Customer Reviews for

The Last Juror

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Small Town Story of truth and justice.

In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developi...
In my opinion, this story of the little Southern town with its small town newspaper owner and its citizens was just a super read. I enjoyed the world of Willie as he became more known by the folks of this Mississippi hamlet. Mr. Crisham did an excellent jobe of developing his character in such a way that I couldn't help but read page after page wondering what adventure he would stumble into.
Without hesitation I would recommend this book to all my friends.

posted by conniejackson on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow

The last 100 pages were the best. I found the book slow and boring. I was expecting another "A Time to Kill" or "Pelican Brief" or The Client" or even "The Firm". Grishim's first 4 novels remain his best in my opinion.

posted by 8149658 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Great read, though flawed

    Grisham's tale is a very well-written and highly involving story about the evolution of a somewhat aimless college-aged reporter who takes over the weekly newspaper of a Southern town. His growth, and his love affair with both the paper and the citizens of the town, is the central feature of the book. The crime story -- a vicious murder, an unjust sentence and the murder of jurors in the case after the release of the convict -- is less interesting, and its conclusion far too rushed.

    An enjoyable read for beach season. Not Grisham's best, but better than most in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    The Last Juror

    This book was very exciting at the start, but as the story goes on there is alot to take in. It lost my attention a little in the middle but towrds the last it gets somewhat exciting. I felt a little disappointed with the way the story is carried out but it is a fair read. Willie is a funny character and will keep you laughing with the thoughts he has. It is a thriller with a comic flair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Thriller

    The Last Juror was by far the best book I've read. It was thrilling in every aspect and very detailed. It made the story sound like it actually happened to these people. At first when I was reading the story I thought it was boring, but as the story went on it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Good but not that good

    Not one of his better books and I am a real big fan of his writing.. but when it came down to this book it lacked alot compaired to his other books ... he had some good characters and some I could have cared less about being in the book ...it sometimes seemed to me that he would go off the path of what he was writing and then get back on track.. it is a good book not one of his better books but still pretty good ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Almost mediocre

    In reading 'The Last Juror,' I was a bit diappointed with the main storyline, and unoriginal, dry, monotonous plot, if you consider the main storyline a plot. The book succeeds in establishing memorable characters such as Miss Callie and Willie and also reintroduces the character Harry Rex; however, the plot was dry and the ending was boring. Overall, an OK book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Grisham is losing it.

    Well the decline of John Grisham continues. It seems like the great thrillers brought to us in 'The Firm' and 'Pelican Brief' are a thing of the past. This book started slow and ended slow, however, the ending was decent. This book just seemed to be a waste of time. One that left you simply saying 'Ok, I'm glad that's over...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Not your usual Grisham legal thriller

    I agree with the other reviews that this is, by far, Grisham's most boring piece of work. However, this did not stop me from fully appreciating his efforts to evolve from predictability to a more laid-back, lullaby-like approach to his novel. There is this author's nostalgic touch to The Last Juror that makes you realize his need to share with his readers the small things in life that matter most to him - especially now that he is already a well-established/world-renowned writer. Now if this novel eventually becomes a movie (or a TV movie miniseries), I believe Jake Gyllenhall will be perfect for the role of Willie Traynor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    OK, But Not A Legal Thriller As Adertised

    You may be dissapointed if you are expecting a legal thriller such as Grisham's earlier work because this is more of a human interest story tinged with scant amounts of legal issues. I'm OK with that because I did enjoy Grisham's previous non-legal thriller books like A Painted House but this was not as good as that. Too many minor subplots going on throughout the book although the beginning and ending was classic Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Grisham on cruise control

    Good story,with some interesting characters, but light and not too deep.This is Grade B Grisham at best.Fun,but I'd read some of his earlier AND BETTER thrillers first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Mediocrity fits perfect.

    It was entertaining. Though I have to admit that my high expectation tilts the balance of the scale. I would have give a higher score if this is the first John Grisham book. It could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Legal thrills with human interest story...

    The 1st part of this book is really good, good characters, murder, mystery, legal courtroom drama and newspaper reporting. The 2nd part was not very interesting to me, although the ending was good. Looks like Grisham is giving us a 1/2 legal(Runaway Jury) and 1/2 human interest(Painted House) story. Overall an enjoyable read for me. I prefer the author's legal thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    He has done much better

    I am a great Grisham fan. This book was OK. At least I liked it better than Bleachers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Slave Mentality

    It's time for Mr. Grisham to update the status of African Americans. He portrays African Americans as being low-class or some sort of servants. I have long to read in Grisham's last 3 publications showing that there are EDUCATED African Americans. There are African Americans at some of these private socialite clubs and billionares, e.g., Oprah, Bill Cosby, etc. And rich ones in the south. I have no desire to read any of his books until he write more positive status of an African American. What kind of world is Grisham living in that there are no corporate black men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Disappointed

    I am disappointed with the novel. I expect it to be in the style of A Time To Kill or The Client.The novel is more of a narrative nature. Grisham should stick to pure legal thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    Good story but not my favorite

    The Last Juror does not disappoint event though it is not my favorite Grisham book. Great storytelling and difficult to read at times because of race history. I'm glad he brought back Harry Rex and Lucien. I definately did not want it to end so soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    AVERAGE

    The book started off with a BANG and ended with a whimper. The first 100 pages drew me in....and after that, it draggggggged on about the town. The last 50 pages started to pick up the pace, but with a predictable ending. I love all of John Grisham's works, but this book was average. I enjoyed his past works like 'A Time To Kill' and 'Runaway Jury'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Good story but not A Time to Kill

    1st 100 pages set up for a good story. The next 200 pages were all about his news paper. Very dissapointing but predicable ending. The one aspect I thought was cool was the fact that characters from other Grisham books were used. But regardless I give it 3 stars only because I love Grisham's books.(Except Runaway Jury and The Street Lawyer). Only have the Brethren left to read out of Grisham's novels, so hopefully it isn't dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Good story - but not the one advertised

    When I decided to read this book about two weeks ago and bought it from my local B&N store - the main reason was the summary I read on the cover recanting what seemed to be an exciting tale of a defendant being spared his life yet seeking revenge on the jury that convicted then sentenced him to life in prison. What I found the real story to be is following a young gumshoe news reporter and his experiences with the people in a small southern town. Yes, it begins with a murder and there is a significant plot surrounding it - but don't be fooled into thinking this is a legal courtroom thriller by any stretch of the imagination. It more so narrates a small towns activities and how a community reacts to rather big events such as the previously mentioned murder trial mixing in their traditions with politics, people and work. And although I thought that the book's ending could have had a surprise or two instead of putt-putting to the end (which is the reason why this book for me gets 3 instead of 4 stars). (The only 5 star book i have read in the last few months was the Di Vinci Code). I would say that this was an enjoyable read. I would recommend this book to those of you who would like a good general story about people - not necessarily about a courtroom drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3