Customer Reviews for

The Last Juror

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Small Town Story of truth and justice.

In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developi...
In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developing his character in such a way that I couldn't help but read page after page wondering what adventure he would stumble into.
Without hesitation I would recommend this book to all my friends.

posted by conniejackson on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow

The last 100 pages were the best. I found the book slow and boring. I was expecting another "A Time to Kill" or "Pelican Brief" or The Client" or even "The Firm". Grishim's first 4 novels remain his best in my opinion.

posted by 8149658 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much talking and not enough action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Disappointed

    The story does not center around the title of the book. Written from the view point of a newspaper owner, it's more like a reflection on the happenings of Ford County. It didn't help that they synopsis was somewhat misleading as well. I was so anxious to find out if Danny was the killer but lost steam to continue reading after a quarter of the book because it seems like Grisham was more keen on talking about Mr Willie and his newspaper. This is not one of his better books in my opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    You will feel hungry for home cooked food!

    The story of the last juror is predictable, ordinary and highly unengaging. The initial start of the story was disturbing, but gradually the main protagonist of the novel, turned out be a huge food enthusiast. Grisham seems to have a knack of a cook, with delicious menu for the reader. He makes eating food a huge ceremony, a joy. Through out this book i always craved to have some eatables besides me, but unfortunately i never managed to get some. The legal aspect of the story has nothing new to offer, the court proceedings does,nt have the tour de force. This is my second john grisham, but i am thoroughly dissapointed with this one atleast. P.S - Highly recommended only for those who do'nt enjoy their food, otherwise please go and look for some other hopefully interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    No Suspense

    Normally Grisham's books are full of suspense. This one was terrible. The main storyline wasn't even brought up that much. It wasn't brought up again until the latter part of the book. This was not a true John Grisham novel. It made his previous novel King of Torts look good. What's going on? Bring back suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Waste of Money

    This was a big disappointment...the story line was so vague. It seemed like Girsham could not make up his mind about what he wanted to write about. Don't waste your time reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    I am sorry I bought the book

    The idea for this book may have been good, but the execution totally failed. It was a slow read, not interesting at all, no suspense. I was bored throughout the book. I expected so much more from John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    slow

    I could not get through the entire book it was way to slow and not interesting. This is the first book I have purchased from this writer and it will be the last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    A big dissappointment

    This book was extremely slow, and made me sorry that I spent my money to purchase it. If this had been the first book I had read by this author I would not read any more. There was no pizaaz, and it was extremely difficult to finish it was so slow. Hopefully, John will step up to the plate better next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Very Bad and Boring

    I think it is the worst book ever written by a writer even John Grisham

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    BORING

    A slow read and for the most part pointless. If you are looking for a day in the life living in the south in the 70's then this is your book. This is the first Grisham book that i didn't want to finish. In fact the only reason why i finished it was because of the $20 I wasted on it. Can't complain too much....1 out of 17 ...not too bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Grisham fan

    This is my 5th Grisham book and a very big waste of money. I can not believe he wrote this book with absolutely no real story. I hope he gets back to his better writing such as Skipping Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Boring Read

    I read this book expecting a thriller mystery from the John Grisham I enjoyed in the past. I got a slow tedious book with no excitement, no mystery and no thrill. It was a job to just finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Not worth it!

    I picked up this book in the airport on my return home from a trip and was very disappointed! The only reason I continued reading was that I was waiting for it to finally get good! Definitely not one of Grisham's better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    TERRIBLE!

    This book was so awful that after I finished it, I threw the advanced copy in the garbage can. John, quit trying to be like James Patterson you're not good at being a commercial author; you can't pull it off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1