Customer Reviews for

Last Light over Carolina

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

VERY ENJOYABLE READ

This is a learning experience with the interesting backdrop of a shrimper way of life from all angles. I could smell the shrimp! This would not be my choice of a way to make a living but I enjoyed the storyline around it. This is a satisfying insight into relationships ...
This is a learning experience with the interesting backdrop of a shrimper way of life from all angles. I could smell the shrimp! This would not be my choice of a way to make a living but I enjoyed the storyline around it. This is a satisfying insight into relationships and all facets of love. A lot of problems are dealt with with great wisdom. Mary Alice Monroe certainly did her homework for this one! This was my first Monroe book but it won't be my last! I recommend highly!!!

Another terrific book I enjoyed lately and one that I think would make a beautiful movie is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Pirrung....The wonderful reviews hooked ME!! ... EXPLOSION IN PARIS ....Also, THE LOST HOURS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK are two more that inspired me.

posted by SHARON39 on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this book very much!  Very easy to understand the char

I enjoyed this book very much!  Very easy to understand the characters and their feelings and why this book is a success.

posted by PumpkinKV on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY ENJOYABLE READ

    This is a learning experience with the interesting backdrop of a shrimper way of life from all angles. I could smell the shrimp! This would not be my choice of a way to make a living but I enjoyed the storyline around it. This is a satisfying insight into relationships and all facets of love. A lot of problems are dealt with with great wisdom. Mary Alice Monroe certainly did her homework for this one! This was my first Monroe book but it won't be my last! I recommend highly!!!

    Another terrific book I enjoyed lately and one that I think would make a beautiful movie is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Pirrung....The wonderful reviews hooked ME!! ... EXPLOSION IN PARIS ....Also, THE LOST HOURS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK are two more that inspired me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    The Writer Just Keeps Getting Better!

    I've read all of Mary Alice Monroe's novels, and always wait with bated breath for the next one. Though it seems impossible, since each new story is a sparkling gem, each of her novels seems to be better than the one before. Her writing flows so smoothly there's not even a hiccup between current day and flashbacks and then back again. Congratulations, Ms. Monroe---you make the South Carolina coast come alive for those folks who've never been there.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A touching and emotional look at love, life and shrimping!

    After reading the description I thought this book would be a lot like The Perfect Storm. I was wrong. It was a great story and a truly touching and emotional book.

    While the story's main plot revolves around Bud and the perilous situation he is in there is so much more to this one. As Bud and Carolina go through their day they recall memories from their past. Not all of them are good, but they all show how life can take it's toll on a marriage. How just loving someone may not always be enough and how the heart works in mysterious ways.

    The writing was great. Mary Alice Monroe did a great job capturing the dialect and portraying it in her writing. The two main characters are very well developed and the secondary characters aren't just two dimensional. The flashbacks were done perfectly and they didn't make the story feel choppy.

    Even at almost 400 pages it didn't really take me that long to read. The story keeps you connected and wanting to know more. This one was really good, I'm adding her last one to my To Read list!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As smooth a transition as any marriage can be...and, enduring to the end.

    I've read all of Mary Alice Monroe's books.This one is a departure from her earlier styles in that LAST LIGHT OVER CAROLINA is a story that unfolds during a one-day period. It would seem likely that the reader would have to leap from one character to another in order to capture the complete story in so compact a time-frame. However, the pages turn easily. And, the transition is seamless..from the story unfolding that day..to flashbacks...and back again.

    The family dynamic is believable...and, perhaps, sadly recognizable. But, in the end character, commitment, strength...and forgiveness are qualities that remain. What an optimistic note for all to remember in difficult, stressful times that test our personal relationships.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Love Story of Sea, Life and Wife

    This book examines the life of a low country shrimper family. The stresses of a dangerous, low paying occupation are contrasted with the love of independence and traditions of a multi-generational family occupation. It is a story of love, tests and growth of a couple struggling to redefine their relationship.

    I honestly thought I would find the book boring. Boy, was I wrong! I grew up in a dying steel town and there were some surprising parallels between my past and the life of a commercial fisherman in a dying seacoast town. The characters were clearly defined, warts and all. The competition to earn a dollar and the incredible cooperation when danger threatened was eye opening and captivating. The desire to see your family safe and taken care of was another area of similarity. My own father worked in a job he hated to insure his family's thriving. Bud Morrison loved his occupation even when it failed to provide him with the wherewithal to support his family. The frustrated interplay between characters and their need to be responsible and often lonely and the want to be closer physically, mentally and emotionally was sometimes draining. You end up really feeling for these people and their life altering dilemmas.

    Monroe paints her environment with digital clarity; you can see the Miss Carolina in the Morrison colors, the smell of the sea and the discordant aromas of dying sea life and fresh ocean breezes.

    I think this story will resonate with practically anyone who has ever held a job that was both demanding and exhilarating. I saw people I knew in an industry I knew nothing about. The book moved me and surprised me for how much I enjoyed it.
    I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Wonderful Story

    Mary Alice Monroe has done it again, I have just started this book and I all ready love it. Proving once again that Ms. Monroe can sure write. Too bad she cant't write new books as fast as I can read them. This book has caught me and I can not put it down. So real, so caring, and warm.
    I am enjoying it so much I dont want it to end but cant stop readking it.
    as it keeps me enthralled.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Another Winning Effort from Monroe

    I have followed Monroe's work for some years and have seen it deepen and mature from book to book. Her sense of place and relationships has always been sure and her depiction of the emotional states of her characters both sensitive and deft. With Last Light Over Carolina, Monroe once again draws attention to issues of vanishing resources and ways of life, describing the life of Shrimpers through both the female and male voice to great effect. She explores the differences between new love and a mature love with penetrating insight and brings each of her characters to a truer understanding of how they are complicit in their own downfall. There is greater suspense in this book about whether Bud and Carolina or Lizzy and Josh with their new-found understanding of themselves and their relationships will have an opportunity to change their lives. I think readers will find the conclusion to Last Light Over Carolina as emotionally satisfying and richly rewarding as the entire read. Pick it up, give it to a friend, tell others--you'll all be happy you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much!  Very easy to understand the char

    I enjoyed this book very much!  Very easy to understand the characters and their feelings and why this book is a success.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    I saw this book in a store on vacation in Charleston and thought

    I saw this book in a store on vacation in Charleston and thought it sounded interesting. That was an underestimate - this book was amazing! The writing is excellent, the plot is great, the character development is awesome - there was not one thing about this book I didn't love. I will certainly be seeking out other books by this author in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Fantastic read

    Saw author on pbs recently and read it in 24 hours couldnt put it down live in coastal sc and it is right on will always buy local when i can and we all should it would be sad to lose this legacy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts a little slow but becomes interesting quickly after setting details

    I thought this was overall a very good read. I picked it up from the library solely based on the cover. I have to say I wasn't sure I'd hang with it through the slow beginning that was filled with details I wasn't sure we needed right up front. But once the action started and you could see the plot, it kept me on the edge of my seat. I think anyone who has been married for more than a couple of years can relate to much of the plot. I found there were some very thought-provoking moments in this book, particlarly the reflections near the end by one character. (don't want to give away too much detail for those who want to read it.) I thought the most thought-provoking line was when faced with death, one character said that the only question that really mattered was "Was I loved and did I love in return?" We should all be so fortunate to realize that this before it is too late.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    A wonderful look at the enduring quality of love in a long-term relationship.

    I really, really loved this book. I felt a close kinship with the 50-something ages of the main characters, and truly appreciated the perspective on what it takes to keep a marriage of over 30 years going strong. More than anything, I appreciated the thought that marriages can take some pretty hard knocks and still survive. Add to all of this a fascinating look into the modern-day shrimping business, and you have a great book. Highly recommend it for married folks, and for people interested in the heart of true low-country living in South Carolina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    Good story but lost interest in certain parts.

    Did not care for the way this book was written. Went back and forth too much in time,once in awhile is fine but this was extreme.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2