Customer Reviews for

The Last Letter from Your Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried...
This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried to fit into her mysterious life, everything seemed like a distant dream, including her husband. She stumbled onto some passionate love letters addressed to her from "Boot". The excitement begins here. It's so worth your time. Don't miss this one!

posted by Amai66 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A bit long, well written, nice read.

I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on t...
I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

posted by risuena on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't miss this one!

    This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried to fit into her mysterious life, everything seemed like a distant dream, including her husband. She stumbled onto some passionate love letters addressed to her from "Boot". The excitement begins here. It's so worth your time. Don't miss this one!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet and a good clean read!

    I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surprised all throughout the book. Easy read, and I never saw any of what happened coming! Good romance and good action! I highly recommend it!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Jojo Moyes is a fantastic writer. This is my first book I read and I enjoyed it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    A wonderful love story.

    It is a story that tuggs at your heart. Wonderful characters that you can visualize. I can see the story with truth as my mom was married during the 60"s with no job, education, and unable to brake the model of wife. The meaning and consequences of divorce in the 60's is completely different then it is today.

    Such an enjoyable story that will stay with you for smetime!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    A bit long, well written, nice read.

    I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You Will Not Be Able To Put This Book Down!

    I cannot say enough about how wonderfully written this story is. The author gives us a captivating tale of not only love and relationships, but about perseverance and self-worth. The characters are so lovely and you will see each one, feel the emotions they are feeling, and be completely drawn into their stories until the very end. Set in the 1960's in England, a young woman of wealth gets into a terrible car accident and suffers from amnesia as a result of her injuries. As she recovers she discovers that she feels out of place in her marriage and her circle of friends until she realizes she has fallen in love with another man. As it all comes together we are taken on a journey spanning over 40 years and intertwined in the relationships of these star crossed lovers. Written with poise, charm and elegance, Jojo Moyes tells a story that you are not going to want to end, and it will stay with you long after you've finished the book.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Boo

    Another possible good book ruined by the egotistical harriet klausner and her cliff note plot spoiler. She needs to be banned and all her plot spoilers deleted. That person is a menace.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Good summer read.

    Nice story but utterly predictable. I read it on vacation, turned the pages quickly and then just as quickly it became a distant and pleasant memory. There are some nice historical touches, but the characters are one dimenensional.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a charming relationship drama

    In 1960, following a car accident that hospitalized her in a comatose sate, twenty-seven years old Jennifer Stirling wakes up. However, her injury leaves her with amnesia; she does not recall the accident that left her in her current condition or anything else.

    Her Husband visits her almost every night and Jennifer knows in her heart she does not love this wealthy man who has made a fortune exploiting mining operations in the war ravaged Congo. When she finds a passionate haunting love letter from a "B" Jennifer knows the unknown author is her beloved. Still, she also struggles with what is acceptable behavior amongst her English social class in London.

    In 2003, English journalist Ellie Haworth researches a story in her newspaper's morgue when she finds a B letter to Jennifer. Feeling the love "B" had for his Jennifer, Ellie looks deep inside her heart to her grand passion as she tries to learn whether "B" and "J" had a happy ever after.

    This is a charming relationship drama starring an incredible cast especially the two letter writers and the reporter who investigates their tale. Character driven, fans will relish this bittersweet romance as love proves not enough yet lasts forever in spite of time and place separation. Jojo Moyes provides a wonderful story that romanticists will relish.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Just okay

    Skimmed throuh a lot of this of 340 page book. Did not hold my interest very well, because it was very predictable, and rather boring. It repeated the same actions over and over. Well edited. Sexual situations. 18 and up

    AD

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Way too long and drawn out.

    This story could have been told in a much more interesting manner; one which keeps you interested and waiting for what happens next. Instead, you read and read to find out some small detail. Much too wordy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Wonderful, and heartfelt story

    So much more than just a romance. I could not stop reading this story. The characters were so real; I felt as though I was in their stories. Definitely a few tears. Amazing read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I loved this book. It should be required reading by every wife

    I loved this book. It should be required reading by every wife who has been betrayed by infidelity. It presents in story form, how each participant in an adulterous relationship is affected and doesn't sugar coat the impact cheating has on everyone. The story made me cry and laugh. Do yourself a favor and read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Loved It,

    one of the best books i've read in a long time. A keeper for sure. I fell in love again for the first time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I'll say it plainly and simply. I loved The Last Letter from Your Lover. This novel has love letters, a London backdrop and star crossed lovers all woven beautifully into a plot that takes hold of you and does not let you go. My heart ached as I read.

    Author Jojo Moyes does an excellent job at giving this novel a mysterious atmosphere as well as unexpected twists and turns. I felt like I was discovering clues alongside Jennifer, the answers were right on the periphery of her vision, yet far from her grasp. She longs to remember her life before the accident. I could not help but wonder what happened to her mystery lover. I won't say much about her love, except "wow". He blew me away and their courtship had me on the edge of my seat.

    Oh my gosh, the love letters. They are simply signed with the initial "B" so Jennifer cannot remember who he is. "B" by the way is the initial of the first name of a character in a novel who Jennifer nicknamed her love after.

    These love letters are the kind that make you sigh and hug the book when you read them.
    Jennifer is a well developed character, she is unhappy with her life and her four year marriage seems to be one of convenience. Her character grows throughout the story and heartbreak changes her in a realistic way.

    I found that everything came together beautifully, from the different characters to the turns of events that occurred. Just when I thought I knew what would happen next, I found myself stunned, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.

    The storyline goes back and forth from Jennifer waking up with amnesia and trying to remember her life, to how she met her mystery man and fell into a torrid affair with him. Towards the end, the story jumps forward to 2003 where a journalist named Ellie Haworth discovers one of the long lost love letters and want to find out whatever happened to these people. At first this jump in time upset me because I was so immersed in Jennifer and B's love story but I found myself involved in Ellie's storyline as well.

    There's a quote by William Styron that goes, ..A good book should leave you slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading it... That about sums how I felt about The Last Letter from Your Lover. This book will make my top reads of 2013 and is officially one of my all time favorites.


    Disclaimer:
    This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I purchased my copy of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly enjoyable-don't miss out!

    It's 1960 and we start the book to find Jennifer Stirling waking up in the hospital and not being able to remember anything. Who is she, why is she in the hospital, and what exactly is she missing? While she's trying to figure out the answers, she comes across a love letter, signed "B." asking her to run away with him. Who is he? And what happened to them? That's the question bothering Ellie Haworth, a young journalist in 2003, when she stumbles onto one of the letters signed by "B." Maybe she'll find out what's happened to them and in doing so figure out her won complicated love affair with a married man.

    I really need to start getting with the times. I can not believe it has taken me this long to track down a copy of this book and actually read it! It's phenomenal! The book starts off with a bang and we're off trying to piece together what happened to Jennifer and who this mystery guy is. It was so easy to get pulled into the story, from seeing Jennifer in the hospital to the flashbacks and flash forwards all in the 1960s that let us know what was going on. Infidelity is a topic that I find hard to comprehend and condone. It's interesting the contrast of the infidelity between Jennifer and "B." in the 1960s and the infidelity of Ellie and her married man in 2003 was so different. Yes, the gender of the married partner was different, but the circumstances and the actions and reactions of the married partners was also completely unalike. I found it hard to condemn Jennifer for her actions, but easy to condemn John.

    Jojo Moyes is an absolutely amazing writer. I've read books by her before and never fail to be astounded by how good they are. She's written nine books and her tenth is due out later this year, and is titled, "The Girl You Left Behind." She's also won two Romantic Novelists' Association's Romantic Novel of the Year, once in 2004 for "Fore

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Awful - a true waste of reading time.

    The plot is trite - star crossed lovers! The characters are bland and stereotypical - the ignored wife, the high powered, neglectful husband and the artsy, sensitive lover! Absolutely no substance. Weak characters, weak plot, and an even weaker subplot.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    I loved it! Amazing as always!

    I loved it! Amazing as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    I loved this book. Enjoyed every page. A wonderful love story,

    I loved this book. Enjoyed every page. A wonderful love story, but not at all sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    I was so excited that my book club chose another Moyes book to r

    I was so excited that my book club chose another Moyes book to read. I absolutely loved Me Before You. I was beyond disappointed with this work by her. The time changes weren't defined very well, in my opinion. I really didn't relate to, or like, most of the characters. My favorite character was the housekeeper. It went downhill fast from there. I didn't finish the book. I didn't care what happened to any of them. I dislike weak female leads and I didn't see this main lady redeeming herself anytime soon. When my book club discussed it, I quickly learned I was correct...she may have even gotten worse. I made it about halfway through the second part. I am not sure I will pick up another book by this author, total bummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12