Customer Reviews for

The Last Letter from Your Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sweet and a good clean read!

I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surpris...
I really loved this book - Very good plot line and nice characters. It went along at a good pace. It was very enjoyable. I highly recommend it! THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON was also a fantastic read! I loved it! Great herione, great storyline - twists and turns and surprised all throughout the book. Easy read, and I never saw any of what happened coming! Good romance and good action! I highly recommend it!!!

posted by DebraFillmore-CO on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A bit long, well written, nice read.

I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on t...
I guess when I was eyeing this book, my mind was thinking of the movie An Affair to Remember. I didn't quite feel the pull at my heartstrings with this story though, so I was a little disappointed. I thought the romance that developed between Boot & Jenny dragged on too long; the same passion and love they felt for each other could have been conveyed in a shorter amount of writing. Maybe the author was putting more time into explaining the content, the culture, societial views, expectations of that past time, but I wanted the storyline to move. The only emotional attachment I felt was for the love letters but not much for the characters. The last third of the book was what I was waiting for; it had the sparks, the romance, the thrilling anticipation, and got you involved. I enjoyed this pair's romance and story much much more. I liked how the author tied everything together, the differences and the similiarities between lives, generations, and time, and how the story ended. Overall, it was a good read but the beginning was slow to get through.

posted by risuena on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    JoJo Moyes writes beautifully and gets you involved in her chara

    JoJo Moyes writes beautifully and gets you involved in her characters lives. This is a great read.JoJo Moyes does it again mixing a woman in the past with a woman today. Jennifer lives in 1960 where women are meant to look good on the arms of successful men. Jennifer wakes up from a coma with no memory of her marriage with her rich and successful husband Larry. Jennifer feels lost in her marriage and very detached from her husband. When she finds a love letter she is desperate to find the man who loved her so much. The story reminded me of many epic stories that I love, like; “The Vow,” “An affair to remember,” “Casablanca,” and “The Notebook.”
    When we jump ahead to 2003, journalist Ellie is struggling with her affair to a married man. When she finds the love letters from 1960 she thinks if their affair could make it through the hard times maybe hers will to. She’s able to find Jennifer living right in London and learns from her experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    so good and heartwarming.

    so good and heartwarming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Fabulous love story!

    After reading Me Before You, I had to give Jojo Moyes another chance. And now I think she's one of my new favorite authors. This is a fabulous book jumping back and forth from past to present until the puzzle pieces itself together. I loved every minute of this novel. Don't think twice about reading this one. Just do it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Are you brave enough to love? The characters in this book must f

    Are you brave enough to love? The characters in this book must find the courage to love fiercely and honestly despite many obstacles. There’s a subtlety about the writing that at first makes the pace a little slow. But it is a deliberate slowness meant to portray emotions through action and nuance of speech. The effect is an immediate since of mystery, of recognizing something is very wrong but not being privy to what that something may be. Perhaps it is best described as a quiet intensity. As the story progresses, the intensity grows and the reader is enraptured. By turns hopeful and tragic with much frustration and missed opportunity, the story develops palpable tension, anxiety, and anticipation. There are also surprising twists. This masterful way of storytelling compels the reader to race forward to discover the fate of the characters. As for the ending, it was perfect. If you are a romantic, this book is for you.

    Favorite words:

    unguents : a soothing or healing salve : ointment

    deliquescent : tending to melt or dissolve; especially : tending to undergo gradual dissolution and liquefaction by the attraction and absorption of moisture from the air

    bacchanalian : like a Roman festival of Bacchus celebrated with dancing, song, and revelry

    Quotes:

    “She was learning to trust her gut reactions to people: memories could be lodged in places other than the mind” (p.19).

    “Her blond hair fell from her head like paint from a pot…” (p.66).

    “Their eyes met, and in those few silent moments, he told her everything” (p.104).

    “It never ended. Even though she’d thought she’d covered her heart with a permanent porcelain shell, he still found a way to chip at it” (p. 175).

    “This is where I should walk away, she tells herself, picking up her glass. This is where any sensible person pulls together the remnants of their self-respect, announces that they deserve more, and walks off to find someone who can give them a whole self, not snatched lunchtimes and haunted, empty evenings” (p. 245).

    In accordance with FTC guidelines, please note that I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I could not put the boom down. It is such a great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    LOVED this story!

    This story had so many twists that I didn't even bother trying to predict what might happen. I simply held on and enjoyed the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Loved the parallel love stories

    Beautiful story about neverending true love. Perfect read for a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Touching story

    I loved this book. It spanned lots of years, and I rather enjoyed the back and forth between the years and the characters. I could feel the raw emotions and the tugs to the heartstrings, the tearing apart and the healing. The writing was descriptive and flowed so well. Found myself staying up late and getting up early, just to read and find out what was going to happen next. The ending, for me, was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Awesome book.

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Lovely

    What a wonderful novel! I read it in one sitting. I too fell in love with Boots. At times bittersweet and heartbreaking, it is a love story for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great

    Very quick read! A great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I love love loved this book! This author really knows how to we

    I love love loved this book! This author really knows how to weave a tale. So many twists and turns and unexpected events, I was crazy about Jennifer and Boot and I found myself missing them after I finished the book. Can't get enough of Jojo Moyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Loved, Loved this book

    It was hard to put this down; beautifully written. I felt very involved with the characters. Can't wait to read another of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Beautiful love story

    Loved this book. It's beautifully written and completely draws you in. I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great story

    Excellent read. Good twists and turns, with a happy ever after you hope for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Beautiful Timeless Love

    What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    A love story that captures your heart! Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Captivating!

    What a great story......jumps from past to present so pay attention to dates, however still very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly recommend it

    Could not put it down.
    I really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Would make a great movie.

    I loved this book. I could see all the characters and places in my head. That is what makes a great book for me. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7