Customer Reviews for

The Last Letter from Your Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sweet and a good clean read!

I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surpris...
I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surprised all throughout the book. Easy read, and I never saw any of what happened coming! Good romance and good action! I highly recommend it!!!

posted by DebraFillmore-CO on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A bit long, well written, nice read.

I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on t...
I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

posted by risuena on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't miss this one!

    This beautiful poignant story is not a light-weight romance but an emotional roller coaster with lots of exciting twists and turns that won't allow you to put the book down In 1960, Jennifer Stirling had an accident and woke up with no memory of her past. When she tried to fit into her mysterious life, everything seemed like a distant dream, including her husband. She stumbled onto some passionate love letters addressed to her from "Boot". The excitement begins here. It's so worth your time. Don't miss this one!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet and a good clean read!

    I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surprised all throughout the book. Easy read, and I never saw any of what happened coming! Good romance and good action! I highly recommend it!!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Jojo Moyes is a fantastic writer. This is my first book I read and I enjoyed it.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    A wonderful love story.

    It is a story that tuggs at your heart. Wonderful characters that you can visualize. I can see the story with truth as my mom was married during the 60"s with no job, education, and unable to brake the model of wife. The meaning and consequences of divorce in the 60's is completely different then it is today.

    Such an enjoyable story that will stay with you for smetime!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You Will Not Be Able To Put This Book Down!

    I cannot say enough about how wonderfully written this story is. The author gives us a captivating tale of not only love and relationships, but about perseverance and self-worth. The characters are so lovely and you will see each one, feel the emotions they are feeling, and be completely drawn into their stories until the very end. Set in the 1960's in England, a young woman of wealth gets into a terrible car accident and suffers from amnesia as a result of her injuries. As she recovers she discovers that she feels out of place in her marriage and her circle of friends until she realizes she has fallen in love with another man. As it all comes together we are taken on a journey spanning over 40 years and intertwined in the relationships of these star crossed lovers. Written with poise, charm and elegance, Jojo Moyes tells a story that you are not going to want to end, and it will stay with you long after you've finished the book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a charming relationship drama

    In 1960, following a car accident that hospitalized her in a comatose sate, twenty-seven years old Jennifer Stirling wakes up. However, her injury leaves her with amnesia; she does not recall the accident that left her in her current condition or anything else.

    Her Husband visits her almost every night and Jennifer knows in her heart she does not love this wealthy man who has made a fortune exploiting mining operations in the war ravaged Congo. When she finds a passionate haunting love letter from a "B" Jennifer knows the unknown author is her beloved. Still, she also struggles with what is acceptable behavior amongst her English social class in London.

    In 2003, English journalist Ellie Haworth researches a story in her newspaper's morgue when she finds a B letter to Jennifer. Feeling the love "B" had for his Jennifer, Ellie looks deep inside her heart to her grand passion as she tries to learn whether "B" and "J" had a happy ever after.

    This is a charming relationship drama starring an incredible cast especially the two letter writers and the reporter who investigates their tale. Character driven, fans will relish this bittersweet romance as love proves not enough yet lasts forever in spite of time and place separation. Jojo Moyes provides a wonderful story that romanticists will relish.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Wonderful, and heartfelt story

    So much more than just a romance. I could not stop reading this story. The characters were so real; I felt as though I was in their stories. Definitely a few tears. Amazing read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I loved this book. It should be required reading by every wife

    I loved this book. It should be required reading by every wife who has been betrayed by infidelity. It presents in story form, how each participant in an adulterous relationship is affected and doesn't sugar coat the impact cheating has on everyone. The story made me cry and laugh. Do yourself a favor and read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Loved It,

    one of the best books i've read in a long time. A keeper for sure. I fell in love again for the first time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I'll say it plainly and simply. I loved The Last Letter from Your Lover. This novel has love letters, a London backdrop and star crossed lovers all woven beautifully into a plot that takes hold of you and does not let you go. My heart ached as I read.

    Author Jojo Moyes does an excellent job at giving this novel a mysterious atmosphere as well as unexpected twists and turns. I felt like I was discovering clues alongside Jennifer, the answers were right on the periphery of her vision, yet far from her grasp. She longs to remember her life before the accident. I could not help but wonder what happened to her mystery lover. I won't say much about her love, except "wow". He blew me away and their courtship had me on the edge of my seat.

    Oh my gosh, the love letters. They are simply signed with the initial "B" so Jennifer cannot remember who he is. "B" by the way is the initial of the first name of a character in a novel who Jennifer nicknamed her love after.

    These love letters are the kind that make you sigh and hug the book when you read them.
    Jennifer is a well developed character, she is unhappy with her life and her four year marriage seems to be one of convenience. Her character grows throughout the story and heartbreak changes her in a realistic way.

    I found that everything came together beautifully, from the different characters to the turns of events that occurred. Just when I thought I knew what would happen next, I found myself stunned, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.

    The storyline goes back and forth from Jennifer waking up with amnesia and trying to remember her life, to how she met her mystery man and fell into a torrid affair with him. Towards the end, the story jumps forward to 2003 where a journalist named Ellie Haworth discovers one of the long lost love letters and want to find out whatever happened to these people. At first this jump in time upset me because I was so immersed in Jennifer and B's love story but I found myself involved in Ellie's storyline as well.

    There's a quote by William Styron that goes, ..A good book should leave you slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading it... That about sums how I felt about The Last Letter from Your Lover. This book will make my top reads of 2013 and is officially one of my all time favorites.


    Disclaimer:
    This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I purchased my copy of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    Jo Jo Moyes does not disappoint

    The story takes place in London during the 60's and present day. A reporter finds a love letter and decides to write a story about the letter. The reporter hopes that the letter and the story will save her from losing her job. What she (the reporter) gets is much more then a story. Jo jo Moyes never disappoints. She is a gifted writer and each book is different. Unlike some authors who have the same story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    So, our book club just finished another book by this author, cal

    So, our book club just finished another book by this author, called "Me Before You" which I liked so much I started this one yesterday.

    And finished it.

    IN 10 HOURS.

    I love books set in the 60's (or really, at any point in the past) and then being able to see how life has changed in the decades that follow (trying not to give too much away here) as well as a book in which I like EVERY character, even if they are cheating lying bastards. Ahem.

    Anyway, highly recommended. A teeny TEENY bit predictable at the end, but very surprising points throughout the book as well. Falling in love with the characters and the story itself makes up for it.

    Almost need a break from anything at this point, to let all of this awesome sink in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    I loved it! Amazing as always!

    I loved it! Amazing as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    I loved this book. Enjoyed every page. A wonderful love story,

    I loved this book. Enjoyed every page. A wonderful love story, but not at all sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great read!

    Love Jojo Moyes. She understands how to keep the reader engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Love Love

    Loved this book great story don't hestitate read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a beautiful book about long-lasting never-ending love. Jojo Moyes has a wonderful way of writing that touches the everything inside you; all you have ever experienced or haven't but really wished you had comes to life with her words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Pat

    Uhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital after an awful car ac

    Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital after an awful car accident in the 1960s.  She remembers nothing but feels a sense of familiarity with certain people who come to visit her in the hospital.  Little by little she is able to retrieve certain memories but absolutely nothing about the accident and no one will give one iota of information about that pivotal event.  So Jennifer returns to her role as the wife of a cold man who is also a brilliant, successful businessman engaging in African mining.  Laurence is also oblivious to the conditions his business practices leave behind but Jennifer doesn’t discover this memory for a very long time.
    It’s the letters Jennifer finds, one by one over a broad span of time, that bring back her memories of Anthony.  To say more would be a spoiler but suffice to say that Jennifer has a feisty nature that will not be cowed by the strict demands of her husband.  It would be nice to imagine a happily ever after story and that’s what the letters seem to imply.  The story, however, is more realistic in depicting how fate sometimes plays an intriguingly different hand to its players.
    The story then rewinds to Jennifer’s pre-accident experiences, most importantly her meeting and falling in love with Anthony, a journalist who was well known for his expository articles about African atrocities which include the business and political spectrum of the African economy.  But Anthony has a wild nature that gets him in trouble and so he’s been temporarily corralled to home to work on local stories while the top brass decide if he should continue to work or be let go.  After meeting Jennifer, he is extremely distracted from his passion for Africa but doesn’t forget his past.  Now he has passion for both.
    Years later in 2003, a young journalist, Ellie Haworth, is questioning her own affair to a married man when she comes across a letter in which a man begs his lover to follow him so they can travel to Africa and end their separation forever.  The story evolves in an amazing way to the discovery of the lovers’ names, story and the final path of their destiny.
    Passionate love requires intense courage and determination at times.  Moyes’ novel is endearing and heart-breaking in its ever-changing scenes for the riveted reader.  But it is the intensity of the story that is passionately victorious and the reader never loses the empathy in these lovers or the countless other feelings arising from the other characters who would be called “minor characters” but who really seem to be controlled by a fate none previously imagined could come true!
    Highly recommended! Great, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Ya gotta do it right!

    This is a wonderful book, but you have to read carefully or you will dump it as I almost did. Pay super attention to the dates at the head of each chapter! Otherwise you'll get a hundred pages in and be so confused you will give up.

    Once you read it in context, oh, my goodness, what a wonderful love story for the ages! Could she have done it better? Probably. But the end result is such a beautiful story that it brought tears to this old codger's eyes. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7