Customer Reviews for

The Last Juror

Average Rating 4
( 284 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Small Town Story of truth and justice.

In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developi...
In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developing his character in such a way that I couldn't help but read page after page wondering what adventure he would stumble into.
Without hesitation I would recommend this book to all my friends.

posted by conniejackson on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow

The last 100 pages were the best. I found the book slow and boring. I was expecting another "A Time to Kill" or "Pelican Brief" or The Client" or even "The Firm". Grishim's first 4 novels remain his best in my opinion.

posted by 8149658 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Small Town Story of truth and justice.

    In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developing his character in such a way that I couldn't help but read page after page wondering what adventure he would stumble into.
    Without hesitation I would recommend this book to all my friends.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great characters

    This is one of Mr. Grisham's better books. I don't usually like first-person narration, but it really works in this one. Good story, great characters. I felt like I knew everyone in this small town and that I could picture myself walking down the street right next to Willie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    The Last Juror, by Grisham

    was such a fantastic read that I hated for it to end!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    John Grisham is an excellent writer and his books are so suspenseful. I had not been an avid reader until I started reading Mr. Grisham's f books and now I am unable to put them down. I love that he draws his stories from the deep south.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Slow

    The last 100 pages were the best. I found the book slow and boring. I was expecting another "A Time to Kill" or "Pelican Brief" or The Client" or even "The Firm". Grishim's first 4 novels remain his best in my opinion.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable, Ford County at its Best. Certainly Miss Callie would approve this book as one of Grisham's Best.

    Grisham has written a monumental book, enriched with great characters, Miss Callie and her sweet tea, Willie Traynor, the young owner of the town's newspaper. through him, Grisham does a wonderful job narrating the life in Clanton, a small town in the South that changed with a different direction as the years went by since he first arrived. With a very deep sentiment engaged in the life of every character, and unfolding it in a bittersweet ending, Grisham accomplishes a masterpiece. In the aftermath of Danny Padgitt's trial after he was convicted of murdering and raping Rhoda Cassella, he swore revenge on those members of the jury who convicted him, nine years later, he was paroled and the deaths of the jurors began. Willie Traynor, owner of the Ford County Times, followed the events, and the moments when a regular town in Clanton Mississippi, life began to change. Grisham's "The Last Juror" is definitely one of Grisham's best works. Taking readers back to Ford County, Grisham chronicles the events of almost a decade in Ford County. Beautifully written, and certainly edited and proofread by Miss Callie. "The Last Juror" is an unforgettable tale, of life in a small town. With every single character to like, who will be able to forget Baggy jumping out of a third floor drunk during a gunfire, and Harry Rex hilarious intelligence, or thinking about hiring Danny Padgitt's lawyer, Mr. Willbanks. "The Last Juror" is simply irresistible. It will make you laugh, maybe cry, but it for sure will establish Grisham as one of the best writers out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Really good book.

    I was not expecting the ending.Really good. Only problem, it was reeeaaalllyy slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    "The last juror" was my very first book from John Gris

    "The last juror" was my very first book from John Grisham an it got me hooked on his writing. I read it in about 3 days while on vacation on the Mediterranean coast of Croatia a few years ago. And all this time I had to take turns with my husband who was reading it too :).
    I enjoyed it very much and I remained a fan of the genre and of Grisham's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Bmuu juu n .ju .

    Bn . ?hj .yiyiyubmui nyi bny .bmuuu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much talking and not enough action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    The Last Juror

    A great, quick read! You get a smattering of cross-over characters from Clanton, such as Harry Rex, Lucien Wilbanks (and a cameo from Ethel), Judge Noose, and Claude. Every time I read one of Grisham's novels centered around Ford County, it feels like getting into an old sweater, comfy and familiar.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Appreciated the opportunity to revive my reflections of the Tupe

    Appreciated the opportunity to revive my reflections of the Tupelo community...a novel that allowed me to grasp the characters and respond with them...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Great read, though flawed

    Grisham's tale is a very well-written and highly involving story about the evolution of a somewhat aimless college-aged reporter who takes over the weekly newspaper of a Southern town. His growth, and his love affair with both the paper and the citizens of the town, is the central feature of the book. The crime story -- a vicious murder, an unjust sentence and the murder of jurors in the case after the release of the convict -- is less interesting, and its conclusion far too rushed.

    An enjoyable read for beach season. Not Grisham's best, but better than most in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great twists great story line

    As with many grisham books there is an air of mystery with complex character development. In this novel he intertwines the plot with history and indepth character exploration. This novel did have the usual surprise ending however the story was more believable as a real life scenario. Can see how grisham has changed over time as a writer. Still has the grisham style yet his technique has really improved. Definitly recommend this book especially for those who may have dropped from reading grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Very good book.

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Another Grisham great. Four stars

    Great setting and time period. A tasteful and open look at the sixty's in the south.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Disappointed

    The story does not center around the title of the book. Written from the view point of a newspaper owner, it's more like a reflection on the happenings of Ford County. It didn't help that they synopsis was somewhat misleading as well. I was so anxious to find out if Danny was the killer but lost steam to continue reading after a quarter of the book because it seems like Grisham was more keen on talking about Mr Willie and his newspaper. This is not one of his better books in my opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read!

    John Grisham is a masterful story teller... I have enjoyed all of his books and this one is par for the course. I rely on the description of the book and then look to reviews, however I don't understand why some feel the need to write a book report... so annoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    I just love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Small Town Story of truth and justice

    I thought this story of the little Southern town; its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developing his character in such a way that I couldn't help but read page after page wondering what adventure he would stumble into. Without hesitation I would recommend this book to all my friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15