Customer Reviews for

The Last Heiress (Friarsgate Inheritance Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The best book of the series

    I enjoyed this book the most out of the Friarsgate Series because the youngest daughter, Elizabeth, was so different from her sisters. The character, Baen, was interesting too. Rosamund is also in the story at different times. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    The prose wasn't great, and the plot seemed a little forced at times, but I enjoyed the romance element and the historical details. It's good if you want a mindless, fluffy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    I enjoyed it

    This first few chapters of this book was a bit boring but it got better when Baen and Elizabeth became close. I loved reading about them. Elizabeth was a lot more likable than Philippa. I felt a little sad near the end of this book, because, I knew it was the last one in the series. The Friarsgate series is not as good as the Skye O'Malley series but I did like the first two books in this series very much. Rosamund and Logan made the first two books enjoyable. If they had been featured a lot more in this book and in 'Philippa', I think the Friarsgate series would have been almost as good as the Skye O'Malley series. I wanted to read more about Rosamund and Logan but I still enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    Great Story

    Elizabeth knew what she wanted. She became very independent at a young age. She is a very practical woman and has a backbone. Loved having her Uncle Thomas in it and that the book connected to 2 different characters in some of her other books. Elizabeth ends up finding love and finding out Anne was just a person who was place in the path of a powerful king.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb historical romance

    During the reign of Henry VIII, at fourteen Elizabeth Meredith inherited Friarsgate when her mother and older middle sister married and moved onto their respective spouses¿ estate and her oldest sibling and her husband chose the king¿s court. Eight years later she remains independent running her estate until her mother informs her she must marry so that an heir can inherit Friarsgate. --- Her beloved sixty years old Uncle Thomas agrees to escort the feisty landowner to court. However, before they leave for London, Baen MacColl comes from Scotland at the behest of his father to discus a sheep deal. As the two die in the wool anti-marital soul mates fall in love, Elizabeth chaperoned by her uncle travels to the king¿s court. There she befriends the beleaguered queen while Henry VIII begins his campaign to replace his wife Katherine with Anne. --- The key to this battle between two independent obstinate loving combatants is the background that incorporates Henry¿s antics as he sets in motion his plan to remove Katherine of Aragon as queen and replace her with Anne Boleyn. Bertrice Small cleverly uses the monumental sixteenth century events to tell her story of love yet in some ways the shadow overwhelms the lead characters. Fans of historical romance with strong doses of both will enjoy the latest Meredith tale (see UNTIL YOU AND PHILIPPA). --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2