left Behind' series is a welcome departure from this trend, as are the Frank Peretti novels. If you enjoy Peretti, especially 'Piercing the Darkness' and 'This Present Darkness,' or if you enjoy science fiction or fantasy, even if you aren't a Christian, you will like this book. Get it. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    An epic Christian adventure

    This is one of the most exciting and dramatic books I¿ve ever read. Johnson has skillfully crafted a fascinating story that is almost impossible to put down. The character of T.G. Shass is wonderfully approachable and believable, an average guy caught up in events that are anything but average. Embarking on an adventure of cosmic proportions, this reluctant prophet begins a personal journey of faith full of struggles and triumphs. This combination of intimate characterization and expansive narrative is compelling. The author has used elements of science-fiction, action-adventure and good, old-fashioned storytelling to weave a tale that is immensely enjoyable, emotionally rewarding and theologically well-grounded. Johnson¿s style is descriptive, well-paced and, in a way, poetic. There are awesome vistas, dramatic structures, intricate rooms and claustrophobic chambers described in this book that one can almost experience with all five senses, and yet these descriptions are exquisitely balanced by action and character development. Such a balance is tough, but Johnson pulls it off with style. And T.G. Shass is not the only believable character in this work. Everyone populating this novel has depth and texture. They are people you will either come to love or to despise. The dialogue is natural, conversational, even snappy and humorous at times. `The Last Guardian¿ is very difficult to categorize, but that¿s all right. Some things stand on their own, and this book is one of those things. Ultimately, no one can tell you what this novel is about. You just have to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    'Left Behind' meets 'This Present Darkness'

    For some time, this book nearly left me speechless. There are no words to be said that can justify it. Johnson takes an incredible plot twist starting with the Flood and ending with Revelation. An incredible sci-fi thriller that surprisingly stays dead-on with Scripture. Definitely a must-read-and-then-spread-the-news book. If you like Frank Peretti or the Left Behind series, grab this book for the best elements of both!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1