Customer Reviews for

The Last Letter from Your Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried...
This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried to fit into her mysterious life, everything seemed like a distant dream, including her husband. She stumbled onto some passionate love letters addressed to her from "Boot". The excitement begins here. It's so worth your time. Don't miss this one!

posted by Amai66 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A bit long, well written, nice read.

I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on t...
I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

posted by risuena on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly enjoyable-don't miss out!

    It's 1960 and we start the book to find Jennifer Stirling waking up in the hospital and not being able to remember anything. Who is she, why is she in the hospital, and what exactly is she missing? While she's trying to figure out the answers, she comes across a love letter, signed "B." asking her to run away with him. Who is he? And what happened to them? That's the question bothering Ellie Haworth, a young journalist in 2003, when she stumbles onto one of the letters signed by "B." Maybe she'll find out what's happened to them and in doing so figure out her won complicated love affair with a married man.

    I really need to start getting with the times. I can not believe it has taken me this long to track down a copy of this book and actually read it! It's phenomenal! The book starts off with a bang and we're off trying to piece together what happened to Jennifer and who this mystery guy is. It was so easy to get pulled into the story, from seeing Jennifer in the hospital to the flashbacks and flash forwards all in the 1960s that let us know what was going on. Infidelity is a topic that I find hard to comprehend and condone. It's interesting the contrast of the infidelity between Jennifer and "B." in the 1960s and the infidelity of Ellie and her married man in 2003 was so different. Yes, the gender of the married partner was different, but the circumstances and the actions and reactions of the married partners was also completely unalike. I found it hard to condemn Jennifer for her actions, but easy to condemn John.

    Jojo Moyes is an absolutely amazing writer. I've read books by her before and never fail to be astounded by how good they are. She's written nine books and her tenth is due out later this year, and is titled, "The Girl You Left Behind." She's also won two Romantic Novelists' Association's Romantic Novel of the Year, once in 2004 for "Fore

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Such a tragic story.  More reminiscent of real life?  Yes, but d

    Such a tragic story.  More reminiscent of real life?  Yes, but depressing nonetheless.  It made me so sad that Jennifer and Anthony ended up living in the same city for forty years without reconnecting.  Just think of the happiness they could have had, had things worked out differently!  A part of me really wishes they would make this book into a movie, but as always, the book would be so much better!  Definitely worth the read, overall wonderful book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    good summer read ,

    good summer read ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Very Nice

    Nicely done. Could see this turn into a movie. Enjoyed the twists and turns and kept rooting for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    A good love story.

    A good love story. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    I liked the idea that it followed thru jennifers life so we could see how her life with b came about good story
    gfers



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Good Read

    First time I've read this author but couldn't put it down till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    WOW

    Loved it to the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Beautiful

    What an incredible love story. So refreshing to have an honest story told several geberations apart. Highky recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this story.

    A wonderful love story spanning four decades. I will recommend it for my book club selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The Power of Love

    This book kept me interested throughout. Well-written and fun "beach" read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great Love Story

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If you are looking for a romantic novel that is timeless, I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    A beautiful love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Recommend

    Beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Achingly beautiful love story

    Well worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Read!

    I loved this book. The author, Jojo Moyes did an excellent job of writing a piece that spanned the decades. The twists and turns were wonderful and totally unpredictable. I have not read a book in quite a while that I enjoyed as much as The Last Love Letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not what I expected

    I thought this would be a pretty straight forward love story but it really has a lot of twists and turns and I found it to be a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    This book lives up to the promise of the title.

    I purchased this book based on the recommendation of the weekly notes from the Barnes and Noble editors - and was not disappointed. As someone who typically reads the first 50 pages and then the end of the book, I resisted the temptation due to the warning that there was a surprising twist. I was completely rewarded for not jumping around. This is a book that I will recommend to a wide variety of readers. I think that it will be one that provokes some interesting conversations about the paths we take to finding love and satisfaction in the relationships we pursue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to stand and applaud!

    I'm going to be honest and say that until I finished this novel, I wasn't sure I was going to like it. The Last Letter From Your Lover by JoJo Moyes is the kind of book that you think, OK, this book is all right, and since I read it everyday on my Kindle on the treadmill, I just stuck with it. I'm glad I did, because the manner in which Moyes ties everything together in the end is so rewarding and there is one moment that is so jawdropping, I almost fell off the treadmill; I did not see that one coming. (And I like to think that I have read so many novels, there is not much that could surprise me.) Moyes begins her story in London in 1964, where Jennifer is in a hospital recovering from a horrible car accident. She has no memory of her life and doesn't know her own husband. When her memory doesn't return, she lives in a kind of nowhere-land, only knowing what her husband and friends tell her about her life. Until the day she finds a love letter to her from a man named B. Apparently she was in love with him, and they were planning to run away together. She has no memory of him or this letter, but she feels something inside that tells her it is true. This story is intercut with Ellie, a young writer for a London newspaper, unhappily involved with a married man. She is on the verge of losing her job when she finds B's love letter to Jennifer and believes that there is a story there. Even though almost 50 years has passed, Ellie tries to track down Jennifer and B, and her hope is that they have been together all this time, thereby proving that true love is possible. There are so many writers who use the conceit of two different stories in two different times, sometimes it can be, "oh, no, not again", but Moyes uses it to tie her novel together in a meaningful way that serves the story well. B and Jennifer's love story is star-crossed to say the least, and the mystery of will they get together or not propels the plot forward, and I couldn't wait to find out the answer. The characters are well-rounded, the writing seductive and the style of dress and copious drinking from 1964 is very Mad Men-like and trendy now. Moyes took awhile to entrance me with her love story, but when the book ended, I wanted to stand up and applaud. Well done, indeed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    star-crossed yet resilient love

    Missed opportunities and miscommunications. Nothing quite like them for creating havoc in love affairs. And The Last Letter from Your Lover if filled with them.


    In 1960, Jennifer Stirling wakes up in a hospital with pain but no memory. Trying to fit into her old life, to be who everyone expects her to be, is not easy. It feels wrong. She can't connect to the life she had or to her husband. It's only when she finds a letter from her lover that she realizes why. But the letter isn't even signed with a name, so how is she to find him?


    In 2003, Ellie Hayworth finds a love letter in the archives of the newspaper where she works. Trying to find out who wrote it and to whom, to save her career by coming up with a feature story, is not easy. It feels wrong. She can't concentrate on her life because she's too wrapped up in her affair with a married man, and the love letter she finds strikes a chord and makes her reevaluate her priorities. But if she finds the letter's origins, what then?


    Jojo Moyes writes Jennifer's love story with great care. Going back and forth, before and after her accident, showing the progression of the affair with "B." and the confusion she feels, are all done extremely well. It's a tortured affair from the beginning, always complicated, never simple. The characters involved are sympathetic and real. Ellie's life is a different story. She has advantages that Jennifer didn't and yet doesn't have the love that Jennifer did. So it's a different series of mistakes made and lessons learned. Moyes shows the similarities and contrasts with finesse and a palpable change in tone that shows just how special and rare love is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3