Customer Reviews for

Last Light

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Thrilling Page-turner!

Deni Branning and her father just landed at an airport in their city. As they are watching other planes land, one comes falling from the sky, exploding to pieces as it hits the ground. Then another falls, but could it be a coincidence? When Deni and her father attempt...
Deni Branning and her father just landed at an airport in their city. As they are watching other planes land, one comes falling from the sky, exploding to pieces as it hits the ground. Then another falls, but could it be a coincidence? When Deni and her father attempt to leave, their car doesn't start. As they look around, they realize ALL cars are still. Why don't pagers, cell phones, watches, or any electrical device work? Last Light by Terri Blackstock is a thrilling book about what happens when a city is shut down completely. The Branning family of six must learn to survive without the necessities they normally are blessed with. They have to begin a new, difficult lifestyle while trying to maintain their Christian family, even when things become hostile.

If you like thrilling books that keep you on your feet, Last Light by Terri Blackstock is just that book! After every turn of a page, it gets more and more exciting! If I could choose to, I would have taken a day off just to complete the book. Last Light really put life into a new perspective for me because I realized the huge difference between what is needed and selfishly wanted in life. It's a scary thought to think about how life would be without electricity. I can imagine it would be full of fear and chaos. Without communication and the things that have been created to make life more simple, I don't think many people would know how to maintain a healthy, Christian lifestyle. I love how Terri Blackstock included Christian values into this book and put the message across not to depend on worldly possessions. There wasn¿t anything that I really disliked about the book except that I had nightmares for about a week about living like the Branning family. Living like that would be a nightmare by itself and I¿m certainly glad I got to experience the adventure! I would recommend this book the every one!!

posted by DonGPhipher on December 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Eye Opener

I kept thinking what would we do if every comfort we have was suddenly gone. The characters are not well developed and some paragraphs are filled with trivial scenes that were unnecessary, but the situation the characters found themselves in was very intriguing. A quick...
I kept thinking what would we do if every comfort we have was suddenly gone. The characters are not well developed and some paragraphs are filled with trivial scenes that were unnecessary, but the situation the characters found themselves in was very intriguing. A quick read thats pretty good.

posted by WyWy1 on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Eye Opener

    I kept thinking what would we do if every comfort we have was suddenly gone. The characters are not well developed and some paragraphs are filled with trivial scenes that were unnecessary, but the situation the characters found themselves in was very intriguing. A quick read thats pretty good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    This is a doomsday book in which all electronics and communicati

    This is a doomsday book in which all electronics and communications are disrupted. I found the beginning and setup very interesting. The middle however got a bit over the top for me. It seemed to drag a bit and everyone seemed to be behaving in the worse possible way. It got very depressing.
    It was however a good story overall and even though I knew who the “Bad guy” was, it was still fun to follow to the end.
    There is quite a bit of religious fervor in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really struggled to get into this book. The first chapter was

    I really struggled to get into this book. The first chapter was action packed and exciting! Then, I just kind of lost interest. Maybe it was the subject matter? Maybe I'm just not interested in reading about massive power outages and how we would survive in the face of a crisis like that, because the book was very well written. This is the second book I've read by Terri Blackstock and I feel like it was written better than the first one I read.

    The characters, the Branning family, were shallow and whiny. I found I didn't have a lot of compassion for them, but maybe that's because I couldn't imagine relating to their situation. Deni especially annoyed me with her selfishness and arrogance. I hope if I ever find myself in that situation, I would react differently from her.

    The message was the best part about this book. Learning to put your trust in the One who makes all things new is the only way to survive. If you ask Him, and listen for his response, He will direct your paths. Overall, I just didn't care for the subject of the book. I will probably not finish the series, but if you enjoy the "what-if" scenarios in a good Christian book, you will enjoy this story.

    **Thank you, BookSneeze, for providing me a free copy of this book for my honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I loved the pace & tension of ¿Last Light¿. New York Times

    I loved the pace & tension of ‘Last Light’.

    New York Times best-selling suspense author Terri Blackstock weaves an interesting “what-if”-novel in which global catastrophe reveals the darkness in human hearts, while presenting a glimmer of hope as well.

    It was intriguing to experience how this story speaks about our reliance on technology in relationship to a very individualistic existence.  The city of Birmingham, Alabama, is experiencing a massive blackout. Planes suddenly lose power and crash to the earth. Cars stall in the middle of the street and won’t restart. Cell phones and the internet are dead. All communications are cut off. Is it a terrorist attack, or something far worse?

    In the face of a crisis that sweeps an entire high-tech planet back to a time before electricity, the Branning family faces a choice. Hoard their possessions to survive—or trust God to provide as they share their resources and hearts with those around them? Yesterday’s world is gone and now all they’ve got is family and community.

    The story makes you think about what we value & about how thin the veneer of our respectability is.

    It is a good read & a good reminder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Terri Blackstock is nothing short of a fantastic writer. Last Li

    Terri Blackstock is nothing short of a fantastic writer. Last Light is one of her most famous books. She did not write these recnetly, Thomas Nelson is just republishing the series. Last Light is about a family's experience when all electricity shuts down. Imagine......your cell phone, your water, your watch, your light, all shuts off. You end up walking home from the airport. Although this is a great idea for a book, I wasn't in it. I felt like I was watching a show that you're just watching.....do you get that? Your not really paying attention, your thinking while "watching" It's wasn't a bad book, it was just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1