Customer Reviews for

The Last Letter from Your Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried...
This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried to fit into her mysterious life, everything seemed like a distant dream, including her husband. She stumbled onto some passionate love letters addressed to her from "Boot". The excitement begins here. It's so worth your time. Don't miss this one!

posted by Amai66 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A bit long, well written, nice read.

I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on t...
I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

posted by risuena on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    April

    Goodnight guys. Leo i love you &hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital after an awful car ac

    Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital after an awful car accident in the 1960s.  She remembers nothing but feels a sense of familiarity with certain people who come to visit her in the hospital.  Little by little she is able to retrieve certain memories but absolutely nothing about the accident and no one will give one iota of information about that pivotal event.  So Jennifer returns to her role as the wife of a cold man who is also a brilliant, successful businessman engaging in African mining.  Laurence is also oblivious to the conditions his business practices leave behind but Jennifer doesn’t discover this memory for a very long time.
    It’s the letters Jennifer finds, one by one over a broad span of time, that bring back her memories of Anthony.  To say more would be a spoiler but suffice to say that Jennifer has a feisty nature that will not be cowed by the strict demands of her husband.  It would be nice to imagine a happily ever after story and that’s what the letters seem to imply.  The story, however, is more realistic in depicting how fate sometimes plays an intriguingly different hand to its players.
    The story then rewinds to Jennifer’s pre-accident experiences, most importantly her meeting and falling in love with Anthony, a journalist who was well known for his expository articles about African atrocities which include the business and political spectrum of the African economy.  But Anthony has a wild nature that gets him in trouble and so he’s been temporarily corralled to home to work on local stories while the top brass decide if he should continue to work or be let go.  After meeting Jennifer, he is extremely distracted from his passion for Africa but doesn’t forget his past.  Now he has passion for both.
    Years later in 2003, a young journalist, Ellie Haworth, is questioning her own affair to a married man when she comes across a letter in which a man begs his lover to follow him so they can travel to Africa and end their separation forever.  The story evolves in an amazing way to the discovery of the lovers’ names, story and the final path of their destiny.
    Passionate love requires intense courage and determination at times.  Moyes’ novel is endearing and heart-breaking in its ever-changing scenes for the riveted reader.  But it is the intensity of the story that is passionately victorious and the reader never loses the empathy in these lovers or the countless other feelings arising from the other characters who would be called “minor characters” but who really seem to be controlled by a fate none previously imagined could come true!
    Highly recommended! Great, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Ya gotta do it right!

    This is a wonderful book, but you have to read carefully or you will dump it as I almost did. Pay super attention to the dates at the head of each chapter! Otherwise you'll get a hundred pages in and be so confused you will give up.

    Once you read it in context, oh, my goodness, what a wonderful love story for the ages! Could she have done it better? Probably. But the end result is such a beautiful story that it brought tears to this old codger's eyes. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    JoJo Moyes writes beautifully and gets you involved in her chara

    JoJo Moyes writes beautifully and gets you involved in her characters lives. This is a great read.JoJo Moyes does it again mixing a woman in the past with a woman today. Jennifer lives in 1960 where women are meant to look good on the arms of successful men. Jennifer wakes up from a coma with no memory of her marriage with her rich and successful husband Larry. Jennifer feels lost in her marriage and very detached from her husband. When she finds a love letter she is desperate to find the man who loved her so much. The story reminded me of many epic stories that I love, like; “The Vow,” “An affair to remember,” “Casablanca,” and “The Notebook.”
    When we jump ahead to 2003, journalist Ellie is struggling with her affair to a married man. When she finds the love letters from 1960 she thinks if their affair could make it through the hard times maybe hers will to. She’s able to find Jennifer living right in London and learns from her experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    so good and heartwarming.

    so good and heartwarming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Fabulous love story!

    After reading Me Before You, I had to give Jojo Moyes another chance. And now I think she's one of my new favorite authors. This is a fabulous book jumping back and forth from past to present until the puzzle pieces itself together. I loved every minute of this novel. Don't think twice about reading this one. Just do it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Are you brave enough to love? The characters in this book must f

    Are you brave enough to love? The characters in this book must find the courage to love fiercely and honestly despite many obstacles. There’s a subtlety about the writing that at first makes the pace a little slow. But it is a deliberate slowness meant to portray emotions through action and nuance of speech. The effect is an immediate since of mystery, of recognizing something is very wrong but not being privy to what that something may be. Perhaps it is best described as a quiet intensity. As the story progresses, the intensity grows and the reader is enraptured. By turns hopeful and tragic with much frustration and missed opportunity, the story develops palpable tension, anxiety, and anticipation. There are also surprising twists. This masterful way of storytelling compels the reader to race forward to discover the fate of the characters. As for the ending, it was perfect. If you are a romantic, this book is for you.

    Favorite words:

    unguents : a soothing or healing salve : ointment

    deliquescent : tending to melt or dissolve; especially : tending to undergo gradual dissolution and liquefaction by the attraction and absorption of moisture from the air

    bacchanalian : like a Roman festival of Bacchus celebrated with dancing, song, and revelry

    Quotes:

    “She was learning to trust her gut reactions to people: memories could be lodged in places other than the mind” (p.19).

    “Her blond hair fell from her head like paint from a pot…” (p.66).

    “Their eyes met, and in those few silent moments, he told her everything” (p.104).

    “It never ended. Even though she’d thought she’d covered her heart with a permanent porcelain shell, he still found a way to chip at it” (p. 175).

    “This is where I should walk away, she tells herself, picking up her glass. This is where any sensible person pulls together the remnants of their self-respect, announces that they deserve more, and walks off to find someone who can give them a whole self, not snatched lunchtimes and haunted, empty evenings” (p. 245).

    In accordance with FTC guidelines, please note that I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    good read

    I enjoyed this, it was a quick read with a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Two women have married lovers, one in the 60's and one in 2004.

    Two women have married lovers, one in the 60's and one in 2004. What happens with their affairs and how they handle their life is interesting. Beginning is a bit choppy and hard to get into but then the story flows and it all gets tied together a in a enjoyable read.Moyes books are a light read.f

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I could not put the boom down. It is such a great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    LOVED this story!

    This story had so many twists that I didn't even bother trying to predict what might happen. I simply held on and enjoyed the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Loved the parallel love stories

    Beautiful story about neverending true love. Perfect read for a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Touching story

    I loved this book. It spanned lots of years, and I rather enjoyed the back and forth between the years and the characters. I could feel the raw emotions and the tugs to the heartstrings, the tearing apart and the healing. The writing was descriptive and flowed so well. Found myself staying up late and getting up early, just to read and find out what was going to happen next. The ending, for me, was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Awesome book.

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Such a tragic story.  More reminiscent of real life?  Yes, but d

    Such a tragic story.  More reminiscent of real life?  Yes, but depressing nonetheless.  It made me so sad that Jennifer and Anthony ended up living in the same city for forty years without reconnecting.  Just think of the happiness they could have had, had things worked out differently!  A part of me really wishes they would make this book into a movie, but as always, the book would be so much better!  Definitely worth the read, overall wonderful book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    good summer read ,

    good summer read ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Lovely

    What a wonderful novel! I read it in one sitting. I too fell in love with Boots. At times bittersweet and heartbreaking, it is a love story for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Very Nice

    Nicely done. Could see this turn into a movie. Enjoyed the twists and turns and kept rooting for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great

    Very quick read! A great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I love love loved this book! This author really knows how to we

    I love love loved this book! This author really knows how to weave a tale. So many twists and turns and unexpected events, I was crazy about Jennifer and Boot and I found myself missing them after I finished the book. Can't get enough of Jojo Moyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11