Customer Reviews for

Last Kiss Goodnight

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Still good

I have read many other novels by Ms Showalter and this one was a little different but still up to par. I read the other reviews and the majority of them weren't good but I really have to disagree with them. Yes, some parts were confusing b/c so much info was given in a ...
I have read many other novels by Ms Showalter and this one was a little different but still up to par. I read the other reviews and the majority of them weren't good but I really have to disagree with them. Yes, some parts were confusing b/c so much info was given in a short time and yes some parts having to do with her deafness weren't writtenright, but overall the book was still good. I will read it again and can't wait for the next one.

posted by 10782750 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed - NOT up to Showalter standards

I am a HUGE Gena Showalter fan. Have read all of the LoTU books and all of the Alien Huntress books, as well as earlier books - the Atlantis series, etc. I was excited to reaf this and had high expectations, which Showalter has always unfailingly met. But this book was ...
I am a HUGE Gena Showalter fan. Have read all of the LoTU books and all of the Alien Huntress books, as well as earlier books - the Atlantis series, etc. I was excited to reaf this and had high expectations, which Showalter has always unfailingly met. But this book was a big letdown. It felt sloppy and forced.

The characters were wonderfully vivid and the set-up was delisciously intense. But halfway through it was like Showalter ran out of ideas and stopped caring. The heroine is deaf and relies on lip-reading to communicate. However in one scene the hero is facing AWAY from her and she somehow manages just fine. Later on, she actually "hears" a gun click! EXCUSE ME?? How did this make it pasr her editor? Did Showalter forget who she was writing about? Sloppy careless mistakes like this rudely jerk you out of the story.

Additionally, the lack of denoument (post-resolution) is sudden and the ending leaves much to be desired. Everything is resolved and happy in like 20 pages, all of the foreshadowing and build-up is forgotten and the Deus ex Machina sweeps in a fixes everything. Not good. I've come to expect more from Showalter and she should expect more from herself.

Save your money and borrow from a friend. Don't support a non-effort.

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Boring....the idea was good, but was written into a story horribly.

    I am a fan of gena showalter, but i was so disappointed in this book. The storyline snagged my attention, but i didnt connect with the characters as well as i normally do. I havent even finished reading the whole book yet. I dont know if i will. Im not disappointed with gena just this book. I dont expect an author to have perfectly written/interesting stories every single time. If anyone has a creative side to themelves then you understand that muses come and go. Now that i have that said....i didnt like the mans character nor did i feel like the woman character was a woman. She seemed to me as if she were a twelve year old girl. I havent finished it like i said but thats my take on them. I also felt like the personalities of the characters was not either built right or just not existing in the first place. In the begining she started to build him up to be a bad ass, but as she went on his badassery seemed to disappear. He wasnt a wimp by no means, but he lost my cutiosity about his character. Im gonna stop there. I just plain didnt like it, but will not stop reading gena. Who knows maybe she had things going on in her personal life that was a distraction...anything is possible. Cant wait to see whats next from her though.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    This was so disappointing! If I had not preordered and paid for

    This was so disappointing! If I had not preordered and paid for this book, I would ask for my money back. This was boring and moved so slow. No real action or tie to the other characters we know and love at AIR. So predictable. I love Gena Showalter books and read all the other series, but she missed the boat on this one. She needs to bring it in the next book or this series is dead in the water. I hope she doesn't go the route of Anne Rice and let her religion dictate her writing and realize too late that she messed up. This is fiction. She has the freedom to believe whatever she wants but don't bring your personal beliefs to work. I am now leary of doing any more preorders before I read the reviews.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Her prior books were a lot better, this story felt forced.

    Her prior books were a lot better, this story felt forced.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'll have to say that I love Gena, but not this novel. I bought

    I'll have to say that I love Gena, but not this novel. I bought this for the car while I was traveling. And if it wasn't for the 15 hour drive I probably wouldn't have finished it. I think if you haven't read her novels you'd enjoy it. However if you are a die hard fan like myself. It's a total let down. The characters are very good and dynamic. But the story itself  is a huge let down. And not a very dynamic story line, more could have been done to make this book as good as her others have been.  :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    so so

    I not crazy about alien stories. If you are I would recommend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book but I just couldn't get into


    I really wanted to like this book but I just couldn't get into it. Gena Showalter is a fantastic writer and normally her books are great but this one just missed the mark with me. I bought it because of the great picture on the front and the blurb sounded really cool and different.

    It was different but I was lost most of the time. So many people and different characters that my head was spinning. The worst for me had to be the good angel VS the bad Devil that sat on Solomon's shoulders. I wanted to smack both of them.

    Pretty much I started to skip read at this point and I think that I missed any good parts. Still that book cover is Gorgeous!

    Why 2 stars? One for the cover and one for the blurb sounding so cool...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Wow what happened

    Where did the old gena go?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Disappointing

    I have read all of Gena's Lord of the Underworld series, all of the Alien Huntress series, all of the Atlantis series, her young adult novels, Alice in Zombieland and one of her contemporaries....needless to say, I am a HUGE fan of all things Gena Showalter....except for this book.
    Solo, the main man, lacks the passion and determination that I so enjoyed from her other books. I found that what he said/thought and his actions were not consistent. I never got that excited lustful feeling while reading. The whole book (including the sex scenes) lacked any type of passion.
    The main female was very unrelatable. She acted like a pre-teen in most of the book, but then was randomly ready for sex and a forever commitment. The character development was definitely lacking.
    Also, certain parts of the story either contradicted itself or was so predictable you could literally skip half the book and not have missed anything.
    Huge letdown. Definitely read her other books...but skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Disappointing

    Always enjoy her books but i agree with others. This was not her best. Had to struggle thru some parts.
    This is not one to pay for but borrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    WHOA!!!!

    Irish Catholic here! Born, raised and educated. Reading bible verses at beginning of each chapter in a ROMANCE NOVEL only makes me feel guilty for spending the money, time and moral karma to read it. : P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1